What’s In A Blog

Things this blog is not:

Vegan/vegetarian/gluten-free.

I know I have a lot of readers who are the above things. A lot of the food I feature on here falls under that category. But on the whole, my body loves wheat and meat, and so does my blog :)

A workout diary.

I used to take the time to type out the specifics of all my workouts. I know a lot of people really liked this because they could steal them. But I hated the monotony of typing them up every day. I also really don’t like the idea of others out there comparing themselves to me and what I do in the gym. Just because I like doing an hour on the treadmill doesn’t mean you have to.

A blog about blogging.

I really want to write about things that appeal to everyone and not just those who are in the blogging bubble. While the interaction from this blog is for the most part with other bloggers, I recognize that the majority of my readers are regular folk who are not slaves to wordpress.

Everything I do at all hours of the day.

My blog is not a reflection of what I do every single day. 90% of my life does not get blogged about. Sometimes I make really good meals and don’t blog about them. Sometimes I go out to eat and don’t feel like bringing my camera. Sometimes I lay in bed all day watching Dexter. Sometimes, I get really drunk and have to maintain what little dignity I have left and not display it all over the internet.

A vlog.

I get a lot of requests for video posts. Mostly for exercise demonstrations. I know I write a lot about fitness, but I am a writer. Not a fitness model. I like doing vlogs from time to time, but for the most part they are not my forte. In case you haven’t noticed, I’m really awkward in real life. I much rather stick to what I’m good at :)

A place for free stuff.

I don’t do a lot of giveaways. This is so when I do one, it actually means something. It’s rare I host a company-sponsored giveaway unless it’s a product I really love. Most of the giveaways are bought with my own money, and shipped using my own funds.

Fancy.

Straight up – I’m broke. Like, more broke than I was in university. I can barely afford groceries let alone things like walnut oil or coconut flour. I used to be a slave to trying out new ingredients, but I’ve since realized that the best food is sometimes made with old-school, simple and cheap ingredients.

Things this blog is:

Recipes. Of all kinds.

Sometimes I make them up. For the most part, they’re recipes I’ve stumbled upon elsewhere that I want to share. Sometimes they’re healthy, other times they’re just a fun treat. Cooking is my hobby and I have no limits to it.

Restaurants.

One of my favourite things to do is read restaurant reviews online. The best ones are those that are written in a way even those halfway around the world will still enjoy. I know a lot of you will never get to visit the restaurants I experience in Toronto, but that doesn’t mean reading about them can’t still be fun :)

Informative.

From the beginning, I wanted to teach people something. I love doing this with my Fitness Friday posts. But hell, even just sharing a new way of eating marshmallow fluff is good enough.

Entertaining.

Because time spent away from work and family should be spent valuably. And I hope reading this blog is worth that time spent.

Always changing. Just like me.

Sometimes I’m really wordy and I want to type up a nice story. Other days I just want to ramble. Some days I have 50 pictures I want to show you. This blog is never the same thing two days in a row, and I do that on purpose.

I recently just passed my two-year blogging anniversary. That’s two years of writing a blog post every single day. It got me thinking about what my blog has become and where I’d like it to go. I honestly can’t tell you what the future has in store for my little piece of the internet. But this is where it is today.

I’ve never been one of those people who hopes to turn my blog into a full-time job. It has always been a labour of love. I would still blog my heart out if no one read. I would (and almost do) write it for free. However, my one wish for my blog as it I enter my third year doing it, is that I start to make back some of the time I put into it. Call me crazy, but I think I could make it really nice if I could quit a part-time job and put those hours into The Great Balancing Act.

Thanks for being a huge part my favourite part of every day! xoxo

Posted on January 18, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 40 Comments.

  1. Love all of this! Made me laugh in a good way!

  2. Holy moly. You have published a blog every day? You are seriously my idol.

    I love your blog and read almost every post you write. You always have the greatest recipes (especially waffles) and best advice on anything and everything fitness related.

    • Okay, maybe not every single day. There may have been a period when I first moved to Toronto when I spent more time drinking jager bombs than blogging ;)

  3. not going to lie…the broke thing caught my eye for a moment since i am going into a similar profession. :) but we will both make it work, that i am sure of. i love your blog just as it is. keep the great posts coming.

    • I was making really good money for a while there. But I’m learning that training tends to go up and down with the seasons. Surprisingly, Nov-Jan has been a really dry period!

  4. I love you and your blog. :)

  5. Well said Susan, all of it :) I’m sure we’d all love to see what you could really turn it into, but for now, for me, it’s perfect the way it is.

  6. Every. single day. I don’t know how you did it. You are my blogging hero.

    I love your blog for everything that is. I love how it changes. Never gets dull because YOU never get dull.

  7. This is, like, crazy refreshing. Sometimes it feels like the “healthy living blog world” gets too caught up in self-promotion. I love blogs that are about daily life and loves, not just about making it a career – it seems like we can learn more from each other and about ourselves that way.

  8. I love your blog for these exact reasons! Happy blog birthday!!!

  9. oh susan, i love the way you post. as random as you like & always enjoyable.

  10. Happy two years! Hoping that 2011 will bring to your blog all the things you’re looking for. From one meat lover to another. ;)

  11. Susan every single part of this post is just so spot on. From the what it’s not, to the what it is.
    Not a food journal, a daily life journal, not vlogging or buying trendy products. But that you give 110%, blog from the heart, and stand for all the things you do!

    I know i have been reading your blog for at least 15-18 mos, and you’ve come a long way, baby. And I cant wait to see where you go.

    and there are far less talented writers/bloggers who are making more than a parttime job’s wages at their blog…so if they can do it, so can you :)

  12. I love this. I still have no idea what my blog is! But…yours is fantastic. Keep doing what ya do :-)

  13. Your blog is awesome. And that’s all that really matters! :)

  14. I love this post!!!!!!!!! I just started by blog two weeks ago… and you wrote into words the way I feel. I have no idea what my blog is, and I’m kind of glad it isn’t pigeon-holed into one type of blog. I like being able to write whatever I want, whenever I want! Good for you to coming to this realization!

  15. Your blog is a perfect reflection of you, don’t ever change, we love it for exactly what it is.

  16. Happy Blogaversary Susan! All those things you listed are exactly why I love your blog, so I’m glad you do them. I think you have a great balance of every-day life, but also some interesting activities and events so it doesn’t get boring.

  17. What a great post. I love you and your blog, and seeing how it has evolved! Can’t wait to catch up on Saturday :)

    xo

  18. I adore your blog for everything that it is…and for everything that it isn’t! I honestly couldn’t tell you what direction/theme my own blog is, but after reading this post I feel like that’s okay.

    Two years of blogging is an amazing accomplishment. I can tell it’s meant a lot to you and I can’t wait to see what year three holds!

  19. totally agree with you…its a labor of love… in no way do I or am I in it for any sort of money…its just something I truly enjoy

  20. Your blog is my favorite. You seem more real than most, maybe because I remember you from the NROL4W boards or maybe because you mix things up and you don’t pretend to be perfect! 10:30 every morning I look forward to breakfast and your blog! :)

  21. Oh please don’t stop blogging. I don’t comment very much but I do read you every, single, day. I love your blog, you do a great job! I had a question for you, could you recommend any marathoning blogs. Started my training this week and I’m looking for some motivation. Thanks.

  22. Great post! I think bloggers sometime lose sight of why they blog. I have always enjoyed your blog because it changes just as you change. Keep up the good work! I hope your blog becomes everything you want it to be in its third year!

  23. I love reading your blog for everything that it IS! :)

  24. Well, with my losing one of my jobs – I hear you about the money. You can move down here in with us for some cheap rent and good coffee!

  25. I love your blog just the way it is- keep it up!

  26. And because of all those things is why your blog is one of my favorites x x

  27. I’m so glad you made this list! I love my tiny blog, but I’ve been feeling guilty about not posting everyday. But hey, college life must be lived, and lived freely!

  28. Love your blog! Hope you can make the blog a more profitable endeavor! (Good luck to you!)

  29. I love your blog for exactly what it is–don’t change! Keep up the good work:)

  30. I love this post too! I’ve enjoyed reading your blog for about 6 months and it’s great. I also live in Toronto, and it is an outrageously expensive place to live!

  31. this is what everyone’s blog should be – ABOUT THEM!!! i love this, and i totally agree – if i had more time, there are a MILLION things i would love to do with my blog. but hey, i also have to make a living that actually pays me money to live off of, so i just do the best i can :)

  32. ya know what else your blog is? ABSOLUTELY PERFECT

  33. Great post and great blog! It really makes my reflect on my own blog and why I write. Thanks for sharing :)

  34. Really admire this post! I just stumbled across the blog and this makes me want to write a very similar one, because I’ve been having the same thoughts lately myself :)

  1. Pingback: Where My Blog is Going (And Where It’s Been) | The Healthy Everythingtarian

  2. Pingback: Things I Learned in the First Month of 2011 | The Great Balancing Act

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 485 other followers

