Daily Archives: May 16, 2011

The One About The Job

Happy Monday morning friends! What’s that? I think I will choose to ignore that collective groan I’m hearing.

After three months of laying in bed on Mondays I am happy to report that I am up at ‘em now like much of the rest of you.

That’s right. I’ve found myself a Monday to Friday, 8am to 4pm, permanent, full-time, salaried office job.

Do not expect me to talk about my job a lot. I usually like to keep my professional life and blog life somewhat separate. But long-time followers of this blog know I’ve always been one to share my career aspirations. I think your work plays a HUGE role in that “great balancing act” I’m always talking about.

As a lot of you know, I have a Bachelor of Arts in Journalism & Communications. I worked for several years as a radio reporter, television host, and newspaper writer. I eventually settled into a full-time radio job, the job I thought I wanted to do for the rest of my life. But it was the wrong place, wrong time, and I found myself in desperate need of a life restructure.

And boy, did I change a lot! I totally switched gears, throwing myself into the fitness industry as a personal trainer and working at a specialty running store in a brand new city. I loved both those jobs despite the hard work and energy required. The long commutes in the big city were slowly wearing me down though, and when injury forced me out of physical work for good, I admit I was both upset and slightly relieved.

IMG_9929

It’s funny, because even while working as a personal trainer, I always considered myself a “journalist” first. Even though I left that career behind, it’s the one I always identified with most.

When I moved back home, I was bummed by how my injured arm limited my job options. Not many writing or communications jobs were popping up in this small city and my injury prevented me from doing more active service jobs.

I ended up hearing about my current position from someone I knew mainly through Twitter, and discovered we were connected by those we know in this small town of ours!

My new job is more of a throwback to what I did as a journalist. Just excluding all the things that drove me batty about being a reporter (ahem, begging people for interviews, chasing down stories). Instead, I sift through news stories and do some writing for private clients to read. My technical job title is “analyst.” I really like the work. It keeps me busy and I find a lot of it pretty interesting.

The biggest adjustment for me will be getting used to sitting at a desk in front of a computer all day. Sitting is so bad for you! I’m also scared of getting carpal tunnel and ruining my eyesight.

(Not my current desk)

One great thing is that it’s the first job I’ve had that doesn’t exhaust me. I’m used to bouncing around a gym all day or tearing through the streets in a radio cruiser. I used to come home beat and unable to do anything at the end of the day.

My new job doesn’t really take that much out of me. I find myself coming home with lots of energy and ready to do fun things in the evenings. It means I’ll be able to have a life outside of my job. The 8-4 hours are perfect because I can get to the gym after work and still be home by 5:30!

Overall, it’s not at all what I expected to be doing. But after two weeks at it I find myself starting to settle in nicely. Settling into the work, the schedule, and this new life I’ve built for myself. I never thought I’d be another “office drone” but it’s funny what growing up will do to you. Turns out the stability of this type of job is exactly what I’ve been needing. Especially given the unpredictable situation with my injured arm.

So there you have it! The story about my new job. A job I hope to keep for a very long time because I don’t plan on going anywhere. Well, except on Saturday and Sundays. Because you know, I’m a weekend warrior now ;)

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 485 other followers