Chicken Not Pie

Happy Waffle Wednesday!! 

IMG_5402

Best breakfast of the week. Yup. Even better than all those fancy brunches. Well, minus french toasted pastries and giant pancakes. But you get my drift.

IMG_5400

A very simple recipe for one belgian waffle, or two rectangular ones:

  • 1/3 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 3 tbsp egg whites (or one whole egg)
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/3 cup almond milk (or any kind of milk)

IMG_5406

Today’s topping consisted of 1/2 cup cottage cheese, 1 tbsp peanut butter, 2 tbsp sugar-free syrup and cinnamon to taste. A cinch to whip up and completely delicious! Also, a nice break from the oatmeal and egg sandwiches I’ve been eating lately.

After yesterday’s indulgent pie recipe, I decided it was time to balance things out with a non-pie.

Chicken Not Pie

IMG_5412

Yes, that would chicken pot pie without the pastry. The filling is actually my favourite part (well, technically, the chicken is). So consider this your “healthier” version of a homestyle favourite :)

IMG_5359

If you don’t have any leftover poultry to use (my mom often makes this with turkey leftovers) start by boiling your chicken breasts until just cooked. I used two very big chicken breasts – around 12-14 oz all together.

IMG_5363

While that’s going on, chop up one leek. Around two cups worth. Cook it in a greased frying pan along with 1/4 cup onions, a clove of garlic and a quarter teaspoon of dried thyme.

IMG_5366

Potatoes! Two of ‘em. The key to any homestyle dish.

IMG_5367

Y’all know I’m a fan of the frozen veggies. I added a 500g bag of a carrot, corn, pea and green bean mix. But you can add any veggies you like. Mushrooms, parsnip or turnip would be great too. Around 2 cups worth.

IMG_5369I also have an abnormal fear of store-bought broths. I think it’s because at one point my doctor told me I could have an allergy to monosodium glutamate (MSG) and a lot of broths have it. Turns out I just have an intolerance to certain raw fruits and veggies – but the fear stuck!

IMG_5370

Phew. Safe :)

By now the chicken should be close to done, so just drain it and set aside to cool.

IMG_5375

Meanwhile, mix 2 cups of the chicken broth with 1 cup low-fat milk, 3 tbsp all-purpose flour and a squirt of dijon. Whisk baby whisk! It takes around 10 minutes to get thick.

IMG_5378

Once your hand is cramped from whisking, and your veggies are off the burner, shred the cooled chicken and combine everything into a large casserole dish.

IMG_5381

Cover with tinfoil and bake at 375 for around 45 minutes or until potatoes are cooked.

IMG_5408

Voila! Chicken Not Pie. Who needs pie crust or biscuits? More importantly, who has the patience to make pie crust or biscuits on a weeknight? Not this girl.

IMG_5409

Ingredients (makes 4 servings)

  • 2 large chicken breasts (or 4 small ones, around 12-14 oz)
  • one chopped leek (around 2 cups)
  • 1/4 cup chopped onion
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • 1/4 tsp dried thyme
  • 2 potatoes, diced into small cubes (around 2 cups worth)
  • 500g bag of frozen veggies (or 2 cups veggies of choice, chopped small)
  • 2 cups chicken broth
  • 1 cup low fat milk (I used 1%)
  • 1 tsp dijon mustard
  • 3 tbsp flour
  • salt & pepper to taste

Directions

Boil chicken breasts in a large pot of water. Cook leeks, onions and garlic in a pan until soft. Add potatoes, spices and frozen vegetables. Once chicken is cooked, set aside to cool. Add broth, milk, mustard and flour to a small pot and whisk on medium-high heat until thickened. Around 10 minutes. Once chicken is cool enough to touch, shred it with your hands. Mix chicken with veggies and add to a large casserole dish and pour broth mixture over top. Cover with tinfoil and bake at 375F for around 45 minutes or until potatoes are cooked.

IMG_5413

Even better than the warm, comforting taste are the nutritionals! Each serving has 273 calories, 3g fat, 33g carbs, and 28g protein. I ate my bowl with a side of some carrot sticks and apple slices, because I eat everything with a side of carrot sticks and apple slices.

OR, if you’re really smart, you’ll follow up your Chicken Not Pie with a piece of Fluffernutter Pie.

You know, for balance ;)

Posted on January 26, 2011, in Recipes, Waffle Wednesday and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. Blogs have got me craving waffles lately- those look great!

  2. So I have recently become addicted to Waffles. Ever since you posted the slavery spinach and cheese waffle-I’m kind of addicted to savery waffles. I think in the matter of the next month I’ll have tried every waffle you have ever created bahaha (in a noncreepy way of course).

  3. FABULOUS idea!!! I havent had chicken pot pie in FORVERRRR it was never really something I grew up eating but man, that looks so good!!

  4. that waffle and pie – i mean not pie – look epic!

  5. That looks delicious! I really love pot pie filling as well. Especially the chicken and cooked carrots. I am weird. Raw carrots are so boring to me but cooked or roasted carrots are AMAZING! I also loveeeee leeks! I’m bookmarking this!

  6. title suits the recipe

  7. This looks so good! I love the time saver by not adding a crust to it.

  8. That looks awesome! I love recipes that scale down more complicated recipes- and recipes that are super adaptable, too! Your waffles always look so good it makes me question my choice of breakfast food pretty much every time. :)

  9. I like how light the belgian waffle looks! I’m aware pancakes are similar, but I really think it’s time I have a waffle maker in my life…

  10. The waffles look great, something I would eat for dinner. :-)

  1. Pingback: ..whirlwind weekend in review.. « Anna's Adventures in Health

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 487 other followers

