Daily Archives: May 20, 2011

Taking It Slow

Just when I start to miss Toronto…

IMG_7167

…The universe gives me this. That would be my backyard. One of the many things I listed as loving about being back home. Sunsets and trees were also included. Looking out my back window and seeing this almost every night fills my heart and soul full.

It’s funny, just the other day I was driving through the outskirts of the city and was absolutely taken aback by the stunningly green rolling hills. Even though I was in Toronto for a little less than a year, I’m still not used to seeing nature yet. Or wide open spaces. Or looking people in the eye, for that matter.

I think living in the city keyed me up. I used to be a very relaxed person, but something about Toronto made me want to be on the move all the time. I would find myself running around morning till night. I had to have plans for every minute. If I didn’t, I would hop on a streetcar and find my own adventure somewhere in that dizzying city.

One of the main reasons why I wanted to come home was for the quality of life. Getting to sit in a big grassy backyard. Going to a cottage not just on weekends, but on weeknights because it’s only 20 minutes away. Plus, people out east are nice. Like, real nice. I like that.

The biggest reason however was definitely the pace of life here. I was tiring myself out running around Toronto. I wanted to come home and chill.

Oddly enough, that’s easier said than done!

Adjusting to the slower pace of life in the Maritimes has turned into a bit of a challenge. I find myself stressing over packing my days with activities, then feeling like a failure when I come up empty handed.

But it’s okay to relax. To take it slow. To do the things I never had the time to do before. I knit a scarf a couple weeks ago. How bout that!

IMG_7244

I forgot to mention a crucial piece of information in my last post about driving.

The very best, no bestest, thing about being home is my commute.

In Toronto, it took a bus, two subways, and a 15 minute walk to get to work. I would often have to leave for work 90 minutes before I had to be there. Some days I spent four hours sitting and wasting my precious time on public transportation. I lived and worked within the city too. It just took so damn long to get anywhere. It killed me. A slow and painful death.

My new commute? 10 minutes. If even. I wake up at 7am and I’m sitting at my desk by 8am. I lovelovelovelovelovelovelove it. I have so much extra time in my day to do things!

I guess that’s also why I feel the need to fill up so much of my time.

Maybe I should start working on knitting that afghan…

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 487 other followers