Weekly Round Up

Heyo! Welcome to the weekend my friends :)

Thanks a bunch for all your support on my Bye Bye TO 10 post. As promised, I’ll be sharing some of my normal, run of the mill, weekly eats as I lose those pesky 10 lbs. I am not calorie counting or doing any crazy diets. Just trying to eat good, simple, mostly made at home food!

IMG_6735

It’s been a long time since I blogged a bowl of oatmeal. Mostly because I’ve been eating nothing but PB&J oats since 2009.

In a small pot, I put in 1/2 cup rolled oats + 1 cup water. I let that come to a simmer, then stir in 1/2 cup egg whites and a generous amount of cinnamon. Once the egg whites are added, I keep it at a slow simmer and stir frequently so it gets smooth & creamy. No chunky bits of egg allowed. Sometimes I pour in milk as I go. I like my oats thick and overcooked.

IMG_6738

Topped with a dollop of peanut butter and jam! This bowl fills me up until lunch every single time. It’s the protein in the egg whites that does it. Otherwise I’d be gnawing my arm off by 9am!

I’ve had a lot of early mornings this week with physio appointments and a job interview. So I’ve also been eating these Chocolate Peanut Butter Banana Oat Squares for breakfast and snacks on the go.

IMG_6772

Just like a baked version of oatmeal… right? ;)

My dad has this sheet of coupons on his fridge for donairs at Greco. Every time I go to open the fridge, I’m taunted by the delicious image of a greasy, meaty donair. Instead of rushing off to the nearest Greco to get one, I opted to make a better version at home this week.

IMG_6787

It never occurred to me to make these on my own until the Maritime Kitchen Party when I realized just how easy it is.

Donairs are a Maritime specialty, invented in Halifax, Nova Scotia and based off the idea of a doner kebab. It’s a lot like a gyro, but instead of a tangy tzatziki, it comes with sweet garlic sauce.

IMG_6785

Making the meat at home is SUPER easy. I use this recipe. You start by putting the spices in a mixing bowl. I didn’t use all of these, and substituted some based on what I had on hand:

  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon ground oregano
  • 1 teaspoon all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground black pepper
  • 1/2 teaspoon Italian seasoning
  • 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon onion powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper
  • 1 pound ground beef

IMG_6789

You mix the ground beef in with the spices and then pick it up and throw it on the counter. Do that 20 times, kneading it each time in between. It’s incredibly entertaining to do. I used extra lean ground beef, but I’m sure you could use bison or turkey if you wanted to.

IMG_6792

Bake at 350F for 75 minutes, turning halfway through. Donair shops slice the meat off vertical spits. Clearly I don’t have one of those at home, so this’ll do!

IMG_6797

The idea is actually to dry out the meat by overworking it. That way you can slice it into thin loaf-like pieces. I’ve heard putting the raw meat into a food processor works too.

IMG_6806

I need to work on my one-armed slicing skills.

IMG_6799

The meat is then stuffed into a pita with tomato, lettuce and onions. The best part though is the SAUCE.

IMG_6801

You can make the sauce at home using evaporated milk, sugar, vinegar and garlic. But stores in the Maritimes sell it by the bottle because we use it on everything. Especially good on top of pizza!!

IMG_6804

Take that Greco! No sketchy donair meat here. And fresh out of the oven, it was uh-mazing.

Last but not least, I got a package of Annie’s goodies from Danica the other day. We only have select Annie’s products in Canada so I was excited to see some new-to-me products!

IMG_6810

If I were to describe Annie’s, it would be like classic children’s food made healthier. Eating Annie’s microwave mac n’ cheese for dinner is totally acceptable ;)

IMG_6812

I added some brussels sprouts to green it up.

IMG_6815

Their powdered cheese is significantly less sketchy than Kraft.

IMG_6814

For my protein, I added a can of smoked herring.

IMG_6816

I know, I know. This probably grosses some of you out. Get over it ;) I usually add tuna to mac n’ cheese, but the smoky flavour of the fish was downright delicious with the cheesy noodles!

IMG_6821

The cheese sauce was a million times better than Kraft Dinner and there was more than enough in the packet to coat the noodles. No need to add extra cheese here!

IMG_6818

I’ve also been snacking on their new granola bars. My favourite flavour being peanut, obviously.

IMG_6824

They are pretty small. Here’s a size comparison using the back of my hand because I can’t rotate my left hand to face the ceiling!

IMG_6826

It’s actually the perfect size for when you need just a little sumthin’ to get you through to the next meal.

I used to religiously do three small meals + three large snacks a day. But my appetite significantly decreased when I stopped exercising after my accident. Now I do three larger meals a day with maybe one or two small snacks. This is how I ate my first 22 years of life and I think it’s the style that suits me best.

I really enjoy eating until full, then waiting until I’m hungry again to eat my next meal. Before with the 6 meals, I never felt satisfied after eating and ate when I didn’t really need to. It screwed up my hunger signals.

It’s all about finding what works best for your body. An individual way to keep yourself fuelled and satisfied without overeating. Seems like a lifelong process, doesn’t it?

Question of the Day: What’s the best thing you ate all week? Mine was actually a curried lentil soup from an organic store in Moncton called Dolma.

Posted on April 15, 2011, in Weekly Eats, Weight Loss. Bookmark the permalink. 18 Comments.

  1. in the uk a donar kebab is the staple for the end of a nights drinking/partying! yours looks amazing! plus much more nutritional. i will have to give it a go.

  2. The lasagna I ate last night was the best thing I ate all week. It was delicious and made me want to make my own!

  3. I always do 3 bigger meals and 1 or 2 smaller snacks now too…over the 6 mini meals. I feel so much more satisfied as well.

    I have never heard of donair!

  4. I’m loving the look of your PB&J oats. They look really good and I love the fact that you added some egg whites for protein. Protein-rich foods never fail to fill me up! :-)

  5. Oh wow, I love donairs but always wondered about the meat. Now I can do it myself.

    I am glad to hear you say you prefer waiting until you are hungry to eat your next meal. I am the same but I read so much about 6 small meals that I was beginning to think I was doing something wrong.

  6. Mine was the ten pounds of Kale I ate this week. I recently discovered it and I’m obsessed. No really.

    Your oats make me want to have oatmeal right now.

  7. I was away the past week for work, so I ate restaurant meals every night. I had a pizza at one of my fav joints in Melbourne, it was a small with pesto, prosciutto, olives and mozzarella. Loved it.

    I also went for my first 10+ km run Thursday arvo, got a blister after the first 5.5km :(

  8. oh boy, my favorite meal this week, it’d have to be the oats i had yesterday. they were delicious. i’ve missed oats, i’m having them again today, i’m going to add egg whites today.

  9. that annie’s dinner w brussels sprouts is so calling my name!

  10. That pita looks really good. My favorite meal this week was last night. I threw some spinach into some leftover homemade spaghetti sauce to have with penne last night–so good.

  11. I think I should try this egg white oat thing- I’m glad to know I’m not the only one who doesn’t find that oatmeal (even with added PB) sticks with me for very long.

    The best thing I ate all week was black-eyed pea, Louisiana sausage and Swiss chard stew, eaten with a fresh baguette. Mmmmmmm

  12. I’ve seen Annie’s Mac and Cheese at the Superstore organic section in Quispamsis. Have you looked there?

  13. Those oatmeal squares look too good to be true! I’ve been making some mean smoothies this week and topping them with salted peanuts! So good x x

  14. The donair looks delish! My husband will be glad if we try and make those this week. My indulgence this week was animal crackers, love those little cookies, I don’t buy them often, because they are just like the chips, you can’t just have one (serving)!

  15. I’m doing the six small meals thing but I’m thinking of switching it to 5 slightly larger ones, and then hopefully transitioning to 3 with a small snack. I hate the feeling of finishing a meal and still being hungry!

    Oh and in regards to your other posts, you know I’m down to see how this all works out for you, friend. And your attitude is a hell of a lot healthier than mine is right now. I’m trying SO hard and not getting anywhere, but to he totally honest I think the BLTs are doing me in.

    And one more thing…I just cook the egg whites on the side of my oats because I CANNOT seem to cook them in the oats without the gaggy chunks. Maybe because I use real egg whites and not the carton kind?

  16. Those donairs look amazing! After being brought up on donairs, the doner kebab just doesn’t cut it…and I’m reasonably certain there is no real meat in the doner kebab!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 487 other followers

