Things I Learned The Month I Broke

How to ask for help. I’m incredibly stubborn and independent at times. Asking for help doesn’t make me weak, but rather makes my life more liveable.

Family is number one. Always.

I’m stronger than I thought. You can never predict how you’ll react in a situation until you actually have to go through it. Truth is, in the moment you don’t get the chance to reflect on how you want to react. You just do things the only way you know how. It’s survival.

Humans are incredibly adaptable. My sister keeps saying she can’t believe the things I am doing with one hand. But the learning process has been quick. I wouldn’t say I’m used to it, but I’m learning to live with it.

Ponytails are very important to me. On the flipside, there are a few things I just can’t do with one hand no matter how hard I try. Of those things, the inability to put my ever-growing hair into a ponytail frustrates me the most.

Teen dramas from the 1990s are way underrated. Am I right??

IMG_5763

I can go 40 hours without food. Thanks to a saline drip and regular injections of narcotic painkillers.

I’m getting older. There’s something about that 25 year mark that made me start to realize the physical changes of aging. Most recently, the beating my body took after going to a punk show.

IMG_5422

I’m not as waffle adept as I boast to be. Evidenced by a few waffle scrambles over the past month…

IMG_5472

You can take the Maritimers out of the Maritimes, but you can’t take the Maritimes out of the Maritimers.

IMG_5579

Remember the big picture. Not just in terms of time. I know even though my recovery seems like a long time now, it will just be a blip on the radar many years from now. But my situation really isn’t that bad. I will get better. The big picture is that I have loved ones who won’t.

Surgery is scary. And something I never, ever want to go through again.

Peanut butter and honey isn’t just for sandwiches!

IMG_5499

Anyone can do yoga. And that includes me, with my full arm cast. When my accident first happened, I was most upset about not being able to participate in the Power of Movement fundraiser. Then about not being able to do yoga at all. But that last part is not true. Because a yoga practice is what you make of it, and that’s why anyone can really do it.

The Rideau Canal should be renamed to the Carnage Canal. I’m only joking.

Sort of.

Don’t leave your elbow pads at home!!!! Seriously, why did I just wear knee pads on that fateful day?

Staying upbeat is sometimes really, really hard. As a person with a history of anxiety and depression, I easily fall prey to feeling sorry for myself. I am always battling with feelings of wanting to give up. I need to dig deep and remember this attitude doesn’t help anything.

Even when it feels like the world stops, life does in fact go on. With every passing minute.

Bionic jokes get old.

xray

Just sayin’.

 

What did you learn this month?

Posted on February 28, 2011, in Injury, Lessons Learned and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 15 Comments.

  1. Such a beautiful post! You have such an amazing attitude through this, and I love the Maritime spirit!! (I’m of Irish/Maritime blood and have the drinking capabilities to prove it)

    This month I learnt I need to let loose and enjoy life, it really is too short.

  2. What a great post! I love monthly/yearly reflection posts. Really make you think about things.

    I learned that my body really loves to eat more fat! That has been fun :D

  3. I was such a Dawson’s Creek fan. Loved the show! I’ve learned that focusing too much on self can lead to self-obsessiveness (and not in a good way). It’s not all about ‘you.’

  4. You are still my idol waffle maker Susan! I bet they are still amazingly tasty! (I’d mail you one of I could :)

    I’m glad to know you are recovering well. I just fractured my heels so I’m in the stage too. Not nearly as severe but you are truly amazing.

  5. I too learned that I am stronger than I think I am.

    Happiness takes courage sometimes.

  6. Those are good lessons (minus the scary surgery). Learning just how strong you are and that you’re a survivor is a definite good one to learn. Despite your current frustrations remember just how strong you are!

  7. I learned that YOU are amazing. That I am proud to know you.

    I learned that I can work my a$$ off, climb out of credit card debt, save money, be a mom, and do it all with a smile. Most days :)

  8. I think it’s great how much you’ve learned from your situation, despite your injury.

    This month I learned how much yoga has a positive affect on me, and how I never want to let it slip from my life again. (And I agree with you- you CAN still do yoga! Work it!)

    Hope to see you this week/end!

    xo

  9. greensandjeans

    I’ve learned that amazing things come when you least expect it and that sometimes you have to be brave and jump in with both feet.

  10. Great life lessons! These are always fun posts! I had to laugh at your being 25 and feeling your age at punk shows! Try being 32 in the mosh pit at a Slayer show! I came out with all my teeth…two girls I saw weren’t so lucky! lol!

    I’m starting to wonder if my lesson for the month wasn’t that I should really watch this Dawson’s Creek you speak of? :)

    I still think how well you are dealing with recovery is so motivating and awesome!

  11. The past month has taught me how emotionally resilient I really am. And how strong the power of prayer really is.

  12. I really love your attitude and your willingness to embrace the challenges you’ve had to face these past few weeks. I hope you continue to stay strong and positive on your road to recovery :)
    As someone with metal plates in her arm, I’m with you 100% on the fact that bionic jokes get old, fast!

  13. Oh I am totally with you on the injuries. I have had 3 ankle surgeries (none of them elective, thanks!) and it was so hard getting around. I feel for you being stuck in a stupid cast and feeling a bit blue.

    It does get better though, and it actually goes by pretty quickly (thanks, vicodin!)

    Hang in there. I had my screws removed and the dr gave them to me as a momento. Uhm, thanks?

  14. Great post Susan.. you totally get me reflecting on my own life!

    I am learning that things don’t have to be perfect all the time… and sometimes the only one who notices or cares about the effort you put in is you! Chill out Steph! : )

  15. susan – i cannot even tell you how amazing i am by your positive demeanor and ability to laugh at it all. keep on hanging in there girl – i can’t wait to see where life brings you next!!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 486 other followers

