Daily Archives: April 28, 2011

Nana’s Girl

I’m not sure if I mentioned it, but my mom is currently in Florida. It’s how I ended up with a shaved poodle at my dad’s place.

IMG_6971

Poor Archie is having a hard time staying warm these days. I’ve been trying to fatten him up, but he still takes to laying in warm pockets of sun. Or err, wrapping himself up in blankets.

IMG_6994

He totally did this to himself. I *ahem* swear.

My mom, apart from being the mother to three high maintenance daughters, and three high maintenance step-children, also takes care of my 87-year-old grandmother. Something I’ve also taken over while she’s been away.

Although, my mom’s version of caring for my grandmother includes things like appointments and bill paying. I mostly just go over there every other day to eat and socialize.

IMG_7032 

My Nana makes the best lunches. Egg salad sandwiches, asparagus sandwiches, and the above tomato and bacon sandwich. Always ended with a cuppa tea and tray of sweets!

IMG_7028

I asked about her shortbread recipe and she couldn’t give me specifics. I think she makes it up as she goes along. The key though really is the coconut icing on top.

IMG_7034

There was also once a Papa. He passed away just over three years ago. He was the kind of man who loved to entertain a room. And my Nana is the kind of woman who loves to laugh. She went through a hard time when he passed, and I’m so proud she was able to come through that.

IMG_7035

Now she is dealing with the death of her son. My uncle who passed away just a few weeks ago of brain cancer. She talks about him a lot. She thinks the world of him.

Her strength never ceases to amaze me. Not just emotionally either. She does yoga once a week and dropped down into a minute long plank the other day. And she’ll be 88 in June!

I really cherish the time I’ve spent with my Nana over the last little bit. And I’m thinking about holding Archie hostage at my dad’s place after my mother returns. But I think we can all agree we miss her. Please give her back Florida!!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 486 other followers