Daily Archives: January 12, 2011

The “Sick Soup”

Happy Waffle Wednesday!

IMG_5160

Confession: I did not eat waffles for breakfast this morning. I woke up with a lingering fever and wanted nothing but a bacon and egg sandwich. But it feels wrong to blog about waffles on any other day.

Same recipe as last time for Whole Wheat Protein Waffles:

  • 3 tbsp whole wheat flour
  • 1 scoop (30g) unflavoured vegetarian protein powder (mine’s a mix of soy, pea and hemp)
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 2 packets stevia (equal to 4 tsp sugar)
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 3 tbsp egg whites
  • 1/3 to 1/2 cup unsweetened almond milk

IMG_5163

Mix the dry, add the wet, then waffle it up! Today’s are extra special because they’re topped with this Pear Butter my sister gave me for Christmas.

IMG_5177

My sister lives in Quebec and got it at the market, hence the French label. Not only is the idea of pear butter itself amazing, but this stuff is spiced with cardamom. Sweet Mary, I love Cardamom. Am just too cheap to ever buy it.

IMG_5167

I spruced it up even more by drizzling maple syrup whisked with cashew butter over top.

IMG_5170

Pear + cardamom + cashew + maple. These are the things dreams are made of.

I don’t have much to report today as I am still on the mend. My sister and I had a week of activities planned, but I am instead confined to my bed with a cool compress and bottle of acetometaphin.

We did however make it to the grocery store, where I was able to pick up the ingredients necessary for a “Sick Soup.” Apart from grilled cheese and fried egg sandwiches, I’ve been craving beef stew. Which is odd, because I never liked beef stew growing up.

IMG_5175

Traditional beef stew calls for red wine. I looooove cooking with wine, but I absolutely despise drinking it. So I wasn’t too keen on having the better part of a bottle leftover.

Instead I opted to create a flavourful stew filled with the ingredients I craved. It also had to be easy as I’m sick and can’t stand around for too long without having to take a rest. The result was amazing. Definitely a winner for those of you without a dutch oven or don’t have wine on hand!

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb stewing beef (this is the stuff that’s pre-cubed)
  • 1 tbsp oil (I use canola)
  • 2 tbsp flour
  • 1 pint button mushrooms, halved
  • 1 small yellow onion, roughly sliced
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 cups baby carrots
  • 2 stalks celery, chopped
  • 2 large red potatoes, cubed
  • 1 cup frozen peas
  • 1 carton Campbell’s reduced sodium beef broth (I specify this as some no name broths have sketchy ingredients in them – read your labels!)
  • 1 tbsp Worcester sauce
  • 1 sprig fresh rosemary, chopped
  • 1 tsp dried thyme
  • 1 tsp black pepper

Directions:

Put a large pot over medium heat. Add cooking oil, beef and flour. Cook until all sides are brown. Meanwhile, in a pan, sauté onion, mushrooms and garlic until onions are soft. When beef and veggies are done, add the sautéed veggies to the beef pot along with all the remaining ingredients. Simmer for 30 minutes or until carrots and potatoes are cooked.

IMG_5180

It’s true what they say. Soup really does cure all!!

Thank you for all the well wishes this week! I have to admit, I am very frustrated about the whole thing. I’ve been sick more over these last six months in Toronto than I have been over the last six years. This current sickness began as soon as I landed back in Toronto last Monday. I’ve actually only worked out twice in the last ten days! Perhaps my immune system wasn’t prepared for all this “big city” living.

If I ever do get better, I plan on making another Simply Switch. I want to switch out “sitting on my butt time” for “going out and exploring time.” I’ve already started working on a list of things I still have to do in Toronto. Such as…

Visit Honest Ed’s

Honest-Eds-by-Stewart-Russell

I can’t really explain the attraction apart from it being a ridiculous and giant department store smack in the middle of a city. Flashing lights and all. I must buy one of their Elvis busts to commemorate my time in Toronto.

See Casa Loma

CasaLomaRear

Speaking of things that stick out in a city… how about a huge castle?

Shop at the Carrot Common

Big_Carrot_courtyard

Home to the organic grocer The Big Carrot and a square filled with other hippy-dippy stores.

Eat this pancake. Again.

My life will not be complete until me and this pancake reunite.

And with that, I rest. I actually have to return to work tomorrow and it would be nice if the cool compress didn’t have to come with.

 

Question of the Day: What’s your favourite kind of soup? Would you believe I never used to like soup until recently? Give me some ideas of kinds I should make!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 486 other followers