Daily Archives: April 24, 2011

Easter Traditions

Happy Easter!!

IMG_6984

I am not going to lie, I am not a huge fan of Easter. Growing up, I never believed in the Easter Bunny. I thought it was a grown man in a bunny suit who’d break into our house to hide Ganong chocolates and Disney VHSs behind the couch. Fear of this man in the bunny suit would keep me up the night before Easter.

For some reason, my child brain could fathom the idea of a fairy that came through my window to take my teeth. A giant rabbit? No way. Had to be a weirdo in a costume.

IMG_6981

When I was a kid, I would also sit down and eat a solid chocolate bunny until my stomach hurt. Actually, I could probably do that as an adult still. Instead, this Easter I forewent the chocolate for The Pioneer Woman’s Hot Cross Buns.

IMG_6977

I am new to the world of yeast baking. But after a kindasorta successful go at her cinnamon rolls, I figured these buns would be excellent for my next yeasty challenge.

IMG_6956

To be on the safe side, I proofed the yeast first in 1/4 cup warm water with 1 tsp sugar. For the record this is what active yeast looks like. I never understood what level of “bubbling” had to take place. Or what “dissolved” yeast looks like. Do you sprinkle it on the top or stir it in? How long should it take?

No one says these things in their recipes. I am convinced there is some yeasty secret society out there working at keeping the secrets of yeast from getting out. So far in my experience, yeast has proven to be a very temperamental ingredient.

IMG_6964

Case and point: these buns had a hard time rising. Despite the warm oven I put them in to rise. I’m pretty sure when I put the proofed and bubbly yeast into the hot milk mixture, I killed some of it.

Can that happen? Google can’t tell me. I think the yeasty society is hiding it from me.

IMG_6967

I ended up with dense, albeit super tasty buns. Lots of cinnamon and sugar with just enough raisins.

Tomorrow I am making a 7lb ham. Even though I can’t technically lift 7lbs right now because of my injured arm. At least it doesn’t include yeast. And I now know better than to think the Easter bunny is a creepy dude in a costume.

But it makes me wonder, why isn’t rabbit pie a traditional Easter dish?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 487 other followers