Notes On The Weekend

My mom is in Florida for two weeks and left me with this rat:

IMG_6830

That would be Archie, my favourite miniature poodle, shaved!! Poor dear. His legs are so skinny and without the fluff he now sort of resembles Dobby the house elf. He has also started showing his 14 years. Not a spry pup anymore!

Friday night was spent cuddling with the above rat and watching the Food Network. I haven’t had that channel since university and could watch it all. day. long.

IMG_6835 

Saturday I was up early and found myself bored at 8am. The only logical thing to do was bake cookies. I went for a peanut butter recipe on the back of a Kraft peanut butter jar and it couldn’t be any simpler:

  • 1 cup peanut butter
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 egg

Mix until combined, roll into balls, flatten with a fork and bake at 325F for 15 minutes. I got 27 two-bite cookies out of this. Each one is 61 calories. That way, I can eat two and not feel bad ;)

Later in the morning I got to check out the new Dieppe farmer’s market with my dad. Dieppe is a small French city that sort of merges into Moncton. Blink and you’d never realize you were in a different city. The market was filled with baked goods, meats and international fare. I however opted for something a little more Francophone ;)

IMG_6836

Crêpes! Super thin and crispy with grapes, cantaloupe, strawberries, bananas, blueberries, nutella sauce and whipped cream.

Other market goodies included melt-in-your mouth sweet brown rolls.

IMG_6840

Eaten with pork and homemade baked beans from the market.

There’s also TWO German bakers at the Dieppe market.

IMG_6843

I love German baked goods. Rich chocolate cakes, apple strudel and cream cheese danishes. I had a little piece of each, of course!

It all provided the perfect fuel for a run. All this week I’ve been doing interval running to ease my body and heart back into running. I took two months off exercise once before. But throw a reconstructive surgery into the mix and my body does not bounce back nearly as fast. I love being able to run and exercise again, but I am starting at a much lower level of strength and endurance this time around. Building it back up is going to take longer than before. But hey – at least I can still do it!

IMG_6849

I got this Timex Sleek 50-lap watch a while back. I finally learned to use its interval function this weekend for my run. I programmed one for 2 minutes, my “fast” run interval, and the other for 1 minute, my “slow” walking interval. Instead of having to keep an eye on my wrist, it beeps when each interval is up before going to the next one. I loved it!

When not eating and running this weekend I also

1) Hung out with one of my best friends for the first time in a long time (hi Erika!)

2) Hung out with my Nana

3) Caught up on the last 8 episodes of this season’s America’s Next Top Model. (I actually like Alexandria. Anyone??)

IMG_6851

4) GOT A JOB!!!

I interviewed at a running store on Sunday and got the job on the spot. It’s a part-time position. After two months of not working I am SO excited to get back into it and make a paycheck again. I’m also super excited to meet all the runners in the area and talk running all day with customers again. It’s the same job I had and loved at a running store in Toronto.

For those of you wondering, I can’t do personal training in my current condition. I can only lift 2 lbs with my injured arm and my mobility is still significantly limited. It’s not feasible to work in a gym environment where I need to demonstrate exercises and safely spot my clients. At 2-3 years estimated recovery, I can’t sit around and wait to get better either. My physiotherapist told me I may never do push-ups again. I fully plan to prove that prediction wrong, but still.

A lot of people have asked about the possibility of having some kind of training business where I don’t actually do the training. But I’m not a manager! I like the hands-on aspects of jobs, not the sitting-down paperwork part.

So that my friends is that! Not a bad weekend if I do say so myself. This coming week brings a CT scan, a second meeting with my new surgeon, my first shift at the running store, lots of walks with the poodle, and more hang outs with friends and Nana :)

Question of the Day: What was the best part of your weekend? What are you most looking forward to in the coming week?

Posted on April 17, 2011, in Injury, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink. 21 Comments.

  1. The Teenage Taste

    Sounds like a great weekend! Congrats on the job – you must be so excited! :]

  2. I didn’t like Alexandria in the beginning but she’s growing on me now. :)

  3. I’m so pumped you got a job! That is rough in terms of the personal training aspect, but I firmly believe everything happens for a reason. You’re doing such a great job of keeping your head up!

  4. Congrats on your job! My best part of the week-end was to read Fire in the Heart from Deepak Chopra. It was somehow comforting, very inspiring. He is saying that if you know your soul, trust your soul, life can be sweet and everything is possible. For me, right now, my soul is telling me I’m gonna find a way to an healthier lifestyle that is right for me. I hear the same thing in you when you say you’ll do push-up again. Good luck!

  5. That is NOT Archie!! lol
    Nice job on that run:) I bet it does feel good to get back in it.
    And lastly – congrats on the job!

  6. Have fun with your little companion- he’s cute and almost as old as Samantha. She’s a bit of a cougar and likes dogs :-)

    Eek seriously 2-3 YEARS recovery? I know you’ll do pushups again. I know it. And congrats on the JOB!! Woooo!

  7. Let’s watch ANTM together. Alex is growing on me but I seriously like Britt the best. I’m kind of obessed with Tyra though to the max.

    Anywho-simple recipes are the way to go. That has always been my roll. I’m glad you got a new job! AWESOME!

  8. congrats on the new job!!!

  9. Congrats on the new job! It sounds like you are back on track…a new track maybe, but one that will be just as great. Also, that crepe looks so good. I’m a crepe fiend!

  10. Wow, you’ve already gotten yourself a job? Congrats!

    By the way, everything in this post looks super delicious. I’ve just had lunch but I’m craving some baked goods now! :)

  11. I hope your CT goes well!

    The best part of my weekend was a quickie romantic getaway complete with wine tasting, good food, hiking and a bike ride!

  12. Congrats on the job!! And I need to make those simple peanut butter cookies now!
    The best part of my weekend was a walk in the spring sunshine and watching last night’s Amazing Race.

  13. ahahaha i want to put that photo of archie as my screensaver! SO CUTE! hey, is archie sad now that his buddy is in heaven? is your mom going to get another pup at all? my heart goes out to lil archie because i know penny would just be heartbroken without mister longfellow. those market treats look SO tasty. oh and i use that same pb cookie recipe, but have always done 1c sugar. nice to know i can cut back to 1/2 c and they will still work.

    I LOVE YOU SUSAN

    • Yes, Archie is so depressed!! I thought bringing him into my dad’s house with Buddy and all the people would improve his mood, but it just scares him! Poor pup. My mom wants another dog, but she’s not sure about the long-term commitment of getting another one. I’m trying to convince her to get one with me and share custody between the houses :)

      P.S. Got your card, you’re a doll. Love you too!!! <3

  14. First off, I’m definitely jacking that recipe and making a sunflower butter version to finish up the jar I’ve been working on for ages. Secondly, my weekend was all about a hugh jass rock concert that blew my mind…I wish it were saturday again!

  15. I know I would like the hands on aspect much more too. I wouldn’t like not being involved with the people I’m helping. It’s the most rewarding part of a career like yours I imagine. :)

  16. I had a great weekend, after a rubbish and busy week. Hung out with my mates Friday night, made home made pizzas. Best thing was our local Food and Wine Fest on Sunday called AnnanRoma. Selection of local beers, some free, some only $2. Had a good mini-pizza supreme and a lamb kebab. And was brilliant time with my mates, who I’ve missed after working away from home lots.

    Congrats on the job Susan, hope it’s as fun as your TO one.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 487 other followers

