Daily Archives: April 7, 2011

Family Matters

First things first! I have a winner to announce! The winner of the RUB-A535 giveaway is Jessie from Graze With Us! You know the drill Jessie, send me you mailing address and you’ll get the goodies :)

Anyways, in other news, I just got back from a two-day stint in my old stomping grounds in Fredericton. I was there for my uncle’s funeral. My mother’s brother recently passed away from brain cancer. Actually, the exact same form of cancer as Eden’s dad.

Being there for the event was very surreal, to say the least. But as I said before, the small silver lining is that times like these brings family together like none other.

IMG_0128

My three cousins (my uncle’s children) are almost the same age as my sisters and I. We spent lots of time together growing up as kids, but as adults it’s now a rare occasion that the six of us are together!

We all went out to lunch and sat around my grandmother (my uncle’s mother). We joked at the realization that all of us, between the ages of 25 and 32, are unmarried and without children. And probably aren’t getting there anytime soon. There goes the family line ;)

IMG_0130

My Nana’s sister travelled down from the North Shore to support her big sister on the day. It was so cute to see them together. My Nana comes from a family of six women. It’s created a pretty interesting dynamic in my family, to say the least.

IMG_0132

And here are three generations of the Flanagan women! My Nana, mom, sister Sara, sister Jane, and myself. Sara and Jane travelled from out of province and it was soooo nice to have the three of us together again if only briefly. Everyone says we are obvious sisters – one woman even thought we were triplets!

A trip back to my old university city is not complete without a visit to some of my old watering holes. My sisters, cousins and I went out Wednesday to the Snooty Fox for half prize appetizers.

IMG_6630

One of the great things about being back home is having access to some of my favourite beers again! Including the shown Pumphouse Blueberry Ale with little blueberries thrown in.

Then we went a little nuts with the half price apps. We were starving and our judgement clouded. Brace yourself. Greasy pub fare ahead.

IMG_6636

Mozza sticks and marinara.

IMG_6638

Parmesan garlic chicken wings.

IMG_6632

Spinach artichoke dip with pita wedges. Aka a bowl of melted cheese with a touch of spinach. I LOVE this stuff. I would like to just put my face in it.

IMG_6633

And then there’s the reason why I gained 20 lbs in university… The Snooty Fox nachos. A mountain of fried tortilla chips, bruschetta, jalapeños and cheese. The best part is the spicy seasoning they put on it.

IMG_6634

It was a somewhat early night, allowing me to drag my sorry butt to the hotel gym this morning. Forty-five minutes on the elliptical didn’t undo the damage, but starting the day on fresh footing certainly helps.

Definitely a weird past two days. But as we kept saying while there, it’s all about living in the present. It’s all about jumping on the opportunities life gives us. Right this very second I’m at my mom’s while she prepares spaghetti and garlic fingers for dinner. And it’s a good present to be in :)

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 486 other followers