Nana’s Girl

I’m not sure if I mentioned it, but my mom is currently in Florida. It’s how I ended up with a shaved poodle at my dad’s place.

IMG_6971

Poor Archie is having a hard time staying warm these days. I’ve been trying to fatten him up, but he still takes to laying in warm pockets of sun. Or err, wrapping himself up in blankets.

IMG_6994

He totally did this to himself. I *ahem* swear.

My mom, apart from being the mother to three high maintenance daughters, and three high maintenance step-children, also takes care of my 87-year-old grandmother. Something I’ve also taken over while she’s been away.

Although, my mom’s version of caring for my grandmother includes things like appointments and bill paying. I mostly just go over there every other day to eat and socialize.

IMG_7032 

My Nana makes the best lunches. Egg salad sandwiches, asparagus sandwiches, and the above tomato and bacon sandwich. Always ended with a cuppa tea and tray of sweets!

IMG_7028

I asked about her shortbread recipe and she couldn’t give me specifics. I think she makes it up as she goes along. The key though really is the coconut icing on top.

IMG_7034

There was also once a Papa. He passed away just over three years ago. He was the kind of man who loved to entertain a room. And my Nana is the kind of woman who loves to laugh. She went through a hard time when he passed, and I’m so proud she was able to come through that.

IMG_7035

Now she is dealing with the death of her son. My uncle who passed away just a few weeks ago of brain cancer. She talks about him a lot. She thinks the world of him.

Her strength never ceases to amaze me. Not just emotionally either. She does yoga once a week and dropped down into a minute long plank the other day. And she’ll be 88 in June!

I really cherish the time I’ve spent with my Nana over the last little bit. And I’m thinking about holding Archie hostage at my dad’s place after my mother returns. But I think we can all agree we miss her. Please give her back Florida!!

Posted on April 28, 2011, in Fun. Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. nanas make the world go round. i’d be lost without mine.

  2. What a lovely photo of your nana! That time with her is very precious.

  3. You are lucky to be near your dear grandmother. I definitely will always remember the moments I spent with my grandparents before they passed away. Cherish those. :)

  4. Aw, Nana is so lovely- and I love her “little bit of this and little bit of that” recipe- really after my own heart. Poor thing having to deal with the loss of her son and husband in short succession. Bless her.

    MOm’s in florida?! Fun! Archie looks so different naked! :-)

  5. Your Nana is so beautiful! :) So glad you are getting to spent this time with her! I’m sure spending time with you is a big help in dealing with the loss of her son! My grandmother had lost three children and it was very hard for.

    Your Nana is officially in better shape than myself! I haven’t done a plank in months! :)

    • Seriously though, she’s probably in better shape than me too right now. Because of this arm business I doubt I’d even be able to hold plank for 20 sec!

  6. It’s wonderful that you get to spend time with your G-ma… my grandparents all passed when I was too little to remember. I don’t know what that bond is like, but I imagine it’s inspiring and loving. She is a beautiful woman!

  7. What a lovely woman! This was such a touching post because I’m also close to my Omah. She’s very lucky to have a granddaughter like you to help her through the loss of her son!

    Do you think if you did kidnap Archie that she would notice when she returned? I say go for it :) He’s too cute not to try!

  8. I can’t get over how tiny Archie looks with the hair cut. Your Nana is beautiful!!!! I love this post.

  9. I know this isn’t related to this post, but I wanted to thank you for your posts about proper form on weight lifting. I have learned so much from them! I can definitely tell the difference when I use proper form (feel the burn!)

    Thanks so much for sharing your knowledge with us :)

  1. Pingback: Royal Wedding/Mother’s Day Round-up | The Food Blog

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 485 other followers

