Daily Archives: March 27, 2011

Homecoming

I’m hoooooome!!

IMG_6422

Shot of the Northumberland Straight as we landed in Moncton this afternoon. Aahhh, love that Atlantic Maritime water :)

My scheduled move home couldn’t have come at a better time. We just had a death in the family and I am relieved to be near my mom and Nana right now. After a year with brain cancer, my beloved Uncle Robert passed away late Friday afternoon. It’s hard to watch my mom grieve the loss of her brother and my grandmother the loss of her son.

IMG_6424

That’s me (left) and my cousin Ellen on Robert’s lap. Ellen was my best friend growing up, and seeing her lose her dad is a heartache I can’t describe. Robert was a rock in my family and losing him is a great loss. 

I was with my sister Sara in Ottawa when we heard the news. I can’t emphasize enough how important it is to have family around. We woke up on Saturday talking about what we could do to ease our spirits that day. Obviously, we both agreed on brunch.

IMG_6410

A place that specializes in scones? Yesplease.

IMG_6396

It was very small inside. Maybe seven or so tables. You order and pay first, then they bring it to you.

IMG_6393

The menu!

IMG_6389

IMG_6391

I was torn between getting a brunch dish or a “sconewitch.” In the end, breakfast food won over, it always does!

IMG_6392

Then there’s always the lifelong debate over sweet & savoury. I actually prefer my scones cheesy or spicy, so I went for cheddar.

IMG_6395

Got my “sweet” elsewhere instead ;)

IMG_6394

$1 brownies at the cash register. SO dangerous. Was a wonderful, fudgey appetizer while we waited for our orders.

IMG_6397

Plus my third coffee of the day. Don’t judge. I’ve been stress-drinking tea and coffee lately. And chocolate (as exhibited above).

IMG_6398 

T’was brewed pretty strong!

IMG_6404

Sister Sara went for a sweet scone – Vanilla Cream with Blueberry & Raspberry jam. I had a bite and it was diviiiiine.

IMG_6402

I on the other hand went the eggs & ham route, piled high on my cheddar scone.

IMG_6406

The scone, while giant by my usual standards, was flaky, buttery, dense and everything a good scone should be. The scrambled eggs were actually way better than I’ve ever made them at home, and the ham of good quality. They give pretty good fruit on the side too. My only complaint about the place is the tables are too small. Not comfortable to eat at!

IMG_6400

Me and my big sis! With a certain blonde missing… (middle sister Jane). I’ll be seeing her again soon though for the funeral. The one silver lining in death is that it brings family together in a way that rarely ever happens.

Even though I’ll be living with my dad here at home, I’m currently staying at my mom’s place. I may be going over to my Nana’s too. You know, just to “be around.” To be supportive during this initial period of grief and distract them by making messes with my one arm. Everyone wants to fret over my other injured arm.

Despite everything, it certainly feels good to be home.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 487 other followers