Daily Archives: January 31, 2011

Things I Learned in the First Month of 2011

I suck at setting long-term fitness goals, and that’s okay. I’m a lot more successful when making simple short-term healthy switches.

I’m not invincible. After spending two weeks this month being seriously sick, I learned that I have to be more careful with my health. Being “healthy” and actually being healthy are two different things.

Poutine pizza is alright. But poutine pizza with donair sauce could be fantastic. Maritimers? You with me?

Sometimes I feel pressure to fit into a certain “blog category.” Is it a fitness blog? Is it a food blog? Is it a lifestyle blog? Daily journal? Photography? Wordy? Who gives a crap. It’s my blog and all it is, is a reflection of me and my intentions.

There was a point when I had a serious chocolate tooth. These days, I seem to have an insatiable butter tooth.

 

I know 25 is still young. But why does it feel so old?

IMG_5422

Because I go to shows featuring a band that was popular 10 years ago. And I now wake up after a punk show feeling like I’ve been run over by a truck. I don’t recover from cheap beer and loud guitars as well as I used to…

I have A LOT I still need to see, eat and experience in this city. Time is running out!!

Mini pies are the new macarons. Which are the new cupcakes. Nice try whoopie pies.

IMG_5115

I can not workout for 10 days and not gain weight. Instead, I can gain weight by eating copious amounts of birthday pie.

Personal training is what I want to do. In some sense anyways. I get a complete high off teaching people and motivating them. When I first started, I was warned by a past PT that it was addicting. I can now see why.

Bonjour Bonjour Brioche on Queen E. has the best French toast I’ve ever tasted. French toast made with leftover pastries – such as this flaky chocolate swirl bread.

IMG_5100

Meeting other bloggers is always an amazing and fun experience.

But meeting Twitter friends is pretty cool too!

IMG_5088 

Taking a break from high intensity exercise this month was one of the best decisions I’ve made for my body in a long time. Especially after 5 months of hitting the weights and intervals hard.

I miss my hometown like WOAH.

IMG_4946

And I miss being around my family.

Yoga. Is. Bliss. Even in the moments when I’m cursing the instructor for making me vinyasa for the 50th time. I want everyone to be able to experience happiness in movement, and that’s why I’m supporting Power of Movement in this upcoming month. Click here to read my post about why I’m participating in the world’s largest yoga fundraiser, and click here to donate $5 to a very worthy cause.

 

Starting February off right with a VLOG tomorrow and the Simply Bar giveaway winner! See ya then!

Question of the Day: What did you learn in January?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 487 other followers