That’s One Good Pork Butt

After a few kitchen mishaps over the long weekend, I was starting to feel a little down and out about my abilities. Or perhaps, lack thereof.

Believe it or not, it was a 7lb chunk of smoked pig butt that turned into my greatest success yet.

IMG_6999

Here’s what I used for the glaze:

  • 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 1/2 cup pure maple syrup
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1 heaping tbsp dry mustard powder
  • few shakes of allspice

Place the ham cut side down on a roasting rack. Make several slashes on the fatty top (intersecting diagonal cuts are traditional!). Bake in a 325F oven for 20 minutes for each pound of meat. For the glaze, heat ingredients together in a small saucepan over the stove. Pour over the ham when there is 30 minutes left of cooking time. Once glazed, take it out every 10 minutes to collect the juices/glaze that drip to the bottom and pour over top again.

IMG_7004

This smelled unbelievable. And tasted even better. So good in fact that my dad got up and hugged me for it. The best part is how thick the glaze got because of the addition of applesauce.

IMG_7002

Even though there are a million mouths to feed in this house, we’re still left with mass quantities of leftovers. This ham was maybe $13 and yields approximately 92 servings (with slight exaggerations).

IMG_7007

The next morning I awoke with one word on repeat in my brain: “Biscuits. Biscuits. Biscuits.”

IMG_7013

Your brain does that too, right?

Not to toot my own horn or anything, but I’m kind of a champion biscuit and scone maker. You can be too actually, because they’re dead simple to make!

IMG_7024

Buttermilk Biscuits from Canadian Living Magazine:

  • 2 1/2 cups flour
  • 2 tbsp sugar
  • 2 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 cup cold salted butter (cut into small cubes)
  • 1 cup buttermilk
  • 1 egg

Mix the dry ingredients together, then throw in butter pieces. You can mix this in a food processor. I just work the butter into the flour mixture using my hands until it’s crumbly. Whisk the egg and buttermilk together, then add to the flour/butter mixture. Knead around 10 times on a flat floured surface. Smooth out to 2cm height, and use a cutter close to 6cm in length to cut out biscuits. I use a small glass. Bake for 12-15 at 400F. Makes 12 large biscuits.

IMG_7009

I love baking with buttermilk. It makes everything better.

IMG_7014

I topped a biscuit fresh out of the oven with fried egg and ham.

IMG_7019

Probably the best breakfast. Ever.

Kitchen redemption is oh so sweet.

Posted on April 27, 2011, in Baking, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. I hate you. I’ve been craving ham for MONTHS. I would die and go to heaven with all that ham. But alas, no more pork for me.

  2. greensandjeans

    Now my brain is screaming biscuits biscuits biscuits!

  3. That breakfast looks sooooo good! I’m now craving pork bottom in a BIG way :)

  4. Pork AND biscuits? It does look like the best breakfast ever.

  5. Biscuits just aren’t biscuits without buttermilk….

  6. “Biscuits. Biscuits. Biscuits.” You speak my husband’s language!

  7. Wow, yeah, that breakfast does look pretty incredible. Good job with the massive ham. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 485 other followers

