Daily Archives: April 20, 2011

Things I’m Loving About Being Home

Thank you so much for the support on my latest injury update! I’m a lucky girl to have so many good people rooting for me.

To be honest, I’ve been feeling a little blue lately. I think it mostly has to do with the fact that I’ve started work and the reality of my injury has really sunk in. I had a job that I loved. I legitimately loved working with clients as a personal trainer. It had its downsides like any other job, but day in and day out, I really really liked it.

The fact that I can’t do it anymore and am forced to look for other work really depresses me. People spend their lives looking for jobs they love. Here I am, having just discovered mine, and it was taken away from me just like that.

I started at the running store this week which I love too!! As far as retail goes, hanging out all day talking about running is about as good as it gets. But being in the store again yesterday made the “handicap” of my arm glaringly obvious. Little things like handing customers receipts or untying a pair of running shoes are more of a struggle. Sometimes I forget and move my arm or wrist the wrong way, igniting a surge of pain.

Anyways, this is not intended to be a depressing post. My mom sent me an e-mail this morning reminding me to stay positive. All that positive energy is crucial to my healing!

So I’m doing one of my favourite kind of posts. A list of things I am loving right now. Except, it’s not about just anything. People keep asking me how I like being home. It certainly is different and taking some adjusting, but overall I wouldn’t want to be anywhere else right now. So here is a list of things I am loving about being back home:

1. Sunsets

I never realized it, but I couldn’t see the horizon in Toronto because of the tall buildings. Almost every night here in Moncton the sky lights up a beautiful pink colour. Because I can see the horizon here I can see those colours intensify as the sun ducks underneath. I appreciate it so much more now!

 
Pointe-du-Chêne sunset, just 15 min from where I live.

2. Fresh air

When I first got to Ontario, I had a hard time running. It felt like I could never catch my breath. I blamed it on other factors, but turns out my lungs were having a hard time taking in the polluted air! I’m sure Toronto has many great running trails, but because of the air quality there, I could never truly enjoy them. Here at home I can breathe. Deep, clean, fresh breaths. It makes running so much more enjoyable.

IMG_2008
Centennial Park, Moncton.

3. Open spaces

Walking around King & Bay in the shadows of skyscrapers, fighting my way through the crowds at Yonge & Eglinton at lunch time, or Yonge Station at rush hour. There were times when I felt like I was being suffocated in Toronto. But Moncton has no skyscrapers. There is always sidewalk space to walk downtown at lunchtime. I never feel claustrophobic here. It’s just me and wide open space.

4. Wildlife

There’s more than just mice, pigeons, squirrels and seagulls here. Ducks, geese, pheasants, deer, moose, beavers, foxes, etc. In fact, I saw a mallard duck on my neighbours lawn just the other day! Speaking of which…

5. Yards

People have them here! And they don’t pay that much for them! Front yards and backyards. Not the two square metres they have close to downtown Toronto. But real yards you need a lawn mower for. A yard you could put a pool in. A yard for a dog to run around in!

IMG_6908 
My backyard at my dad’s house.

6. Trees and grass

You know, trees and grass aren’t really something I considered missing until I lived in a place without them. Mind you, there are beautiful areas of Toronto with trees and green spaces. My area however was not one of them. It was more along the lines of concrete and brick as far as the eye could see. I like green, and leaves, and bark, and dewy blades of grass.

7. Eye contact

This is something I’m still having to get used to again – people here look one another in the eye when they pass on the street! A lot of the time they even smile or say “hi!” Imagine! Humans… interacting with one another.

With that in mind…

8. Everyone on the bus knows each other

True story. Today, while on the bus, there were two people chatting with the bus driver like they were old friends. We drove past a house with an old man standing outside. The bus driver stops to say hi to this man. Then one of the women on the bus yells out that she wants the old man’s banana bread recipe. The driver then yells this out the door to the old man, and the whole bus proceeds to laugh. It was such a strange exchange to see!

I’ve been taking the bus for a few days now and it amazes me how all the regulars know each other, are nice to each other, and chat like old friends. One of the things I disliked the most about Toronto was how a people could cram in together on a subway car and not even make eye contact, let alone small talk. It was kind of inhuman. I don’t always feel chatty while on public transit, but it’s nice to know I won’t get told off for asking someone a question.

9. This face

IMG_6907

I know Archie is 14 years old now, but I don’t everever want him to leave me. Ever. The end.

10. Family

dad  momnana

Duh! Watching Survivor with my Dad, going to my mom’s for supper, or walking to my Nana’s after work. Being able to do these things, after years of living apart, is something I’ll never take for granted. In case you haven’t noticed, my family is pretty close and we all get along well. They’re the most important people in my life!

Shout out of course to my friends in Moncton too. Y’all know who you are :)

The only thing I don’t like about living at home? I need to drive!! I live in suburbia where a car is required to escape. I just got the okay from my surgeon to drive again, but I still have to wait to get my old Ford Focus put under my name and insured again. It’s only going to be 10 more days or so. But 10 more days of having to rely on others when I’m so used to being self sufficient is going to kiiiilllll me. Ah well! At least I have 10 other wonderful things to be thankful for :) Gotta keep positive to heal that arm!

Question of the Day: What’s one thing you love about where you live?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 487 other followers