Drive My Car

For a long time I felt like an invalid. I had to seek help to perform even the simplest of tasks because of my broken arm. When I moved home it only worsened because I was stuck in suburbia without a method of transportation. A huge chunk of the independence I am so proud of was robbed from me when I fell on the ice three months ago. Only to then move home and rely on my parents again to drive me around like I’m 16.

It was awful. Awful!

But after getting approval from my surgeon, updating my licence, getting my previous car put back under my name, registered and insured (phew!)… I had freedom.

IMG_7244

Freeeeeedooommmm!!!

IMG_7250

I’ve mentioned before how much I hate public transportation. There is something about being in control of a car that I love. A smooth road, an open window, and music blaring as high as the stereo will go. I sing along carefree of course.

And go the speed limit. Of course.

IMG_7256

Driving with my injured arm isn’t so bad. A little tricky to make sharp turns and a little slower pulling into traffic, but nothing I can’t handle.

Goodbye suburbia. Hello independence. It’s nice to have you back.

IMG_7248

This blog post was not sponsored by Ford.

Posted on May 19, 2011, in Fun. Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. Glad you have your freedom back! I can’t wait until I am able to drive…one more year! Haha! :-P

  2. I’m glad you have your freedom too! I love my car as well and wouldn’t trade it for the world.

  3. I don’t know what I would do without the freedom of driving my car. Driving is how I cool down when things get hard. I live in the middle of no where and there is something relaxing about taking a long drive in the country…it helps get my mind back to level ground.

    I suppose being able to get back and forth from work is important too :)

  4. I just traded my old Focus in for a new Focus and those pictures made me miss my old one! I loved that car! Would still be driving it but the transmission was going out! :(

  5. As someone who went without a car for YEARS- it is so nice to have that car freedom :)
    Enjoy it!

  6. Jennifer@aknackfornutrition

    My car flooded a couple of weeks ago (long story) but I had to rely on my parents for rides too and it was awful! I totally relate to your feeling of freedom!

  7. Having the option to drive is a very freeing feeling. When we moved west I gave up my jeep, and I can’t drive husband’s car because it’s a stick (and I know I could learn but I don’t trust myself with it!). Thankfully I can walk or bike most places I need to go, but sometimes I wish I had the option of just taking off for few hours!

    • I tried to learn stick a few years ago and it was so frustrating!! If forced to, I could probably do it now, but I’d probably still stall every time I have to change gears :P

  8. I lol-ed at your disclaimer :)

  9. Ironically, because we have NO reliable public transportation to speak of, I LOVE it and use it every chance I get. But I’m glad that your 90 minute commute is kaput!

    • I thought the public transportation in Toronto was SO cool when I first moved there because it ran all the time and could get you anywhere, no schedules needed (unlike in my small city). But that got old real fast :P

      Sent from my iPhone

  10. i cannot even imagine how good it is to drive after not being able to. freeedooommmmmmm!!!

  1. Pingback: Taking It Slow « The Great Balancing Act

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 487 other followers

