Same City, New Life

I’m back in Toronto!

My four day getaway to visit my sister in Ottawa turned into nearly 20 days involving a hospital stay, surgery, and manymany episodes of How I Met Your Mother.

I LOVE that show.

Anyways, I’m back in the big city now. Feels weird returning to this space after so much has changed. No jobs to go to. A shattered arm. Realizing all my belongings need to be packed up sooner rather than later.

IMG_5850

My 4.5 hour train ride back went well. I had to take a crowded bus by myself which was stressful with two bags + one arm. I didn’t even bother with public transportation when I got in (which I love to hate) and immediately hopped in a cab to my apartment.

I did well finding my way around my sister’s one bedroom apartment while in Ottawa. Now I’m trying to adjust to being in my own apartment with my new situation. It’s weird. Really weird.

It is however nice to be with my roommies again. I missed them!

IMG_5870

Roommie Megan even saved me a couple of her Valentine’s Day brownies in the freezer. I forgot about them! I was as high as a kite on pain meds on Valentine’s Day. So they were a pleasant surprise ;) I believe she got the recipe here.

The roommie reunion continued last night, eating burritos and watching Exit Through The Gift Shop. Awesome film. Even better burrito.

IMG_5861

From Chino Locos on Queen & Greenwood. Sort of like Mexican burritos, but with an Asian flare. I got the fish burrito with white baha fish, chow mein noodles, black beans, edamame, onions, peppers, tomatoes, sour cream, cheese, cilantro and chipotle sauce. The noodles were a million times better than rice in terms of texture and flavour. I got the mild and it was still pretty spicy. Good amount of fish too. Definitely the best burrito I’ve ever had!

It’s also weird being in Toronto and not having a gazillion jobs to go to. I’m used to rushing around all over the place. I don’t think I’ve gone more than a day without leaving my neighbourhood since moving here.

IMG_5856

So I’ve been celebrating with unemployment pancakes. Pancakes become unemployment pancakes with the act of eating them for lunch. Preferably while wearing flannel pants and watching videos on YouTube.

Another thing I missed about Toronto was my wardrobe! I was in Ottawa for almost three weeks with only a weekend’s worth of clothing. A lot of which I couldn’t wear with the full arm cast.

IMG_5876

I’ve been reunited with this loose sweater my Aunt Heather gave me (hi!) that drapes perfectly over my cast. As well as my large collection of comfortable easy-to-pull-on workout attire. And yes, I wear leggings as pants. Deal with it.

I’m in Toronto until next Thursday when I travel to Ottawa to meet with my surgeon again. He’s not keen on transferring me to a Toronto doctor, nor am I keen on dealing with a surgeon who isn’t familiar with my specific case. Until then, I plan on crossing a few more items off my Toronto bucket list, relaxing in my own bed, and hanging out with my Toronto friends for the last time.

Yup. Just totally feels weird.

Posted on March 3, 2011, in Restaurants, Reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 31 Comments.

  1. OH you poor thing! I just want to give you a big hug.

    Things are hard right now and changes are weird, but you have a smile on your face and you’re taking control of your life! That’s great!

    Um…not sure about that burrito thing…Part of me really wants it and part of me is scared about the Mexican/Asian mix…. :)

  2. So since I won’t be able to take you there on my next visit I have to HEARTILY recommend that your Toronto Bucket List include Mezes on the Danforth!!!! http://www.mezes.ca/

  3. I wear leggings as pants too… love the sweater. I want one!

  4. Did you like the brownies?! And you got it, they were a Smitten Kitchen find.

    • Yes!! I practiced self restraint and only ate half of one. I really like the white part!

      • Yeah she was right in her description of the recipe. Usually white chocolate brownies just aren’t as good as semi-sweet, but I think these ones are totally on par with one another.

        I bought a star-shaped cookie cutter, too so I can make non-Vday ones :-)

  5. I wear leggings like it’s my job. I think you will enjoy living back to your roots and I’m sure I speak for the whole blogging universe that we just want to see you happy. :)

  6. Susan I gotta say, you’re looking hot in that outfit. And it’s a brilliant photo also with the painted tree and the leaves, you really standout.

    I’d try and stay in-touch with your Ottawa surgeon, if there is anything you dont like or not sure of then you should give him a call.

    • Thank you Paul! I will definitely be keeping in touch with my Ottawa surgeon. I suspect he’ll want to keep a close eye on me too… He said putting the shattered pieces of my elbow back together was one of the toughest surgeries he’s done!

  7. I’ve been following along but haven’t commented, and just wanted to (finally!) say be well, and good luck navigating the changes ahead! You’re strong, and you obviously have a great support system.

    And I totally live in workout gear and/or leggings. I work it :)

  8. Leggings as pants are the best. You look great!! :)

    PS Those pancakes look sooooo good. Eating breakfast for anything other than breakfast makes it taste so much better.

  9. Leggings as pants is the best. I wish I could wear leggings to work.

  10. you look really beautiful! and wasn’t exit thru the gift shop the greatest?!!?

  11. your purple shawl is gorgeous!

    and that pic with the brownies, super artsy, love the brown/white, wood table, etc. GREAT!

    And your life must feel SO SURREAL right now. All the changes. And now…you’re leaving. I felt that way about Phoenix. The entire 9 mos i was there was one big surreal experience. I could go on and on..

    Anyway, happy packing! And you won’t even be able to pack your own stuff. Which is not the worst thing…packing is not really a fun job :)

  12. Your hair is getting long, it sure is pretty! That outfit looks super comfy, the shawl is a great color. I hope you enjoy the rest of your short time left in T-dot even if it one-armed ;)

  13. Whoa! Hotness! I love that picture of you

  14. Leggings with pants is amazing, I don’t care what anyone says :P

    Glad you’re back in the city, can’t wait to see you tonight!

    xo

  15. Do I have to be unemployed to have unemployment pancakes? Because I’d like some right this second! I hope you enjoy your last little while in Toronto and manage to squeeze in all that you still want to do – but take it easy as well! :)

  16. That Asian-y burrito looks really good! Never heard of such a thing, but I’m intrigued!

  17. I must admit I’m not sure about that asian burrito but I’ll trust your word that it’s good!

    Ahhh…leggings. Wish I could wear them. Sadly, I’m much too pear shaped to be taken seriously in them. I do love yoga pants though! :)

  18. I love that sweater! Dare I say, it even looks great with the sling! ;) I’m still so impressed with the fact that you can cook with one hand!

  19. i can imagine how weird it must be to be back in toronto…probably feels like a whole different lifetime, huh?? sounds like your roommates were happy to have you back. brownies = majorly adorable!

    speaking of adorable, i love everything about your outfit. SO CUTE!

  20. It really mist feel weird to be back there. Enjoy going through the bucket list!

    Did you read anything about Exit through the Gift Shop? What do you think- real or hoax? I honestly wouldn’t be shocked either way…

    • Ooooh, no, I haven’t read anything about it! That hoax idea is interesting though. Knowing Banksy as an artist, I can see him making it as some form of statement…

  21. Thats such a lovely picture of you!!!!

  22. you look GORGEOUS! i don’t know if its the purple or the what, but you look stunning my friend :)

  23. ooohhh and i want that burrito. like now!!!

  1. Pingback: The One About The Pancake | The Great Balancing Act

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 487 other followers

