Doggone It

Dog owners – have you taken your dog to the dog park before? I’ve never been with Archie the poodle, but Buddy the boxer-bullmastiff goes regularly.

IMG_7114

Buddy is afraid of almost all people (and cars). He looks big and mean but is the biggest sook I’ve ever met.

Put him in a space with other dogs and he becomes a whole new animal. He just comes to life!!!

IMG_7110

I hate the idea of dogs being left cooped up at home alone all day. But I love the idea of having a space where they can run as fast as they can and “socialize” with other dogs. And boy, did Buddy run.

IMG_7104

Only ever stopping to slurp up gallons of water between sprints. I swear you can see dogs smile, and this dog had a big goofy grin on his face the whole time.

IMG_7108

By the end, he was completely worn out. He had to stop to lay down even as we were trying to open the fence to leave. My dad had to lift this 75lb baby into the van!

IMG_7111

There’s a little dog park next door as well. If you have a pooch I highly suggest checking out your local dog park. For the most part, dogs play well and the owners keep a good watch on them. It’s totally worth it to see your dog so happy. Okay, and to tucker them out so they leave you alone for the rest of the day ;)

Posted on May 13, 2011, in Fun and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Awww, Buddy is such a cutie! I always take my doggie to the dog park. She loves it! :-)

  2. Awe he is adorable! We don’t take our dogs to dog parks because they are very aggressive and wouldn’t be the friendlist.

  3. Pip likes going to the dog park but she’s a total wallflower. She just watches all the other dogs. But she likes it, I swear. She’s just a bit antisocial.

  4. I wish I could take mine to a dog park. But alas – he hates other 4 legged creatures. He is 20lbs of mean when he sees another animal.

  5. No dog park in my neigborhood. However there are a lot of strays that wander into the yard and my dog always plays well with them. It’s kind of weird because it’s always the same dogs and they come around about once a week. I’m not sure that Cocoa hasn’t invited them for a play date. ;P

  6. julius used to be a lot better at dog parks (socializing) but now he just becomes obsessed with the ball and mean to puppies

  7. He is so adorable :))
    I don’t have a dog, but I think dog parks are amazing. Puppies need to socialize and play :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 487 other followers

