Cool Naners

Anyone else keep their bananas in the fridge?

685eae28a64417ee4b2bfba7ebeb100e

I posed this question on Twitter the other day and I got the feeling some people thought I was crazy. I guess most people leave bananas out because they let off a gas when they ripen that can ripen other things in your fridge. But so do tomatoes, and a lot of people put their tomatoes in the crisper!!

I like to let bananas ripen on the counter, then stick them in the fridge at first sign of black spots. I do this because under-ripe bananas give me tummy aches and ripe bananas are too mushy for me. Put them in the fridge and they are a cool, refreshing temperature with minimal gross mushiness.

I highly recommend you try it! I’m surprised more people haven’t thought of it?

In other news, you should check out this Q&A I did.

I’m off to conquer my Saturday. Yesterday was payday, which means today is shopping day :) Have a good one!

Posted on May 28, 2011, in Fun. Bookmark the permalink. 16 Comments.

  1. I keep my bananas in the fridge. They are perfect when ripe, not too mushy, and ice cold :)

  2. I do this quite often, and I’ve gotten some puzzled looks when I’ve told people also! I really don’t think it’s that strange :) The only time I put them in the fridge are when I cut into one and don’t use the whole thing (I don’t like the actual exposed banana to be in the warm air) or like you said, when they become ultra-ripe/black…I feel like it makes them last longer.

  3. I keep mine in the fridge when they ripen as they last longer. It does freak people out when I eat them though as the skins go completely black after a while even though the insides are fine.

  4. I do the same thing. First brown spot and in the fridge they go. All the cool kids are doing it. ;)

  5. I keep all my fruit and veggies in the fridge. I prefer cold fruit and this way it also stays fresh longer. :D My mom didsagrees and says that it makes it lose all the flavour, though.

  6. All the time! I prefer cold bananas

  7. yes I keep mine in the fridge if I have like 5 bananas that I need to use in about 24 hrs to use them at “optimal” freshness. It gives me 72 hrs rather than 24 to use them.

    If they are too far gone/ripe, I put them in the freezer for softserve, smoothies, etc but it’s a case by case thing :)

  8. Oh my goodness. I put my nanners in the fridge and freezer before I use them for waffles. It makes them so much easier to cut and I just like the coldness against the teeth.

  9. hmmm i didn’t know this! i thought there was something about fridges and bananas that turned them brown – but i think that’s OPEN bananas probably. good to know!

  10. I do it the exact same way!

  11. I dont eat bananas too often cause I got salmonella when I was four and all I ate was bananas and gatorade. But I do that with avocados and even potatoes sometimes.

  12. I always keep my bananas in the fridge! They’re more delicious when they’re cold. :P

  13. Other than frozen bananas in my smoothies I don’t think i’ve really eaten any chilled bananas. Sounds yummy though!

  14. Whenever I hear about someone doing this it reminds me of Gilmore Girls. There’s an episode where Luke goes away and when he returns the staff have been serving cold bananas that all the customers loved. LOL.

  15. this is perhaps the most unusual, yet useful thing I have read all day…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 485 other followers

