Adventures in Baking

Goooooood Monday morning to you!

As promised, I have a gazillion recipes to share.

Working a Monday-Friday leaves me with all this spare time on weekends to try out the recipes I’ve been collecting in my bookmarks bar. I LOVE spending an afternoon puttering around the kitchen. Especially because I now spend my days sitting on my butt at work, I like being on my feet on weekends.

Even if being on my feet includes baking. Which may or may not help the whole “sitting on my butt” thing throughout the week.

No matter!

IMG_7296

First stop on the recipe tour are these Rosemary Rice Krispie Treats from The Cilantropist.

It’s no secret that I have a deep love for rosemary. I bookmarked this recipe as soon as I spotted it, then inadvertently found myself with all the ingredients on hand over the weekend!

IMG_7289

The rosemary and marshmallow are actually a fabulous pairing. My little sister said it reminded her of tea. I didn’t add the lavender extract, but I definitely will if I make these again. My only complaint is that my batch turned crunchy because I packed the mixture into the pan too hard. Don’t do that. A little extra marshmallow wouldn’t have hurt either.

While we’re on the topic of squares…

IMG_7213

I also made Anna Olsen’s Date Squares not that long ago. I had really high hopes for these as I consider Anna Olsen a dessert-making pro!

IMG_7221

But I found the “crust” to be too crumbly. There were oats falling everywhere. I wouldn’t make the again. I would however like to point out that date squares are dead simple to make. SO quick and easy. If anyone has a stellar date recipe, please share with the class!

Next up is something I knew I’d be disappointed with, but had to try anyway.

IMG_7303

Mediterranean Olive Bread from Food 52, but really an adaptation of the olive bread in the Joy of Cooking.

You see, I’ve been dreaming of this olive bread I had at my aunt’s house in Toronto a while back. My mom and I still talk about it all the time.

You can buy it in these parts, but I’ve been so desperate to recreate it! Light, airy, greasy, and packed with olives.

I knew this quick bread wouldn’t come close, but it did turn out pretty good all things considered.

IMG_7298

We’ll call this attempt #1 at creating the best olive bread in the world. More attempts to follow.

Last, but certainly not least, something for the boys!

IMG_7306

And by boys, I mean these boys:

img_7077

I used this recipe for Peanut Butter Pumpkin Dog Treats. I have a whack of pumpkin puree taking up room in the freezer. So I figured I’d give it to the dogs.

IMG_7307

I need to buy bone-shaped cookie cutters. Buddy was by my side the whole time I was making these. I think he knew I was working on a treat meant for him. The doggies gobbled them up!

So that’s what’s been going on in my kitchen lately, but what about you? What are some of the best recipes you’ve tried lately?

Posted on May 23, 2011, in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. Weekends are the only time I have for baking/cooking since I have school all week, so I take full advantage of it! This weekend I made French Baguettes, Brownies, and Buffalo Bean Dip. Mmmmm…

  2. Insaw you tweet about the Rosemary rice Krispie squares and even after seeing them and hearing about them, I’m still a little skeptical. I guess that means I need to make them just so I can try them :)

    • Think of it like adding basil to a strawberry dessert :) Rice Krispie squares have the potential to take on so many flavours… my mind is spinning with all the things I could try!

  3. Aww, I love that you made dog treats :)

    And rosemary rice krispies?? That sounds fantastic!

    xo

  4. Haha, those dog treats look like human food! Lucky dogs. :) I think the best thing I made recently were the black bean enchiladas I posted about last week. I really can’t eat enough Mexican food.

  5. I just gained 5 pounds reading about all these delicious treats (And carbs). I should make the pups some treats. You’re a good Auntie.. or sister? I have no idea how you would consider the relation.

    • When it comes to Archie, I am his “master.” Although, my mom for some reasons seems to think she’s in charge, he totally listens to me more :P

  6. I baked a necessary batch of cookies (spicy chocolate snickerdoodles) this weekend, but other than that I haven’t had a chance to do much playing in the kitchen recently. I can’t wait to hear about more olive bread experiments! A legit olive quick bread would be awesome!

  7. Haha, I’ve had the same problem with the wrong shape dog treats. Mine were Christmas-trees!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 487 other followers

