The Burger, The Croissant and The Cookie

First things first, here’s what my elbow is looking like today:

IMG_6388

I need to get another surgery in about six months to take out that bottom screw. They put a big one in there to make sure it held, but it will hit my other bone once I’m able to move my arm again.

To quote my surgeon: “Your elbow is holding together well given the likelihood it could fall apart.” Awesome.

I’ll have to continue regular follow-ups with a surgeon in Moncton to ensure that it indeed does not fall apart.

I also need to step up the physio and work on moving it more. Which I’ve only been doing gently so far because it’s so painful to do.

Overall, I didn’t leave the appointment feeling great. But there’s also nothing I can do to make it magically better. Just gotta wait it out I guess!

Anyways, in order to start fresh in New Brunswick next week (!!!) I have a few more “bloggables” from the Tee Dot I’m going to handily wrap up all in one post.

Three places: A burger place, a bakery, and a Holy experience. Let’s get started, shall we?

1. The Burger

IMG_5988

You may remember back in December when my roommie and I checked out The Burger’s Priest. A teeny tiny burger joint in the East End that has burger enthusiasts foaming at the mouth. I liked it a lot, but I didn’t love it. I feel like I still needed to find “my” burger in Toronto. 

IMG_5977

Great Burger Kitchen at Gerrard and Jones is supposedly also one of the best. Megan and I came here on a whim one Sunday evening because that’s what we did when we had spare time and no recipes to be made at home.

IMG_5980

We may have gone home after and watched Rockstar Supernova circa 2006. We may have re-watched the whole Rockstar INXS series at one point too. Watching old reality TV shows is fun. You feel like you’re from the future.

IMG_5979

Anyways, GBK. It looked like they had great poutines. I can’t confirm this as I was after the meat only.

IMG_5986

I had the classic burger which comes with lettuce, tomato, red onion, ketchup, mustard and pickles.

IMG_5992

Made with all natural Ontario beef served on a bun from the well known local joint Brick Street Bakery.

First, the patty. Flavour-wise it was all there. I loved how thick it was, compared to the thin and salty patties at The Burger’s Priest. It was however a touch too dry for my tastes.

IMG_5993

Also, the patty-to-bun ratio borderlines absurd. Don’t get me wrong, I loved the bun. Actually, it was probably the best hamburger bun I’ve ever had. White, fluffy, but sturdy enough not to crumble in the presence of the burger. But it was twice the size of the patty. I’d say half my bites were easily bun only and contained no meat.

IMG_5994

FYI: eating giant hamburgers with one hand is tricky business. I could probably teach a class on eating with one hand by this point.

2. The Croissant.

IMG_6332

Right. So y’all know I have this undeterred fondness for pastry wrapped in butter. I never specifically set out to find the best croissant in Toronto. Amazing croissants are the kind of thing that find you, ya know?

IMG_6316

But again, in my intense foodie research, I found that Clafouti on Queen West was consistently praised for their croissants.

IMG_6318

I walked in on a late Sunday morning after brunch not sure of what goodies would be left.

IMG_6319

Roommie Megan snatched up the Chocolate Banana Peanut Butter Croissant. Ohyes. But I had my eyes on something else.

IMG_6322

An almond croissant. I feel like apart from chocolate and butter, almond croissants are about as “classic” as you can get. And I’ve never had one!

IMG_6338

I tucked it away in my purse, having just scarfed down brunch and all, and gingerly pulled it out come dinnertime. Okay, I only made it till 4pm.

IMG_6339

The croissant easily broke in half, each side coated with a sweet almond paste. Nothing like the marzipan found in chocolates. This was a like a nutty, sugary, dreamy spread.

IMG_6343

The centre of the croissant was soft, but dense! And a little tough on the outsides. I’m not sure if all almond croissants are this thick. I’m better versed in the airy, flaky, greasy sorts. Overall though, it was a damn good croissant. I polished it off with an apple and called it a balanced meal.

3. The Cookie.

IMG_6325

Remember when my sister took me to Le Gourmand at Queen & Spadina?

She actually brought me there for croissants, which I will say were quite good. But I spotted these trays of cookies and knew they were mine. Walking past there the other day I popped in to get the cookie that’s been calling my name ever since. They only had chocolate chip and chocolate chip walnut. I went with the latter.

IMG_6327

I brought it home and immediately broke a piece off to taste. An inch thick and almost the size of my hand, one cookie is actually equal to about four. It was SO soft. With the perfect sized little chocolate chips. I thought about it for the rest of the night.

IMG_6329

The next morning I took another piece at zapped it in the microwave. It was at that point I melted into a giant puddle in the middle of my kitchen floor. Just like Alex Mack. I was in confectionary heaven.

So that ends my torrid tales of foodie adventures in Toronto. Just in time too, because my last pair of jeans are starting to get tight. Now it’s time shape up and get cooking in my brand new kitchen. Which you’ll have to wait till Sunday to see. Have a great weekend!

Posted on March 25, 2011, in Restaurants, Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Ben would die for that croissant. Die. Like, if he read the description we would road trip it to Canada tomorrow.

  2. I love that you’re Canadian and say y’all. Makes me happy. :)

    So amazing to see the screws in your elbow. I’m sorry I’m so behind on your life Susan – didn’t realize you’d had such a serious injury, and you’re moving to New Brunswick? Sounds like I’ve got some catching up to do.

    Looks like you’re enjoying your last few days in Toronto. I want a melted chunk of that cookie!

  3. I am happy your visit went decently well…all things considered. No magic solutions…but not having to have immediate surgery is awesome!

    Hang in there Susan!

  4. I’ve been obsessed with good almond paste in croissants ever since I discovered them a few yrs ago. Sooo dreamyyy, you’re right.

  5. I usually go for the Chocolatine (chocolate wrapped in buttery croissant? Yes please!) but you’ve made a case for the almonds…the next time I decide to indulge, I may have to try the almond croissant.

    I hope the move goes well

  6. Almond croissants are amazing. I want a bite please!

    You had so many yummy foodie adventures. Can’t wait to see your new kitchen!

  7. Everyone single one of those things look heavenly. I think just your photo skills help too.

  1. Pingback: It’s Burger Season « The Great Balancing Act

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 486 other followers

