Pumpkin Protein Cream Cheese Muffins

I have a healthy baked recipe to share with you today! I don’t typically healthify baked goods as they go under the “treats” category in my brain. And if I’m treating myself to something, I want it to be as delicious as possible. Butter and sugar please.

However, today’s recipe is actually filed under “snacks.” Something I can bring to the office to munch on. No afternoon sugar crashes allowed. Something that will stick to my belly while I work away.

These totally rocked my socks.

IMG_7230

Many of you know I worked at Starbucks for five years throughout high school and university. A period of time when I essentially lived off free muffins and hazelnut lattes. And my waistline showed it. I still dream about the pastries at Starbucks… Rocky road squares, date oatmeal cookies, lemon bars, whoopie pies, and pumpkin cream cheese muffins.

IMG_7231

I made these in a mini muffin pan because it’s all I currently own. But I do not have anything against regular sized muffins. The recipe yielded 24 mini muffins + leftovers that I turned into four pumpkin “bars.”

Pumpkin Protein Cream Cheese Muffins

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 3/4 cup unflavoured soy protein powder**
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tbsp cinnamon
  • 1 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup sweetener of choice (I used 12 packets of stevia, which is equal to 1/2 cup)
  • 1/2 cup oil (I used melted coconut oil)
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup pure pumpkin puree
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup – 3/4 cup milk (I used unsweetened vanilla almond milk)

**I do not recommend using whey powder for baking unless you’ve had success with it before. The soy powder can also be replaced with additional flour.

Cream cheese filling:

  • 4 tbsp low-fat cream cheese
  • 2 tbsp sweetener of choice (I used 3 packets stevia)

Directions:

1. In a large bowl, mix together your flour, protein powder, baking powder, soda, salt and spices.

2. In another bowl, mix the sweetener, oil, eggs, pumpkin and vanilla together.

3. Slowly add wet ingredients to dry ingredients.

4. Pour in milk until a thick batter is formed. Different protein powders have different absorption rates, so the quantity of milk required will be different for everyone!

5. Fill a greased muffin pan with batter until halfway full.

6. Mix together your cream cheese filling and add a dollop to each muffin.

7. Top off each muffin with remaining batter.

8. Bake for 18-20 min in a 350F oven.

IMG_7237

The result is a soft, not-too-sweet, protein packed, spiced muffin. Definitely one of my favourite protein muffins to date. The pumpkin keeps them from getting dry and the cream cheese adds a little fun to each bite!

Certainly a much better muffin to nibble on while I work than the kind I used to eat. I’ll still take that hazelnut latte though!

Posted on May 17, 2011, in Baking, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink. 20 Comments.

  1. These look delicious! I’d love to make them, but can’t seem to get my hands on any unflavored soy protein. Where do you buy yours?

    • I get mine in the health food section at the Canadian Superstore. I do know that Bob’s Red Mill sells it now, and they also sell a higher protein “soy flour” too!

  2. Reading about those pastries just made me start salivating – those carrot cakes were to die for.

  3. I agree-I’m not a big whey protein cooker but have soy protein just for the occasion. These look delicious and I love everything pumpkin and protein.

  4. oooooooo they look delicious! Love your new blog style, sorry not checked in for a while so its probably old news! x x x

  5. Mmmm hazelnut lattes. I have great aspirations to work at a coffee shop during my next school term for free coffee treats…haha.

    Pumpkin muffins make such great snacks! Delicious and nutritious.

    ps. Congrats on the writing job!!

  6. These look great! if you wanted the cream cheese to stay more intact in the center, you could take the cream-y cheese-y mixture and freeze/refrigerate it. Put it in mini ice cube trays, mold it into a log and then cut disks for each muffin or roll balls of it and freeze those. Then, when you drop it into the batter, it’ll stay intact, but soften while the muffin is baking! It might be cool.

  7. Susan – using pumpkin? I’m shocked! LOL

  8. You had me at cream cheese! There’s something about it that makes any baked good 10x better! These look great, well done. :)

  9. OH YUM…i would probaly literally have coffee in my veins if I worked in a coffee shop! haha I can’t imagine!! those pumpkin muffins look SO delicious and I love that they’re mini bceause well you can eat more of them! I also loved that you used coconut oil I am sure that gave them an amazing UMPF of flavor!

  10. Delicious! Considering the fact that I am mildly obsessed with your protein pancake recipe, I am SO trying this!

  11. Ooh I cannot wait to make these!!

  12. These look so good!! I’ll definitely be trying them.

    Also – I’ve been reading about you on other blogs. You are an amazing, amazing person and your in my thoughts and prayers.

  1. Pingback: Sweet n’ Tart Rhubarb Muffins « The Great Balancing Act

  2. Pingback: Pumpkin Cream Cheese Waffle « The Great Balancing Act

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 487 other followers

