Daily Archives: January 2, 2011

Foodie Celebrations

I sincerely apologize if you’ve been following me on Twitter and subject to my drunk tweets over the last three nights. You see, it’s not just a rumour. Maritimers really do drink more than upper Canadians. And being home just brings out the best in me ;)

On top of all the beer, rye and tequila, I’ve been eating some very blog-worthy meals these past few days.

It started on Thursday with a family get-together at the new Cafe Archbald in Dieppe. I’ve blogged about this place a few times as it’s one of my favourites in the city. They specialize in crepes and I was excited to check out the new location!

IMG_4914

I knew what I wanted as soon a I opened the menu and saw the specials. Cheeseburger Crepe? Yesplease!

IMG_4917

It started with a small Waldorf Salad. I’ve never had one of these before and it was amazing! Almost more like a slaw with the bits of apple, raisins, celery and mayonnaise dressing. I definitely want to make this at home.

The crepe was filled with ground beef, pickles, iceberg lettuce, tomatoes, onions, sweet marinara rose sauce & cheddar.

IMG_4921

Omg. SO good. It’s no secret that I am a burger fiend. Eating all the ingredients wrapped inside a soft crepe was divine.

My family made fun of both my sister and I for ordering the least classy crepe we could find. My other sister from Quebec kept saying how weird it was to see beef coming out of the crepe.

But things went even more downhill later in the evening,

noname (3)
That my friends, is a cell phone picture of the poutine pizza Sara and I split at 1am. It’s from a little punk rock pizza place called Cut Throat Pizza on Main St.

For those of you who don’t know – poutine is a Canadian specialty of fries + gravy + cheese. This particular one was baked into pizza dough. A culinary adventure we could not pass up. The gravy and cheese combo on the pizza was superb. But the fries made it a little too carby for me. Needed some beef!

 

Then came New Year’s Eve and the feast to rival all feasts. Greater than our Christmas dinner, my family went all out for this one. 

IMG_4933

We started with my mom’s seafood chowder. It featured salmon, haddock and simulated crab. I’m making her write down the recipe for me to recreate because it was probably the best chowder I’ve ever had.

IMG_4935

Then came the main meal. There’s really no rhyme or reason to the dishes we chose. It’s just a combination of foods we were all craving!

IMG_4937

Mom pan-fried smelts topped with a homemade tartar sauce.

IMG_4939

Jane and Renaud cooked mussels in a white wine sauce.

IMG_4940

Mark’s famous oven roasted potatoes.

IMG_4941

My personal favourite – bison sliders. Topped goat cheese, and my homemade pesto mayo and curry mayo. Unpictured is the giant Greek salad we also had.

IMG_4946

My family is into the silly crowns.

IMG_4948

Sisters! We all look vaguely alike, but I think there may have been a mailman involved.

IMG_0070

There was a Beatles sing-along.

IMG_0066

My family knows all the words to every Beatles song ever written.

IMG_0089

Once the clock struck midnight, Jane, Renaud and I went oot and aboot to start 2011 off right.

168090_492784687200_705687200_6383220_7533924_n

Photo courtesy Rob Arsenault.

I’m embarrassed to admit I didn’t get out of bed until 1:30pm on New Year’s Day. Crazy!! A day in my peejays watching Man v. Food followed, with some celebrating at the New Year’s Levee in my hometown of Riverview after.

It’s been a wonderful 17 days back in the Maritimes and a holiday I’ll never forget. Tomorrow I fly back to Toronto to start my 2011 adventure. This year will take me many places, but it’s good to know I’ll always have a home to come back to :)

 

Question of the Day: Tell me about your New Years! Did you stay in? Go out? Wear sequins? Or yoga pants to a bar like I did?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 485 other followers