Daily Archives: May 29, 2011

Let’s Talk About Music

Happy Sunday! Even happier if you have Monday off :)

After doing my Q&A this week, I realized that for such a music lover, I never talk about music on this blog!

First things first – I can’t stand Top 40. Okay, there may be a song or two I find catchy. But you will never find me listening to Lady Gaga, or Keisha, or whatever song is being overplayed on Virgin radio this week.

My taste in music is slightly eclectic, but definitely has a “theme.” I grew up listening to The Beatles and to this day believe they are the best band ever. In high school, I listened to a lot of punk rock, most of which I still really enjoy today (especially when running!). When it comes to just chilling out (like at work), I love some good indie pop. Apart from that, I’m also a huge fan of 90’s alternative and a lot of the Canadian indie scene.

Here’s five songs I’ve been listening to a lot of lately. I encourage you to add them to your Sunday listening!

I discovered Frightened Rabbit on Grooveshark this week and can’t stop listening to them. I love every single song on every one of this Scottish band’s albums. The above song is one of my many favourites.

I know it’s not hip to like Arcade Fire ever since they won the Grammy, but I don’t care. I’m going to see these guys open for U2 in July and I can’t wait! I go through phases with their songs, but this one is always at the top. Great video too.

Even though I was too young to experience 90s music when it was new, I think my love for the genre was given to me by my older sisters. I used to watch The Year Punk Broke every weekend when I was 14 (in 2000). This video is definitely worth watching for the 1990s-ness of it!

Social Distortion will always be one of my favourite punk bands. I’m not totally crazy about their newest album. This song off that same album however is awesome. Most of the time I’d turn my nose up at big production videos like this. But these guys pull it off purely because they’re punk legends in my eyes.

Of all the videos, on all the internets, this one is hands down my favourite of all time. I’m probably responsible for one-third of its views. Even though Hey Rosetta! are a Newfoundland band, there is something about them and their music that just reminds me of home. Probably because of the many nights I’ve spent watching these guys in a small, crowded, sweaty bar in Fredericton. I would always watch their videos when I got homesick in Toronto and they would just make my heart swell. If you watch this, you HAVE to watch it the whole way through! Promise me!

So now you tell me, what music are you listening to these days?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 485 other followers