Waffle Wednesday Revisited

It’s been a while, no?

IMG_7090 

I haven’t made waffles since the vegan waffle disaster. I remember this specifically because after I cleaned the mess off the iron and put it back in its place on top of the fridge, it fell. The iron sought revenge for the vegan waffle disaster by hurling itself toward my spine, then bouncing off my back to crack on the floor. 

IMG_7085

Needless to say, the whole episode turned me off waffles for a while.

But now that I’m a working woman, I find myself once again looking for quick and easy breakfasts to get me out the door faster in the morning. I awoke Saturday morning finally craving waffles again and had the bright idea to make extra for the week!

IMG_7103

I polished off the rest of the pancake/waffle mix in my dad’s cupboard. I really dig this stuff. Although it’s just flour with a bit of baking power, soda and sugar. I also added a few tablespoons of soy protein powder for staying power. I left out any oil and swapped out half the milk with unsweetened applesauce.

IMG_7095

I ended up with three waffles. One of which I ate immediately with yogurt on top. The other two frozen and ready for toasting on a weekday morning!

IMG_7099

Seriously. Who says waffles are for decadent weekends only? Especially when made healthier like this batch. I think any day of the week deserves to start off just as sweet.

Posted on May 11, 2011, in Waffle Wednesday and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 16 Comments.

  1. YAY Waffles Wednesdays are back :) Moving house with a mate this weekend, think I need to invest in a waffle iron.

    • I got mine for 30 bucks at Wal-Mart, best $30 I’ve ever spent! It makes awesome Belgian waffles quickly. Plus, it fell on the floor and still works fine, so that’s something.

  2. Love the waffles! hope you’re having a good day after those waffles :)

  3. The Teenage Taste

    There are few things better than a warm fluffy waffle. Mmmmmmm…

  4. Susan! If you ever need a guest blogger for waffle Wednesdays I have totally got your back ha. I have a waffle almost everyday (with yogurt on top actually). Ha. They are the best!

  5. Oooh how I’ve missed your waffle Wednesdays! Waffles are top of my agenda for this weekend!

  6. Susan, your waffle Wednesdays alone are enough to convince me to buy a waffle maker! Delicious.

  7. ouch!! I think I would have taken a break from the waffle iron if it attacked me, too.
    I’ve never frozen a homemade waffle…but this is really such a great idea!

  8. I need to bring waffle wednesday back into my life.

  9. We love making and freezing waffles for easy meals during the week! They really come out tasting just fine too.

  10. AH I love waffles, but used to mak them bc my ex BF had a belgium waffle maker! Well since we are no longer together, I think its time I get my own darn waffle maker!

  11. I need to make a big batch of waffles one weekend and freeze them so I can have them Wednesday mornings. I made waffle fries last night instead. Not the same.

    I really need to try a waffle with yogurt too.

  1. Pingback: eat what you want. « meals & moves

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 486 other followers

