The “Sick Soup”

Happy Waffle Wednesday!

IMG_5160

Confession: I did not eat waffles for breakfast this morning. I woke up with a lingering fever and wanted nothing but a bacon and egg sandwich. But it feels wrong to blog about waffles on any other day.

Same recipe as last time for Whole Wheat Protein Waffles:

  • 3 tbsp whole wheat flour
  • 1 scoop (30g) unflavoured vegetarian protein powder (mine’s a mix of soy, pea and hemp)
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 2 packets stevia (equal to 4 tsp sugar)
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 3 tbsp egg whites
  • 1/3 to 1/2 cup unsweetened almond milk

IMG_5163

Mix the dry, add the wet, then waffle it up! Today’s are extra special because they’re topped with this Pear Butter my sister gave me for Christmas.

IMG_5177

My sister lives in Quebec and got it at the market, hence the French label. Not only is the idea of pear butter itself amazing, but this stuff is spiced with cardamom. Sweet Mary, I love Cardamom. Am just too cheap to ever buy it.

IMG_5167

I spruced it up even more by drizzling maple syrup whisked with cashew butter over top.

IMG_5170

Pear + cardamom + cashew + maple. These are the things dreams are made of.

I don’t have much to report today as I am still on the mend. My sister and I had a week of activities planned, but I am instead confined to my bed with a cool compress and bottle of acetometaphin.

We did however make it to the grocery store, where I was able to pick up the ingredients necessary for a “Sick Soup.” Apart from grilled cheese and fried egg sandwiches, I’ve been craving beef stew. Which is odd, because I never liked beef stew growing up.

IMG_5175

Traditional beef stew calls for red wine. I looooove cooking with wine, but I absolutely despise drinking it. So I wasn’t too keen on having the better part of a bottle leftover.

Instead I opted to create a flavourful stew filled with the ingredients I craved. It also had to be easy as I’m sick and can’t stand around for too long without having to take a rest. The result was amazing. Definitely a winner for those of you without a dutch oven or don’t have wine on hand!

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb stewing beef (this is the stuff that’s pre-cubed)
  • 1 tbsp oil (I use canola)
  • 2 tbsp flour
  • 1 pint button mushrooms, halved
  • 1 small yellow onion, roughly sliced
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 cups baby carrots
  • 2 stalks celery, chopped
  • 2 large red potatoes, cubed
  • 1 cup frozen peas
  • 1 carton Campbell’s reduced sodium beef broth (I specify this as some no name broths have sketchy ingredients in them – read your labels!)
  • 1 tbsp Worcester sauce
  • 1 sprig fresh rosemary, chopped
  • 1 tsp dried thyme
  • 1 tsp black pepper

Directions:

Put a large pot over medium heat. Add cooking oil, beef and flour. Cook until all sides are brown. Meanwhile, in a pan, sauté onion, mushrooms and garlic until onions are soft. When beef and veggies are done, add the sautéed veggies to the beef pot along with all the remaining ingredients. Simmer for 30 minutes or until carrots and potatoes are cooked.

IMG_5180

It’s true what they say. Soup really does cure all!!

Thank you for all the well wishes this week! I have to admit, I am very frustrated about the whole thing. I’ve been sick more over these last six months in Toronto than I have been over the last six years. This current sickness began as soon as I landed back in Toronto last Monday. I’ve actually only worked out twice in the last ten days! Perhaps my immune system wasn’t prepared for all this “big city” living.

If I ever do get better, I plan on making another Simply Switch. I want to switch out “sitting on my butt time” for “going out and exploring time.” I’ve already started working on a list of things I still have to do in Toronto. Such as…

Visit Honest Ed’s

Honest-Eds-by-Stewart-Russell

I can’t really explain the attraction apart from it being a ridiculous and giant department store smack in the middle of a city. Flashing lights and all. I must buy one of their Elvis busts to commemorate my time in Toronto.

See Casa Loma

CasaLomaRear

Speaking of things that stick out in a city… how about a huge castle?

Shop at the Carrot Common

Big_Carrot_courtyard

Home to the organic grocer The Big Carrot and a square filled with other hippy-dippy stores.

Eat this pancake. Again.

My life will not be complete until me and this pancake reunite.

And with that, I rest. I actually have to return to work tomorrow and it would be nice if the cool compress didn’t have to come with.

 

Question of the Day: What’s your favourite kind of soup? Would you believe I never used to like soup until recently? Give me some ideas of kinds I should make!

Posted on January 12, 2011, in Recipes, Waffle Wednesday and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 33 Comments.

  1. I love ALL soups…especially creamy. I’ve never tried to make my own beef vegetable soup before but I’d love to try.

  2. Aw, sorry to hear you’ve been under the weather.. but soup sure does help and that beef stew looks delish! My recent fave is red lentil & sweet potato, it’s got a bit of a kick so it’s perfect for chilly days: http://runningafterbalance.com/2010/10/07/from-pumpkin-patch-to-dinner-table/ (scroll down to the very bottom of that post, it’s a long one with a lot of recipes!)
    Also, love this Simply Switch! Honest Ed’s is hilarious. The figurine/ceramic decor section is particularly amusing. And, I’ve lived here for almost 5 years and still have not been to Casa Loma! I went at age 7, but of course remember nothing…

  3. I am a super soup lover! This week I made carrot ginger and vienamese pho! Also check out Martha Stewart’s “winter soups”

    http://www.marthastewart.com/photogallery/winter-soups?lpgStart=1&currentslide=1&currentChapter=1

    French Onion…..amazing!!
    ps. hope you feel better soon. I want to shop Carrot common now!

  4. A good lobster bisque will always win my heart over!

    I made protein waffles today, but subbed the oats with brown rice. Those were really interesting and made a soft fluffy waffle.

    Hope you are feeling better!

  5. **** I meant to say Vietnamese Pho :)

  6. christina guthrie

    Please go to Casa Loma and the Victorian House across the street – an important part of Canadian history…

  7. Can I tag along with you reunite with the pancakes? It looks so good.

    My favorite soup is actually lobster bisque too. Crab bisque isn’t too bad but I’m a lobster type of girl.

  8. Beautiful stew! If chili counts as soup, then that’s definitely my favorite. If not, split pea’s the way to go:)

  9. I want to go to the Carrot Common really badly! I’ve been meaning to go for months now but have never made it out :( And my favourite soup is definitely corn chowder.

  10. i love my mothers chicken soup, whatever she has in the fridge goes in, i’m in love with it.

  11. What about buying the mini bottles of wine? That’s what I do with white wine because I don’t usually drink it but I like to cook with it. They are a life saver.

  12. pear butter with cardamom? the entire post cannot rival that. that alone is what i want to eat w/ a spoon!

    feel better babe!

  13. I love cardamom too…we make swedish cardamom bread every Christmas and we store the leftover seeds in the freezer. You’re right, it’s expensive!

    Toronto looks like it has some awesome places to check out, good thing you’re making a list haha!

    And my favorite soup is lentil.

  14. wow that waffle looks amazing. i bet that made you feel better. i am making beef stew tomorrow! in the crock pot. it must be a stew week. so cold outside. my favorite soup, man.. that is hard because i LOVE soup. some that top the charts are chunky tomato, baked potato and minestrone.

  15. Pear butter + maple syrup + cashew butter sounds amazing!!

    Agh how unfortunate that Toronto seems to be making you sickly! YES you must go to Honest Ed’s. It is a beacon of delight. Make sure you admire the GIANT clock with deer heads on the staircase to the second floor – my friends and I declared it the ugliest clock man has ever created!

  16. Butternut and sweet potato the thicker the better! Hope your feeling better today x x

  17. I totally want to shop at Carrot Commons, although that sign on the right looks like it says “Boob City.”
    As for soup, I’m not a big soup person, but I do love lentil vegetable and broccoli cheese (although it’s basically a heart attack in a bowl with broccoli–do they cancel each other out?) Yum!

  18. I LOVE soup! I like it super thick. This time of year I pretty much live on it!

  19. That’s gotta be the thickets pancake I’ve ever seen! And that pear looks delicious…

  20. Oooh, pear sauce with cardamom. Looks amazing! Looks like an awesome breakfast :D

    I totally think soup cures all. I don’t know if I could even pick a favorite, I love them all! I am a big chili fan, though :)

    And I totally need to try that pancake!! Ahh, I need to go ASAP.

    xo

  21. Hope you feel better, sweetie!
    I’m actually not a huge soup person…does chili count? :) If not chili then some kind of bean soup – I like some chew!

  22. I made a yummy lentil/spinach soup a couple of weeks ago that was so good and it seemed to help my two week sore throat go away. I think it was the turmeric. It’s a natual anti-inflammitory! Here is the recipe: http://projectang.blogspot.com/2011/01/new-year-new-dishes.html

    Feel better soon!

  23. …I’d like to unite with that pancake and then join you for a reunion with it! ;) Hope you feel better soon Susan!

  24. I’m so sorry you are still feeling under the weather! Your stew looks great :) I’ve been rocking soup after soup these last couple of weeks. I make a big ol’ pot on tuesday and then eat it for a week.
    I’m in love with this one right now:

    http://www.howsweeteats.com/2010/11/29/chickpea-chicken-soup/

    I’m sad that I only have a couple of servings left….NOT sad that I’ll be making it again very soon.
    Feel better, friend!

    kristen

  25. Pear butter? Hello lover!

    Jen

  26. I hope you start feeling better soon! I love making cream of broccoli soup the best. I know it’s cream based, but it’s green, so it’s inherently healthy, right? ;) If you can find it at a vitamin store, buy some Elderberry syrup- I swear by it. It boosts your immune system and almost always keeps me from getting sick.

  27. So sorry you’re sick, Susan! Wow, that’s a lot of alliteration:)

    Anyway, I hope you start feeling better asap! Your waffle looks so delish…I’m seriously contemplating waffles for dinner now.

  1. Pingback: A Simply Giveaway! | The Great Balancing Act

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 487 other followers

