Waffle Wednesday: Oatmeal Protein Waffles Three Ways

No, this is not a smoothie you are looking at.

IMG_7170

I’m not a smoothie fan. Too cold. Too liquidy. No chew. And worst of all, most of the time it has no caffeine. What’s the point of a specialty beverage if it does not contain caffeine!?

IMG_7173

Nonono, today we are blending up Oatmeal Protein Waffles. A big ole’ batch meant to serve four. Or give me four days worth of quick breakfasts before I stumble out the door.

IMG_7178

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups oatmeal (rolled or quick)
  • 1/2 cup unflavoured soy protein powder (you can use 1/2 cup cottage cheese or Greek yogurt here too – I’ve had much success with them!)
  • 1 tbsp baking powder
  • 2 tbsp brown sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tbsp cinnamon
  • milk until desired consistency (it think I used over 1 cup?)

Directions:

Throw it all in a blender and blendbabyblend!

IMG_7185

The great thing about a plain waffle recipe like this is that you can dress them up differently each time you have them! Dipped in a peanut butter/syrup sauce such as the above is my all-time favourite way.

IMG_7239

If you want something that will stick to your ribs, fried eggs on top are the way to go.

IMG_7242

Runny yolks are like a golden syrup…mmm…

IMG_5400

Yogurt of course is a traditional topping, but cottage cheese or ricotta cheese is just as good! I like to mash it up with almond butter, syrup and cinnamon to complete the topping.

However, if you want to change up the flavour of the waffle, you should probably check out these recipes:

Carrot Cake Waffles

Dark Chocolate Coconut

Citrus Poppyseed Waffles

Cardamom Sour Cream Waffles

Whole Wheat Pumpkin Waffles

Cornbread Waffles

Sweet Potato Maple Waffles

Whole Wheat Double Chocolate Chip Waffles

Whole Wheat Butternut Waffles with Cinnamon Cream

 

And if you’re having a hard time keeping your waffle belly at bay, you should check out my guest post on Morgan’s blog all about planks!

 

Soooo have I convinced you to buy a waffle iron yet?

Posted on May 18, 2011, in Recipes, Waffle Wednesday. Bookmark the permalink. 21 Comments.

  1. Susan, you are the Waffle Queen! Oh how I’ve missed your waffle creations! :-D
    I love the waffle topped with runny eggs. Why didn’t I think of that?! Genius.

  2. YUM! I actually just had a waffle today… it definitely did not involve oatmeal and it was smothered in chocolate. The best kind :)

  3. I have never actually tried a waffle with eggs on top. What a fabulous idea. Last time I tried to actually make an oatmeal waffle it stuck so I have always been a little bit afraid to make them with other flours.

    • Yes, I haven’t had much success with using whole oats in waffles – it always sticks to the iron! That’s why I always blend it up, it works better for me that way :)

  4. Thanks for the mention lovely!! I love the idea of the eggs on the waffles too… yumm! And ps – if you want a caffeinated smoothie, try this one!! http://bit.ly/aIL8Bi

  5. You may have convinced me. I never crave waffles except for when I read you blog. They look so delicious! :)

  6. I’m going to try this next time I make waffles! (I’m still eating down a freezer full.)

  7. This whole thing is a “much success”!

    You know I’m awaiting the day I get to eat and make waffles with you…

  8. it’s already waffle wed!! (again!) time flies :)

    You are the waffle queen and these ideas and versions all look awesome!

  9. I love my waffle iron!! I love that there’s no flipping or pan dirtying involved:)

  10. I’m ashamed to say I got a shiny new waffle iron as a gift several years ago, and have only used it once! As you’ve demonstrated, waffles can be so versatile and even packed with protein! I need to dust off that iron…

  11. Whoaa that runny egg-topped waffle looks amazing!!

    A waffle iron is definitely up there on my list with panini press and food processor for when I get a long-term apartment! Oh the possibilities.

  12. You convinced me long long ago. :)

  13. Hey waffle lady, these look great! I’m a big fan of cottage cheese n oats waffles. Love how I can make a big batch and it’ll be waiting for me in the mornings.

  14. I love waffles and haven’t had them in so long! I definitely need to try out these recipes!

  15. We just had 8 friends over for breakfast (in Calgary) and I made these waffles (using greek yogurt instead of protein powder) and everyone loved them! Healthy and no one knew the difference. :0) Thanks for posting it.

  16. I would love to have the peanut butter sauce recipe if you make it from scratch.

  1. Pingback: Savory Waffle Wednesday + TGFA « Leftovers For Lunch

  2. Pingback: Read All About It « The Great Balancing Act

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 485 other followers

