Banoffee Pie

I must say, I am rather surprised no one guessed what the Mother’s Day pie was!

IMG_7151

The idea for this pie came to me back in January via one of my best blogging pals Ellie. I was surveying the Twitterverse for pie ideas to make for my birthday. You may remember, I ended up with a Fluffernutter Pie.

But through that survey, the Scottish Ellie introduced me to banoffee pie. An English pie that combines the flavours of banana + toffee.

Even though I didn’t make it back in January, suffice it to say I’ve been thinking of this pie every day since!

IMG_7126

Traditionally, the pie has a pastry base. But I have a hard time sticking to rules. Instead I grabbed a bunch of these graham-style bran cookies and smashed them up with butter to make a graham crust.

I started off with the best intentions. But sometimes even the best intentions can lead to the worst kitchen mistakes.

Baking is seldom easy for me. It’s why I continue to do it.

IMG_7127

I thought it would be fun to make “pie bites” using my mini muffin pan.

Don’t do this!!

The graham shells fell apart when trying to remove them from the pan. Worth a try I guess. Traditional pie shape it was.

IMG_7131

The other traditional aspect of the pie is the “dulche de leche” layer that goes on top of the pie crust, made by boiling condensed milk.

IMG_7133

While boiling a can of milk is technically not a “hard” thing to do, it is time consuming. Buying a container of caramel sauce however, is not.

IMG_7137

After spreading the sweet sticky stuff comes the key ingredient – bananas!

IMG_7139

The “sliced fruit” I was talking about. You see, the presence of fruit alone turns this into “health food.” Pictured is only two sliced bananas on top, but I ended using three.

Finally, the whole thing is finished with a healthy dose of whipped cream.

IMG_7145

Getting the whipped cream on top turned into a bit of an issue as well. One that led to me completing the last kilometre of my weekend run with a carton of whipping cream in each hand. Completely normal.

IMG_7149

The end result was SO good. My mom said it was really sweet, but that’s what had me licking my lips over it. I’m happy I went for the nearly-failed graham crust. The thin layer of caramel was just enough.

Despite my kitchen mishaps, this was an incredibly easy pie to make. I highly suggest you don’t wait almost five months like I did to make it. Plus, it’s got potassium, and I can testify that it makes for a great post-run snack ;)

Posted on May 12, 2011, in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. I like the image of you running with whipping cream in each hand… Did you get any strange looks?

    • Pretty sure the person who sold it to me mid-run thought I was crazy when I took off out the door. But I like to think it got partially whipped by the bouncing on the way back ;)

  2. The best banoffee pie I’ve had, believe it or not, was at the Drake in Toronto. If you can still get it there, go!

  3. fruit = health food..oh yeah you said it! thats why one of my favorite desserts is key lime pie…LIME=its healthy right? hehe

    that looks fabulous, Susan!

  4. I’m behind in my blog reading but finally catching up. Love the new look, Susan! Also want that pie immediately.

    I’m trying to picture you running with whipped cream. Too funny!

  5. Well my guess was way off! This looks so good! I love toffee flavored things.

  6. OMG! Susan! I saw the picture and was scared to ask! Major food envy going on right now ;)So glad you made/enjoyed it- my all-time favorite food.

    I’ve always made it with a graham crust- so much better. The condensed milk too- I have never boiled it in the tin (apparently easy, just long- keeps for years though once boiled so can do more than once) but pouring the milk into saucepan and simmering (not boiling) while stirring constantly works equally well- takes about 30-40 mins. YAY BANOFFEE! Good to know it’s a good post-workout snack. I can attest to it being a great breakfast, lunch and dinner replacement if the need should arise ;) Cause…you know…it happens!

  7. Yum, I’ve been wanting to make that pie, too! Anything topped with whipped cream is a-ok in my book. :)

  8. i want this. like now.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 486 other followers

