It’s Burger Season

Ohbaby. I’ve been waiting for you.

IMG_7270

After two weeks of straight cold, wind, rain, and grey skies, the heavens opened up and gave us warmth and sunshine.

You know what that means.

IMG_7264

Dad fired up the grill!

You know how there are some items your parents make that no matter what will always taste best to you? I mean sure, I bet there is some fabulous spaghetti in Italy. But in my mind, it will never live up to my mom’s spaghetti that my tastebuds are accustomed to.

Well, no burger will ever live up to my dad’s.

Trust me, I tried to find one in Toronto and failed. Albeit, this bison burger came pretty darn close.

IMG_7267

My dad kept teasing me for taking photos of this burger he deemed “nothing special.”

“Wait until I make something fancier!” he said.

But this is all I need. Lean ground beef, with a little all-purpose seasoning and bbq sauce, thrown on the grill, and topped with a ridiculous amount of yellow mustard and relish.

IMG_7274

On a toasted white sesame seed bun. It’s all about a thick patty for me. It’s gotta be thick, juicy, and the same exact size as the bun.

My dad also showed me how to use the barbecue. I’ve never had one before. It’s all very exciting! I hope I don’t blow myself up.

Another sign that summer is on the way?

IMG_7279

But more on that later. I’ve got a weekend to conquer!

Posted on May 21, 2011, in Fun. Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. That burger looks absolutely delicious. I love bbqs. I wish we had one. Luckily my parents do and they aren’t too far away.

  2. fiddleheads…i keep seeing these on everyone’s blog the past few weeks and ive never had them!

    grilling. not a fan of doing it myself b/c i hate the smell of charcoal or grill scent in my hair :) but will gladly devour grilled veggies that someone else made for me :)

  3. Burgers scream summer to me. That looks so tasty.

  4. Vanessa @ definingmore

    Your Dad’s burger does look mighty fine. I am so looking forward to attending a picnic today. I am loving this time of year.

    Have a good weekend :)

  5. This is the first time I’ve clicked over to your blog in a LONG while! It looks pretty!!!! :)

    See, that’s what I get for reading in Google Reader.

    And btw – what does one use fiddleheads for?

  6. greensandjeans

    Fiddleheads!!!!! I had never heard of them until I lived in Maine and then I was obsessed with them. Mostly because I think they’re adorable.

  7. Its not quite BBQ season here yet but I’m looking forward to when it is! x x

  8. remember when you didn’t eat burgers? weird.

  9. Susie I agree, there is no burger better than dads…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 486 other followers

