Daily Archives: April 17, 2011

Notes On The Weekend

My mom is in Florida for two weeks and left me with this rat:

IMG_6830

That would be Archie, my favourite miniature poodle, shaved!! Poor dear. His legs are so skinny and without the fluff he now sort of resembles Dobby the house elf. He has also started showing his 14 years. Not a spry pup anymore!

Friday night was spent cuddling with the above rat and watching the Food Network. I haven’t had that channel since university and could watch it all. day. long.

IMG_6835 

Saturday I was up early and found myself bored at 8am. The only logical thing to do was bake cookies. I went for a peanut butter recipe on the back of a Kraft peanut butter jar and it couldn’t be any simpler:

  • 1 cup peanut butter
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 egg

Mix until combined, roll into balls, flatten with a fork and bake at 325F for 15 minutes. I got 27 two-bite cookies out of this. Each one is 61 calories. That way, I can eat two and not feel bad ;)

Later in the morning I got to check out the new Dieppe farmer’s market with my dad. Dieppe is a small French city that sort of merges into Moncton. Blink and you’d never realize you were in a different city. The market was filled with baked goods, meats and international fare. I however opted for something a little more Francophone ;)

IMG_6836

Crêpes! Super thin and crispy with grapes, cantaloupe, strawberries, bananas, blueberries, nutella sauce and whipped cream.

Other market goodies included melt-in-your mouth sweet brown rolls.

IMG_6840

Eaten with pork and homemade baked beans from the market.

There’s also TWO German bakers at the Dieppe market.

IMG_6843

I love German baked goods. Rich chocolate cakes, apple strudel and cream cheese danishes. I had a little piece of each, of course!

It all provided the perfect fuel for a run. All this week I’ve been doing interval running to ease my body and heart back into running. I took two months off exercise once before. But throw a reconstructive surgery into the mix and my body does not bounce back nearly as fast. I love being able to run and exercise again, but I am starting at a much lower level of strength and endurance this time around. Building it back up is going to take longer than before. But hey – at least I can still do it!

IMG_6849

I got this Timex Sleek 50-lap watch a while back. I finally learned to use its interval function this weekend for my run. I programmed one for 2 minutes, my “fast” run interval, and the other for 1 minute, my “slow” walking interval. Instead of having to keep an eye on my wrist, it beeps when each interval is up before going to the next one. I loved it!

When not eating and running this weekend I also

1) Hung out with one of my best friends for the first time in a long time (hi Erika!)

2) Hung out with my Nana

3) Caught up on the last 8 episodes of this season’s America’s Next Top Model. (I actually like Alexandria. Anyone??)

IMG_6851

4) GOT A JOB!!!

I interviewed at a running store on Sunday and got the job on the spot. It’s a part-time position. After two months of not working I am SO excited to get back into it and make a paycheck again. I’m also super excited to meet all the runners in the area and talk running all day with customers again. It’s the same job I had and loved at a running store in Toronto.

For those of you wondering, I can’t do personal training in my current condition. I can only lift 2 lbs with my injured arm and my mobility is still significantly limited. It’s not feasible to work in a gym environment where I need to demonstrate exercises and safely spot my clients. At 2-3 years estimated recovery, I can’t sit around and wait to get better either. My physiotherapist told me I may never do push-ups again. I fully plan to prove that prediction wrong, but still.

A lot of people have asked about the possibility of having some kind of training business where I don’t actually do the training. But I’m not a manager! I like the hands-on aspects of jobs, not the sitting-down paperwork part.

So that my friends is that! Not a bad weekend if I do say so myself. This coming week brings a CT scan, a second meeting with my new surgeon, my first shift at the running store, lots of walks with the poodle, and more hang outs with friends and Nana :)

Question of the Day: What was the best part of your weekend? What are you most looking forward to in the coming week?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 486 other followers