Daily Archives: February 28, 2011

Things I Learned The Month I Broke

How to ask for help. I’m incredibly stubborn and independent at times. Asking for help doesn’t make me weak, but rather makes my life more liveable.

Family is number one. Always.

I’m stronger than I thought. You can never predict how you’ll react in a situation until you actually have to go through it. Truth is, in the moment you don’t get the chance to reflect on how you want to react. You just do things the only way you know how. It’s survival.

Humans are incredibly adaptable. My sister keeps saying she can’t believe the things I am doing with one hand. But the learning process has been quick. I wouldn’t say I’m used to it, but I’m learning to live with it.

Ponytails are very important to me. On the flipside, there are a few things I just can’t do with one hand no matter how hard I try. Of those things, the inability to put my ever-growing hair into a ponytail frustrates me the most.

Teen dramas from the 1990s are way underrated. Am I right??

IMG_5763

I can go 40 hours without food. Thanks to a saline drip and regular injections of narcotic painkillers.

I’m getting older. There’s something about that 25 year mark that made me start to realize the physical changes of aging. Most recently, the beating my body took after going to a punk show.

IMG_5422

I’m not as waffle adept as I boast to be. Evidenced by a few waffle scrambles over the past month…

IMG_5472

You can take the Maritimers out of the Maritimes, but you can’t take the Maritimes out of the Maritimers.

IMG_5579

Remember the big picture. Not just in terms of time. I know even though my recovery seems like a long time now, it will just be a blip on the radar many years from now. But my situation really isn’t that bad. I will get better. The big picture is that I have loved ones who won’t.

Surgery is scary. And something I never, ever want to go through again.

Peanut butter and honey isn’t just for sandwiches!

IMG_5499

Anyone can do yoga. And that includes me, with my full arm cast. When my accident first happened, I was most upset about not being able to participate in the Power of Movement fundraiser. Then about not being able to do yoga at all. But that last part is not true. Because a yoga practice is what you make of it, and that’s why anyone can really do it.

The Rideau Canal should be renamed to the Carnage Canal. I’m only joking.

Sort of.

Don’t leave your elbow pads at home!!!! Seriously, why did I just wear knee pads on that fateful day?

Staying upbeat is sometimes really, really hard. As a person with a history of anxiety and depression, I easily fall prey to feeling sorry for myself. I am always battling with feelings of wanting to give up. I need to dig deep and remember this attitude doesn’t help anything.

Even when it feels like the world stops, life does in fact go on. With every passing minute.

Bionic jokes get old.

xray

Just sayin’.

 

What did you learn this month?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 486 other followers