One More Thing

I know I already posted about my injured arm this week, but, well, it’s still on my mind.

Meeting with my surgeon stresses me out beyond reason. I get SO anxious. I get really preoccupied for days after. And worst of all, it bums me out.

I’ve been doing a lot of research on my surgery options. Thinking lots about whether I want to leave my arm as is or get the radial head part of my elbow removed. If I leave it as is, there’s a high chance I’ll have to get the screws removed because they will interfere with the rest of my elbow joint when I get full range of motion back.

But it’s not likely the screws can be taken out without the bone falling apart. So even if I leave it as is, I may have to get the bone taken out anyway. But waiting a year to find out isn’t an option either. For best results, the surgery should happen as soon as possible.

So far in my research, I’ve come across studies that show your elbow can remain completely stable without the radial head. But other accounts reported a shortening of the forearm, a crooked wrist, excess pressure on the ulna, and a whole lot of pain.

The good news is that besides my original surgeon in Ottawa, my dad found me another orthopedic surgeon in Halifax to consult. So I should have three skilled opinions on the matter in the coming weeks.

Until then, I will try not to lose my mind.

My mom asked me if she could see the my x-rays all together. This does not represent all the ones I’ve had. In the last three months, I’ve had about 12 x-rays and 2 CT scans.

xray

February 25th? I can’t remember, I was high on painkillers.

 200164_530239953875_115400580_31384356_744290_n

March 25.

IMG_0025

May 24. Looks slightly better than the March shot, but it’s at a different angle, so it’s hard to tell. You can definitely see how the screws may get in the way here.

For reference, here’s what a healthy elbow looks like. My forearm is twisted because I can’t rotate my palm up for the x-rays, so the radial head is rotated differently in the “normal” ones.

Normal-Elbow

Mine again on May 24…

IMG_0026

And the normal one…

Normal-Elbow

Anyways, thank you for indulging me once again. It helps a lot to get this stuff out of my brain so I can stop stressing about it.

On the bright side (because I always have to look at it) I am still making progress. My physio tells me it’s important to keep working at it even if I have to get operated on again because the more progress I make before, the better I’ll be after. Today I was able to pick up 10lbs for the first time with my left hand. I used a big girl dumbbell!

Despite the frustrations surrounding my limitations, I am still an otherwise healthy, active person. I’ve got my two legs after all! Which means lots and lots of walks with Archie and the fam.

047

040

One other good thing is that it’s a long weekend for me! I get American holidays with my new job. There’s actually a lot of difference between Canadian and American holidays. For example, everyone had Victoria Day off this past Monday, except for me. BUT, that means I get Memorial Day off! I feel like I need to celebrate like the Americans do, so I’m going to have some fun in the kitchen.

You won’t ever see me drink a Budweiser though. Ew.

Have a great weekend!!

Posted on May 27, 2011, in Injury. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Budweiser? Eww is right! lol

    Enjoy your American holiday weekend! Have a cook-out! :)

  2. Hope on the horizon- just how I like it :-)

    And you’d have to wrestle me to the ground, pry my mouth open and pour budweiser down my throat in order for it to get into my body. I have better taste in beer than that.

  3. I had three screws in my shoulder and they are still in there. They told me that I can have them removed once the bone heals or leave them in if I so choose and given that they dont cause an infection or anything. I chose to leave them cause I dont want to go through surgery and recovery all over again. Gah, talking WAY too much about myself!
    Anyhow, I understand the anxiety and like the wise deb said, “hope on the horizon”.

    And on the beer note, my dad is Belgian and outlawed Budweiser from our house or ten feet from it. And I’m not even kidding.

    • Nono! I find it really helpful to hear other people’s stories! Especially those who chose not to have surgery. Even before my accident, I’ve always been scared of surgery or altering my body in any way. It really disturbs me for some reason. Plus, I don’t want to just blindly follow what my surgeon says, when frankly I don’t really like him.

      Sent from my iPhone

  1. Pingback: Bones « The Great Balancing Act

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 487 other followers

