Daily Archives: March 4, 2011

Cookie Lovers Anonymous

IMG_5898

I made a bit of a mistake yesterday.

You see, since I can’t do vigorous exercise right now, I’ve been trying to get out walking for an hour every day. Thing is, walking can be kind of boring. Hence the need to give my long ambles some form of purpose. Errands. Things like buying gum. Or diet coke. Or in yesterday’s case, chocolate and tea.

Then I found this place:

IMG_5894

Mary MacLeods Shortbread. A store dedicated to my third favourite cookie in the world. A love passed on from my great-great-Nana Susan MacLeod from the Isle of Skye. Shortbread is often ignored for it’s fancier, chewier cookie cousins. But when done right, a good shortbread is anything but bland. It’s a drop of silky heaven.

I wanted just one. A plain shortbread. Few things are greater than a buttery shortbread that is soft on first bite, then crumbles with each following nibble. Really, it’s just my obsession with butter.

I left with seven.

IMG_5880

I blame it on the minimum $10 debt purchase. But I think I may be an easy sell. Put me in a sweet smelling cookie shop and all sense of reason flies out the window. Stores that smell like that should be illegal. Or at least take ID at the door.

I ended up with coffee crunch shortbread…

IMG_5882

Dutch chocolate crunch shortbread…

IMG_5883

Their “signature” chocolate crunch shortbread…

IMG_5885

Hazelnut crunch shortbread…

IMG_5887

Rolled coconut shortbread…

IMG_5893

And the traditional shortbread…

IMG_5890

Where’s the seventh cookie you ask? There was also a whole wheat almond one. But it, erm, didn’t make it to the photoshoot.

I’m in trouble dear friends. Please help me with these cookies. I don’t have the time to work them off with 12 hours of non vigorous walking exercise. There should be a support group or this kind of thing.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 487 other followers