Daily Archives: January 6, 2011

Five Things You Should Probably Know – Round 2

1. I’m sick.

IMG_3372

Technically, I’ve been feeling under the weather since I landed back in Toronto. You know, headache, achey muscles. But last night I developed this gnarly chest cough. And today, I started burning up and getting lightheaded. Like all things in life, I am blaming this on Toronto’s public transportation system. However, I suspect the three-day bender I went on in New Brunswick may be the true culprit. Thus, I spent all day in bed.

 

2. There’s a giant candy bowl in my living room.

IMG_5075

I can thank my roommates for this one. Just as I come back to TO thinking “time to get back on the straight and narrow,” I’m met with this. A worthy opponent filled with Lindor Truffles and Icy Chocolate Squares. Touché.  

 

3. There’s a new workout plan on the block.

Back in the day, I used to share my daily workouts on the blog. But then I got lazy about typing them up. Plus, I didn’t like the idea of people comparing themselves with me. With that said, I do understand that people are curious about what sort of things I do in the gym! In September, I started a new plan consisting of my first ever split. It looked something like this:

Monday: Back/Biceps + 30 min elliptical
Tuesday: Rest
Wednesday: Chest/Triceps + 30 min running
Thursday: Legs + 15 min spin bike + 15 min stair climber
Friday: Shoulders/Abs + 30 min elliptical
Saturday: 5-7 mile run
Sunday: Yoga

I really enjoyed weight lifting so many days a week, and the DOMS was great to boot. But it’s important to change it up and try out new things. In lieu of my Simply Switches, here’s what my new sked looks like:

2 days 45 min full-body weightlifting
2 days 60 min cardio
2 days 60-90 min yoga
1 day rest

As you can see, it’s a lot less intense. On purpose. One reason why has to do with my appetite. It’s been out of control since I started lifting all the time and despite the tough workouts, I was still taking in more calories than I was burning off. I know from past experience that my hunger levels drop significantly when I’m less active. So maybe I won’t always feel like I’m ready to eat my arm off!

 

4. I suck at crossword puzzles.

No, really. I’ve been doing the one in the newspaper every. single. day. for two months now and I have yet to fully complete one. It is so frustrating, yet I’m so stubbornly addicted.

 

5. I’m the last person to read this book.

IMG_5072

And I read it in three days. I loved it that much. I’m not sure what it says about me, but all of my most recent favourite books have been depressing ones about people dying. Ah well, at least my favourite show is still The Real World.

If you’re one of five people in the world who haven’t read this book yet speak up! I’ll send it to the first person who comments saying they want it :)

 

Question of the Day: What’s one thing in your life we should probably know? As my gal Holly says, sharing is caring!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 485 other followers