Check Ya Later T.O.

Well my friends, I officially say goodbye to Toronto Thursday morning. I’m taking a train to Ottawa for my final check-in with my surgeon on Friday. Then I fly home on Sunday where I’ll be staying… For good!

When I first decided to move home around Christmastime, this is certainly not the goodbye I had anticipated. I planned on working until the last minute and tearing the city up in my spare time.

Instead, I’ve spent three of my last six weeks in Ottawa recovering from surgery and meeting with doctors. The days I have spent in Toronto have been noticeably low key. Read: no partying in the big city (not that I, ugh, like to, ugh, party or anything).

In some ways though, my injury has been a bit of a blessing. I haven’t been able to work or workout during these last weeks. Instead, I’ve spent many hours walking around the neighbourhoods of Toronto soaking it all in. I’ve spent a lot of time in my own neighbourhood, which I never really did before. I leave feeling quite relaxed, even if it’s without a bang.

Tuesday night, my roommies and I hosted a “Susan’s Leaving” potluck.

IMG_6372

This is the only picture of the three of us! Megan, me, Jocelyn. Ignore me awkwardly holding my injured arm.

As a side note, I’m wearing this sweater. I love it. Expensive, and worth every single penny. Makes staying warm with my injured arm a million times easier.

IMG_6359

Anyways, the potluck. We ended up with tons of great food, despite the fact that everyone showed up with bread.

IMG_6360

I think we had four loaves? Earlier in the day, Meg had the last minute idea to cook meat. Thank god she did. These pork chops were the only protein we had! Ever notice that no one brings protein to potlucks?

IMG_6362 

Pardon the blurry pics. This isn’t everything, just a few highlights!

IMG_6361

Balsamic strawberries. Saucy chickpeas.

IMG_6364

My best hummus yet:

IMG_6363

2 cans chickpeas + 1 jar Classico pesto + 2 cloves garlic + a dash of lemon juice + a handful of fresh basil leaves. Seriously, make this now. So flipping easy.

IMG_6365

Tabbouleh! I had a bag of bulgur in my cupboard I’d been stressed about using up before I leave. Now instead of a bag of bulgur, I have a ginormous bowl of tabbouleh. Not sure how I feel about that trade-off.

IMG_6358

Beer!! Can you believe I have not had a single drink since the Maritime Kitchen Party? My accident happened the weekend after that, and drinking since then has been dicey. I made sure I didn’t take any painkillers for 24 hours before this party so I could indulge in a brew! Callie brought me this Blue Moon from the States. I may or may not have squealed when I saw it :)

IMG_6368

My plate! A little bit of everything. Of course, the best part was dessert…

IMG_6370

These cookies made by Callie were definitely the highlight of the party. A soft chocolate cookie stuffed with marshmallow fluff and topped with a peanut butter frosting. Basically, my dream cookie.

Afterwards my friends and I went to a sketchy bar down the street called The Duke. Best known for a fatal shooting that happened there a few years ago. It’s a class act. We spent most of the night talking about journalism-y things seeing as most of us are ex J-schoolers. I’m going to miss my old university friends here in Toronto!!

But if there’s one place that I had to go to in my ‘hood before leaving, it was Strat’s.

IMG_6374

Stratenger’s was one of the first places I ate at in Toronto (read here) and now it will be my last! It’s not necessarily a classy joint either. Just a big, comfortable bar with pretty good food.

IMG_6383 

I’ve only ever had their salads, but I’ve heard lots about their pizzas. Cooked in a stone pizza oven. Today was the day to try one!

IMG_6378

Megan and I split the Tandoori Chicken with spicy chicken pieces and hot peppers. Wonderfully spicy, flavourful sauce, lots of cheese and extra crispy crust. Pretty damn good actually.

IMG_6381

Nothing too exciting for my last day in Toronto, but it’s just the way I wanted it. These last nine months have been some of the most intense of my life. I’m looking forward to being home again and getting back into the relaxed pace of the Maritimes :)

As side note, thank you for all the encouraging comments on my last post. I just want to say, I did not write that post for sympathy. I know you all know me better than that. It was just a topic weighing very heavily on my mind, and writing it out felt good!

See you from Ottawa!!

Posted on March 23, 2011, in Restaurants and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 16 Comments.

  1. Mmmm! Blue Moon! Love that beer.

  2. Best of luck on your travel there AND the dr’s visit!

    Your last post…I live with chronic pain, as we’ve discussed via email. Nothing that can really be done for mine. Long term, it just is what it is. That’s why yoga is such a gift…not only physically but the mental/emotional/spirtual benefits help me stay strong.

    Here’s a big hug to you!!
    xoxo

  3. safe travels.

    i’m glad you have the time to soak in t.o – it’s always sad leaving places.

  4. :( so sad I missed you last night

    all the more reason that Callie should volunteer to drive us on a roadtrip to see you

  5. Gah! I wish I could have been there! I’m so sad you’re leaving but I have always wanted to visit the East Coast (again…apparently…). Have a safe trip, girl!

  6. Safe travels Susan! It looks like your last day in TO was a good one. Let me know if you’re ever coming back for a visit and I will make an effort to be there!

  7. Looks like you had a great tail end of your trip! Delicious looking eats, how sweet of your friends to hold a potluck for you- sad I couldn’t make it!

    Safe travels, hope to see you again soon!
    xo

  8. Looks like a good last day in the city! Good luck at the doctor and in the next stage of your adventure!

  9. Have a safe and smooth move! Looks like the perfect way to spend a last day in Toronto- potlucks are the best! :)

  10. cookies with fluff and PB?? sounds like your friends know you all too well :)

    i know the last few weeks in toronto have not exactly been what you imagined but it sounds to me that you are going to be very happy moving home AND you can always, always go back and visit!

  11. Safe travels! Looks like you went out with a bang, I am sure your friends and roomies will miss you dearly.

  12. Safe home! Maybe “out with a bang” is overrated. Better to savor that time as best you can :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 485 other followers

