Daily Archives: May 11, 2011

Waffle Wednesday Revisited

It’s been a while, no?

IMG_7090 

I haven’t made waffles since the vegan waffle disaster. I remember this specifically because after I cleaned the mess off the iron and put it back in its place on top of the fridge, it fell. The iron sought revenge for the vegan waffle disaster by hurling itself toward my spine, then bouncing off my back to crack on the floor. 

IMG_7085

Needless to say, the whole episode turned me off waffles for a while.

But now that I’m a working woman, I find myself once again looking for quick and easy breakfasts to get me out the door faster in the morning. I awoke Saturday morning finally craving waffles again and had the bright idea to make extra for the week!

IMG_7103

I polished off the rest of the pancake/waffle mix in my dad’s cupboard. I really dig this stuff. Although it’s just flour with a bit of baking power, soda and sugar. I also added a few tablespoons of soy protein powder for staying power. I left out any oil and swapped out half the milk with unsweetened applesauce.

IMG_7095

I ended up with three waffles. One of which I ate immediately with yogurt on top. The other two frozen and ready for toasting on a weekday morning!

IMG_7099

Seriously. Who says waffles are for decadent weekends only? Especially when made healthier like this batch. I think any day of the week deserves to start off just as sweet.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 485 other followers