A Royal Treat

Are you ready for some food pictures?? As promised, here’s what I’ve been munching on this week!

The folks at Red Prince Apple sent me this really, really cool promotional package this week.

IMG_6880

They’ve got a campaign going for the upcoming Royal Wedding. They are a royally named fruit after all ;)

IMG_6881

The package came in the shape of a three tiered wedding cake. Each tier containing a special treat to nosh on while watching the Royal Wedding. I will be one of those people who gets up to watch it. My family are monarchists, I can’t help it. Although, I’ve totally been munching on a few of these treats in preparation for the festivities. I needed to try them out!

IMG_6884

The apples came with a timer to wake me up early on the 29th.

Apples are my favourite fruit EVER. One of the few foods I get really intense cravings for. Something about the sugary, watery, crunch that my body and tastebuds sometimes just need.

IMG_6911

The red prince has a shiny skin, kind of like a McIntosh but not quite as thick. The inside however was nothing like a McIntosh.

IMG_6917

Sweet and crunchy. I always refrigerate my apples so they don’t get mealy, but this one at room temp was still super crisp. A little tang to perk my senses, but enough sweet to satisfy that sweet apple craving I get.

The middle tier contained another one of my favourite treats – scones!

IMG_6886

You can find the recipe for the scones here. I love how they used apple cider vinegar instead of buttermilk. It’s a cute touch ;)

IMG_6898

There’s no other way of describing it – this scone was so moist! So much so that I put them in the fridge because I was scared they’d mold quickly. Very soft, surprisingly sweet, and just the perfect size for a snack.

Finally, we have the top tier. The best for last. Chocolate!

IMG_6891

I had no idea what to expect when I bit into this chocolate. I don’t usually mix apples and chocolate!

IMG_6893

Turned out to be a thick apple puree, much like apple butter. It was so intriguing! Definitely not anything I’ve had before, but I did really like it.

Apart from the treats the Red Prince people sent me, I made my own goodies with the apples.

IMG_6931

Thursday morning I found myself awake 30 minutes before my alarm. What better way to use that time than make pancakes?

IMG_6935 

Here’s what I used for my batter (makes 4 small-medium pancakes):

  • 6 tbsp President’s Choice Whole Grain Pancake mix (as far as mixes go, this stuff is awesome. So long as you’re into the whole grain taste)
  • 2 tbsp unflavoured soy protein powder (can replace with more pancake mix)
  • several shakes cinnamon
  • dash vanilla extract (1 tsp)
  • 1 whole egg
  • 6 tbsp unsweetened apple sauce
  • 1/3 cup milk
  • 1/2 red prince apple, chopped into small chunks

IMG_6936

I mixed the apples right into the batter and fried them up like that! They got warm and mushy that way. Basically the best way to start off a Thursday.

Other eats from this week:

IMG_6854

A “yogurt mess.” One of my go-to meals when I need to keep my belly satisfied for a solid 5 hours.

IMG_6859

I believe this giant mug contained raspberry yogurt, protein powder, cantaloupe, sunflower seed butter, dry oatmeal, cinnamon, flaked coconut and a drizzle of sugar-free syrup. Did the trick!

All breakfasts are always accompanied by a ginormous mug of coffee.

IMG_6861

Around one french press of coffee a day. That’s only like two cups worth. That’s not excessive…right? Right??

Tuesday’s breakfast was a little strange…

IMG_6889

I’d bought a chicken breast sub the day before and didn’t get around to eating it. So I kept it in the fridge to have for a quick breakfast before my slew of early morning appointments on Tuesday. Day-old subs are not recommended, but this also got the job done. I like them with all the toppings minus the jalapeño, yellow mustard, and no cheese :)

Lunches all this week were mostly eaten at my Nana’s. None of which were photographed because I’ve been going after the gym and I don’t bring my camera to the gym.

When I am home for lunch, I usually go for a simple pita.

IMG_6864 

On Monday, I sautéed a  leftover honey garlic sausage from the Dieppe Market with red pepper and onion.

IMG_6865

Even though I am kind of obsessed with slathering my sausage in ketchup, I went a different route using hummus as my “sauce.”

IMG_6870

All stuffed in a pita with greens! I usually have a piece of fruit or raw veggies with this too. One of these days I need to do another pita tutorial to show you how to make these without having them fall apart…

IMG_6925

I had roast beef, potatoes and carrots for supper three times this week. Mostly because I could stick it in the microwave and have it be ready in three minutes when my tummy was growling. Why do I always wait until the last minute to make food?

IMG_6910

Finally, snacks! One of my favourites is half a cantaloupe that I can sit down and scoop out with a spoon. A little on the larger side for my snacks, it takes a while to eat and tricks me into feeling a lot more satisfied.

So there you have it! The eats of a gal trying to lose 10 lbs the old fashioned way. Like I said before, these days I’m all about having larger meals that can hold me over for 4-5 hours with only small snacks (like an apple or piece of chocolate) in between. So far so good!

Question of the Day: What’s your favourite in-between-meals snack? Mine is a piece of light Wasa bread with a smear of peanut butter and a drizzle of honey!

Posted on April 22, 2011, in Reviews, Weekly Eats. Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. The Teenage Taste

    Looks like a great week of eats, Susan! Those scones look fab!

  2. yum! what a great promo package of goodies. :)

    i munch on roasted seaweed packs, fruit leathers, and fruit.

  3. melon and a spoon is probably my go-to snack/smaller meal when my stomach needs to reset between large amounts of food.

    and woah – that package was awesome!!! enjoy it!

  4. That’s a fun package!

    My favorite in between meal snack is a latte! Or a couple dates with nut butter.

  5. I tend to snack on fruit in the morning, and veggies in the afternoon. A handful of raw nuts anytime, if I need something with more staying power.

    Those apples look great! I haven’t had an apple in months- I tend to obsess over whatever is new in season- and I’m kinda craving one right now! And pancakes. I haven’t had breakfast yet :)

    • Yes, I absolutely cannot do vegetables in the morning. I just don’t have the palate for it that early in the day! I used to have Japanese friends who would eat salads for breakfast and it would make me gag :P

  6. What a cool idea! Love the theme :)
    And your description of the apple kinda makes me want one right now.

  7. ummm i want that royal treat! i am admittedly obsessed with the royal wedding, and that is the cutest promotion. loves it. and loving all these eats. minus the cantaloupe. you know how i feel about that one :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 487 other followers

