Accent Vlog Eh?

Happy Waffle Wednesday!!

IMG_5470

What?? It doesn’t look like the perfect circular, ridged breakfast cake you’re accustomed to seeing?

IMG_5472 

That’s because this morning I ate a waffle scramble. Trust me, not purposely. I experimented with my tried & true recipe by subbing out the flour for whole rolled oats. Raw. That means the protein powder was the main binder… and… well… apparently it doesn’t react well with waffle irons on its own.

IMG_5474

I am however incredibly stubborn and refused to throw it out and start over. Instead, I piled the scraps on top my plate and topped with toasted walnuts & coconut, strawberries, and sugar-free syrup.

IMG_5477

Turns out scrambled waffles are insanely good. And toasted coconut can save anything ;)

For those of you who are wondering what my tried & true recipe is, I had the flat version earlier this week.

IMG_5463

About the wrinkled grey background. I’ve been eating in bed lately ;)

Date & Walnut Protein Pancakes

  • 1/4 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/4 cup vegetarian protein powder (I like soy! whey doesn’t work)
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tbsp sweetener of choice (I use 1-2 packets of stevia)
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup egg whites (or one whole egg)
  • 1/2 cup milk (I use almond)
  • 2 tbsp chopped walnuts
  • 2 tbsp chopped dates

IMG_5466

Now that is a winner. Also, I seem to have required numerous bags of chopped walnuts, hence my over-usage of them recently.

Finally, the moment you’ve been waiting for! (or I’ve been waiting to post anyways!)

I’ve already seen a gazillion of these go up today, and I am completely fascinated watching these accent vlogs! I’m not sure where it started, but the deal is that you read a list of words and answer a few questions, and it’s supposed to highlight your accent.

Seeing as you don’t hear me talk very often, I thought it would be fun to share. Also because I’ve been getting teased lately for my Maritime accent here in Ontario. Funny thing is, I really don’t think my Maritime accent is that pronounced! I grew up in Riverview, New Brunswick. I point this out because even though it’s associated with the municipality of Moncton, I find there’s a very pronounced Albert County accent. And that’s where Riverview is. In case you don’t know anything about Atlantic Canada (it’s okay, I understand if you don’t). Here’s a handy-dandy map:

riverview

Finally, y’all should know that I used to be a broadcast journalist. I read the weekend newscasts at a radio station for over two years and hosted a local TV news program for a year. Dialect, pronunciation, enunciation, and words are all something I’ve obsessed over and continue to obsess over. I definitely learned the hard way how to pronounce things like the “Celtics,” “Premier” and batting “.500”

The words:
Aunt, Route, Wash, Oil, Theater, Iron, Salmon, Caramel, Fire, Water, Sure, Data, Ruin, Crayon, Toilet, New Orleans, Pecan, Both, Again, Probably, Spitting image, Alabama, Lawyer, Coupon, Mayonnaise, Syrup, Pajamas, Caught

The questions:
What is it called when you throw toilet paper on a house?
What is the bug that when you touch it, it curls into a ball?
What is the bubbly carbonated drink called?
What do you call gym shoes?
What do you say to address a group of people?
What do you call the kind of spider that has an oval-shaped body and extremely long legs?
What do you call your grandparents?
What do you call the wheeled contraption in which you carry groceries at the supermarket?
What do you call it when rain falls while the sun is shining?
What is the thing you change the TV channel with?

Monica mentioned in her accent vlog that she has a tendency to pronounce Spanish things in a proper accent because she grew up in a Spanish household. It’s worth mentioning that because I grew up surrounded by French (bilingual city, French immersion) I have the same tendency to do that with French words. People always make fun of the way I say “poutine” but I swear it’s how the Acadians say it!

And yes, I say “eh.” Most commonly in the phrase “I know, eh?”

With that, I want to know: Anything about my accent surprise you? How different is it from yours?

Posted on February 2, 2011, in Videos, Waffle Wednesday and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 53 Comments.

  1. Almost everyone who’s accent vlogs I’ve seen are people I already know what they sound like in real life . . . I’m waiting to be SHOCKED my someone’s voice, hehehe

    PS – text me please :) because I got a new phone yesterday and I need to re establish all my contacts

  2. My housemate called it a channel changer and a clicker. I always called it a remote control too. I live in upstate New York on the east side so I have heard a lot of accents similar to yours. I actually grew up right outside of London so god knows my accent is interesting going from London to the Southern US and now to college in upstate.

    It was really nice to put a a face and voice with your blogging, if that makes sense ha.

  3. I got such a kick out of this video, because obviously we have pretty much the same accent and answers for everything!

    no one, and I mean NO ONE should make fun of the way WE say poutine. we should make fun of THEM. we say it correctly!! and way to tell them that it’s theatre with an RE! :P

    also, I definitely thought I was the only one to pronounce coupon like cue-pon! even my family and friends pronounce it coo-pon! I have no idea what this rolling bug thing is, and I’ve actually heard so many things for the TV remote — clicker is one of them, along with flicker & switcher!

    • Thank goodness I’m not the only one who hasn’t heard of this rolypoly thing. I find even Miramichi has a different accent than Albert County though. The further north you go, the “rougher” it gets. My Nana is from Campbellton and I can hear her north shore accent come out sometimes. And don’t get me started on Batt-uurst :P

  4. I’m glad to hear I’m not the only one who’s never heard of rolly-pollies, maybe we don’t have them in Canada!

  5. So cute! Mine will be up tomorrow morning.

  6. I can hear a little of the east coast accent and I definitely agree that I have never heard a single person say a-boot! Where did they get that??
    I never heard of a roly poley either but apparently its not a potato bug like I thought. (I Googled the stupid thing!)

  7. lol… Newfoundland accent… I’ve done this one – you can view mine here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9I4ugs_kxus

    • I remember watching part of this!! YES to grocery store. And it’s seeming more and more likely that we don’t have those rollie bugs in Canada. Although, I didn’t quite pick up on any extra “H’s” in the video :P

      • HAHAHAHA. I guess you could say I was extremely comfortable around you when we met up. Because I try and cover up the H’s when I’m talking to people up here in Ontario – I get made fun of! :)

  8. I totally have a thing for Canadian accents. It’s directly related to hockey players, so don’t get creeped out by that or anything.

    I’m from Michigan and it freaks me out when people say I have an accent. I was just in Houston (y’all) and had three people tell me my accent was thick. Go figure, eh?

    • People in Michigan tooootally have an accent. I’ve been there twice recently and it’s strange how you can cross the border and suddenly everyone is talking funny :P

  9. I like how you say grandma&grandpa on one side and nana&papa on the other – I’m the same!

  10. I love Canadian accents…many of my college friends were from different regions of Canada and I could hear the difference.

    My accent is a conglomeration of places I’ve lived. I agree with Monica…I pronounce Spanish words correctly because of being a Spanish teacher. But I use the Castillian Spanish.

  11. Your accent is not a strong accent at all. When you said people teased you, I was expecting more akin to the accent of our family friends from Cape Breton!
    Growing up, we always called roly-poly bugs pill bugs. I don’t know if that triggers something in your memory. We definitely have them on the west coast.
    Also, I find these accent vlogs interesting because I have an accent (thanks to my immigrant dad) but none of the words on the list would really show it off. Now, ask me to battery, pillow, or milk and you’ll think I just got off the boat from Ireland (which, by the way, is pronounce Ar-lund in my family, not I-er-land).

    • I had a Newfoundlander tell me the other day that I sounded like the Valley Girl of the Maritimes :P I think that’s the Albert County accent, as we tend to put extra length on vowels sometimes. And we say “right” a lot. Like, “that was right fun, eh?”

      I would love to hear your accent! My mom spent a few years in Ireland as a kid, but the accent never wore off on her.

  12. cute vlog!!!

    i live in Australia, but i’m originally from Canada (all over the prairies) and i definitely noticed your east coast accent as soon as you said “post”. :) who knows what i sound like now. probably not a huge difference, but i think i’ve grown to stress different syllables. have you been over here at all?

    • No! And I want to go SO badly! It’s incredibly expensive to fly to Australia from the East Coast because there’s a good chunk of the continent to get over (usually an extra $200-300 just to get to Toronto). Someday…

    • Which part of Oz are you in? If I was ever to do a Accent vlog you’d all tell straight away I was from Australia. If I was to address a group of people I really would say G’day. Susan you’d love Australia, except for the current 40 degree weather.

      Aussie accents are different between places like Queensland and Northern Territory (mostly Aboriginals) to Sydney and Melbourne. But we all have a rather pronounced twang about our accent and the more inland you go the slower our accents gets.

      I’ve been watching How I Met Your Mother from start to finish and find the teasing of Robbin from Canada (eh) very amusing. She’s originally from Vancouver and they have great fun with her pronunciation especially the word “out” which sounds like oot. I guess thats where aboot comes from?

  13. when i met you in person at Foodbuzz you sounded exactly how i thought you would..canadian but not overly so, and bubbly, energetic and FUN! :)

  14. I only lived in Atlantic Canada for two and a half years and I’m told that I picked up some accent traits while I was there! Plus, the first week I was back in BC I attended a conference with a bunch of American clients and they all kept pointing out every time I said eh! or about. They swear we says “abooht”.

    Hilariously most of that came from a Bostonian and a New Orleans native.
    Like they should talk!

  15. Aww you have a lovely accent!

    I don’t know what to call a bug that rolls in to a ball either and I say channel changer too!!!

  16. Ahh! These are so fun! Your voice is really pretty :)
    I spent three years in Moncton, 9 (over two different moves) in Winnipeg and now almost 7 years in Edmonton (AGH). I never record myself so I may just do this for fun to hear my supposed “Canadian Accent”.

  17. Occasionally my upper mid-west accent (northern Illinois) will come through stronger then normal, but I have a fairly neutral accent in America, just a nasal quality sometimes. Newscasters talk like mid-westerners all over the States.
    I like your accent but there are a few words where I heard an Eastern Canadian quality. I have no idea what a roly poly or pill bug are either.
    Canadians say a-booot, just own it, eh? I think it’s cute.

  18. I say “I know, eh?” all the time! My stepfather calls the remote a clicker, and now my mom started too. But generally, I feel that “remote” is the proper term :) You have a nice voice!

  19. Apparently one way that you can tell I’m from Alberta is that I don’t way “I know, eh?” but rather “I know, hey?”

    I have a lot of friends from the East coast and only a few of them have what I would call “real” accents (and they get SUPER strong when they’re drinking ;-) and I think you’re the same…every so often there’s something a little different, but nothing Newfoundlandish :)

    It was the “channel changer” (or the “flicker”) in my household too and I don’t know about this bug either- maybe we don’t have them in Canada…

  20. I think a waffle scramble sounds amazing!

    And I LOVE these accent blogs, haha! Even though I already knew what you sounded like ;) I pronounce my words pretty similar to yours! I wonder if I have an “American” accent? I know I don’t have a Rhode Island accent… thank GOD.

    See you tonight!!

    xo

    • You definitely don’t have a Rhode Island accent. I find the East Coast pronunciations are pretty similar from Canada down through the US.

      Just confirmed our reservation – see you soooon!

  21. I think what surprised me most about your accent is that it’s not too different from mine! I get told I have a weird accent all the time because I live in the Southern U.S. but grew up in D.C. Everyone else has a way muted down Paula Deen kind of accent. lol. I get laughed at because I tend towards long vowels (pass me a soooda) and I never leave the g off a word (e.g. workin’). I also think it’s great that you are the only other person I’ve heard that pronounces New Orleans like I do! Southern people turn it into Nawlins! I have a pet peeve about not enunciating all of the required letters! I’m too self-conscious to do an accent vlog myself though.

  22. That’s so funny! I once dated a Canadian and compared to him you do NOT have an accent, eh! Just the “aboot”. :) Too cute!

  23. I love that you mentioned Cape Breton (is it sad I get excited every time I hear someone talk about it?). I’m from Sydney so my accent isn’t quite as strong as my boyfriend’s family, who are from Glace Bay, but apparently I still have a strong one or so I’m told now that I’m living on the mainland for school. You sound fairly normal to me but funny how people can pick out Maritimers with no problem.
    I was waiting for you to say “waRsh”, but maybe that’s not from your area of NB. I’m also curious if bungalow is a common word outside the Maritimes?

  24. I too am from Canada but I find my accent a bit different. I am a born and raised Albertan and I find it definitely shows in my speech. I rarely fully pronounce -ing endings. I don’t really know what else is the difference but I just sound more red neck.

    I would answer all the questions the same though and I really don’t think these rolly polly bugs exists anywhere in Canada.

    Eh is a staple in my vocabulary, it can turn nearly any sentence into a question. I agree with the pronunciation of about. Never have a heard any one say aboot…

  25. I totally call it a clicker! Although, sometimes I call it a remote (depending on who I’m with- it’s a clicker when I’m with my parents!). Obviously, I’ve heard you speak before but I don’t think your accent is too thick- although listening to you pronounce certain words definitely makes it stand out more. :)

  26. loved the accent thing…tried it at work and laughed the whole time. i heard “zapper” for a remote, but none of the brits have a word for sunshower…it just rains all the bloody time!

    • Hahaha, more people who aren’t North American need to do this! The best remote word I’ve heard is “converter” which is what my Grampie calls it.

  27. I had four people randomly comment on my accent today, maybe I need to do this vlog thing… And you sound pretty much exactly like what I expected!

  28. Definitely trying your pancakes tomorrow, perhaps in waffle form. Does the flour version work well in waffle irons?

  29. Bon matin,

    Too me, you just have a really easy accent to understand (I’m French) but a different accent from people I know from Vancouvert. I used to leave in Montreal, so, vive la poutine !!!! And, for someone from NB, I do think that you don’t have a stong accent (it’s kinda hard for us to understand them! Even when they speak French)

    BTW, great blog :)

  30. A roly poly is a pillbug…growing up in Newfoundland, I always called them carpenters :-)

    They’re fairly common!

  31. Re. the scramble: NICE SAVE! I wouldn’t have thrown it out either.

    Re. The Vlog- really cute. We called those bugs “Potato bugs” and my hubby calls the remote “the clicker”.

    Did you hear the big news? There’s now a non-stop flight from Toronto to Palm Springs!! Seriously it was on our news. We have SOooooo many Canadians coming here in the winter it’s unreal. I even just passed a car dealership that had a huge banner “We SHip TO CANADA!!”

    • Baaaahahaha. Dude. You’ve been to Canada in the winter. You can understand why we need to get out and into the warm sunshine. My Dad actually just got back from San Diego!

  32. those pancakes sound lovely! anything with dates…

  33. I call it a clicker too!
    I love your accent – it reminds me of Robin on HIMYM. On the show she’s an anchor/reporter from Canada too :)

  34. You say everything pretty much the same as I do, and I’m from Massachusetts! I don’t think you sound like you have any accent at all!

  35. So funny!! I am posting mine tomorrow!!

  1. Pingback: Day 25: vlog « the lady lifts

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 487 other followers

