The One About The Job

Happy Monday morning friends! What’s that? I think I will choose to ignore that collective groan I’m hearing.

After three months of laying in bed on Mondays I am happy to report that I am up at ‘em now like much of the rest of you.

That’s right. I’ve found myself a Monday to Friday, 8am to 4pm, permanent, full-time, salaried office job.

Do not expect me to talk about my job a lot. I usually like to keep my professional life and blog life somewhat separate. But long-time followers of this blog know I’ve always been one to share my career aspirations. I think your work plays a HUGE role in that “great balancing act” I’m always talking about.

As a lot of you know, I have a Bachelor of Arts in Journalism & Communications. I worked for several years as a radio reporter, television host, and newspaper writer. I eventually settled into a full-time radio job, the job I thought I wanted to do for the rest of my life. But it was the wrong place, wrong time, and I found myself in desperate need of a life restructure.

And boy, did I change a lot! I totally switched gears, throwing myself into the fitness industry as a personal trainer and working at a specialty running store in a brand new city. I loved both those jobs despite the hard work and energy required. The long commutes in the big city were slowly wearing me down though, and when injury forced me out of physical work for good, I admit I was both upset and slightly relieved.

IMG_9929

It’s funny, because even while working as a personal trainer, I always considered myself a “journalist” first. Even though I left that career behind, it’s the one I always identified with most.

When I moved back home, I was bummed by how my injured arm limited my job options. Not many writing or communications jobs were popping up in this small city and my injury prevented me from doing more active service jobs.

I ended up hearing about my current position from someone I knew mainly through Twitter, and discovered we were connected by those we know in this small town of ours!

My new job is more of a throwback to what I did as a journalist. Just excluding all the things that drove me batty about being a reporter (ahem, begging people for interviews, chasing down stories). Instead, I sift through news stories and do some writing for private clients to read. My technical job title is “analyst.” I really like the work. It keeps me busy and I find a lot of it pretty interesting.

The biggest adjustment for me will be getting used to sitting at a desk in front of a computer all day. Sitting is so bad for you! I’m also scared of getting carpal tunnel and ruining my eyesight.

(Not my current desk)

One great thing is that it’s the first job I’ve had that doesn’t exhaust me. I’m used to bouncing around a gym all day or tearing through the streets in a radio cruiser. I used to come home beat and unable to do anything at the end of the day.

My new job doesn’t really take that much out of me. I find myself coming home with lots of energy and ready to do fun things in the evenings. It means I’ll be able to have a life outside of my job. The 8-4 hours are perfect because I can get to the gym after work and still be home by 5:30!

Overall, it’s not at all what I expected to be doing. But after two weeks at it I find myself starting to settle in nicely. Settling into the work, the schedule, and this new life I’ve built for myself. I never thought I’d be another “office drone” but it’s funny what growing up will do to you. Turns out the stability of this type of job is exactly what I’ve been needing. Especially given the unpredictable situation with my injured arm.

So there you have it! The story about my new job. A job I hope to keep for a very long time because I don’t plan on going anywhere. Well, except on Saturday and Sundays. Because you know, I’m a weekend warrior now ;)

Posted on May 16, 2011, in Fun. Bookmark the permalink. 25 Comments.

  1. What a change from being a personal trainer and journalist! Glad you are settling in and getting used to it, Susan! :-D

  2. Congrats again on the job Susan! Like you, I’m a very active person and even having worked full time for almost 8 months now, sometimes sitting at a desk job really challenges me mentally. Good luck for your first couple of weeks. I’m sure everyone will love you (and they’ll probably want to eat lunch with you too – especially if you bring waffles on Wednesday!)

  3. congrats on finding and having a job….any job is a welcome one in this economy, well, mostly welcome, ykwim :)

    seriously congrats on this!!!

    • Thanks Averie!! Jobs like this are hard to come by in my small city. Especially because I’m not fluent in French, and almost all jobs require you to be bilingual (a good chunk of my city is French!) I feel veryvery lucky that there was an opening and that I got it :)

  4. Yay for stability! haha what’s that like?? I’m still plugging away with training but fortunately I have another job that provides some stability. I’m very happy for you though, congrats!

  5. Congrats on the new job! That’s great. I’m really glad to hear your enjoying it too!

    I LOVE my job but I hate, hate, hate sitting at a desk all day – so I hear ya on the whole ‘sitting’ thing :P

  6. Ooh shiny new blog! At least to me. My tip for to avoid sitting for too long is to drink a crap ton of water. Between getting up to refill your bottle and getting up to pee, you’re sure to stand and move just about every hour!

  7. Congrats on the new job. I wish for 8-4 hours, but instead I miss a lot of things because I finish at 5. :P Oh well!

  8. Congrats on the job!! Sounds perfect–especially the hours. As for the sitting, I had a job last summer sitting at my computer for 8 hours, and the best thing to do is just take a small walk around at least every hour (bathroom breaks work well for this, haha!).

  9. I’m so happy that you found a job that you enjoy! I totally agree that having career satisfaction is totally part of the balancing act- I’m still working on that one!

  10. Congrats on the job! It sounds perfect for where you are at right now. And you look so glowing and happy in that last picture!

  11. greensandjeans

    Congratulations on the new gig! I’ve never had a desk job, but after all the traveling I’ve been doing recently, it kind of sounds awesome (I’m sure I’ll be singing a different tune in a few years…)

  12. Wow ,I am so impressed you found a great job so soon!
    And very jealous of your free weekends and evenings!

    Fabulous,esp if job includes any benefits!
    (I am self employed ;(

    Congrats!!!

  13. Wow 8-4 is probably the best hours possible!! The great thing is that you really do adjust to whatever life throws at you and you embrace the change!

  14. This is great! Settling into some place where you feel you belong is incredible.

  15. How awesome for you! I’m graduating in 4wks with a BA in Journalism as well — analyst work sounds interesting to me, I might have to look more into it. Right now I’m doing what you disliked — intern work (begging for interviews, etc) :P

    • Hey, some people thrive on all that begging work! We’re incredibly lucky though, because journalism opens the door to so many different kinds of jobs. If you’re not into the reporting stuff, there’s tons of “outside the box” journalism-type jobs out there for you!

  16. Thanks for sharing! I am a journalism student now, and am trying to figure out what to do with it— so hearing about other people’s paths is always interesting!

  17. Congrats again on the job! I envy your 8-4 hours…those are my husband’s work hrs, while mine are afternoon-evening on most days. Which means we keep very different hours/schedules and don’t get to spend that much time together…to which someone once told me would mean we’ll have “the best marriage”…:-)

  18. You have had more jobs in these past two years than anyone I know! You are so well rounded because of it!

  19. yayyyyyy so happy for you! it’s so funny how we have so many preconceptions about what jobs are “right” for us when actually, a lot of jobs can be right – i’ve found its more about the people, atmosphere, environment and schedule than the actual job. i’ve had jobs where i’ve loved my job but hated the people and vice versa. let me tell you – it is so much better to hate your job but work with good people. hands down. this comment may not have made any sense. just go with it :)

    • Nono, I totally get it. People DO make the job!! I mean you spend at least 8 hours a day with them, more time than you spend with anyone else. You’ve got to enjoy being around the people you work with or you’ll never enjoy being at work!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 487 other followers

