Daily Archives: December 30, 2010

Pumpkin Scones in A Winter Wonderland

I finally got that snow I’ve been wishing for!!

IMG_4885

It seems everywhere in Canada has had a major snowfall except for Toronto. The surrounding areas look like a Winter Wonderland, and yet the city is still bare.

I always used to complain about snow. Mostly about how much I hate shovelling it. For the record, shovelling is still at the bottom of my list of activities. But it now officially feels like winter to me. Even if I do have to ditch the snow crystals for pavement if five short days.

The snow is also making me want to do winter activities. Like tobogganing and ice skating. And of course… baking.

IMG_4873

Let me tell you, a 28 oz can of pumpkin can go far. So far I’ve gotten a cake, a big batch of pancakes, two bowls of oatmeal and now a batch of scones out of it.

IMG_4875

I feel like me and the mushy stuff have turned a corner this holiday season. I still like my oats better without it, but I no longer fear adding pumpkin to baked goods.

IMG_4877

I asked my family if they wanted pumpkin chip bread or scones, and the scones won out. Most of the pumpkin scone recipes out there are meant to mimic the Starbucks version. You know, the one that’s 480 calories.

No thanks. I believe I ate enough of those triangle cakes when I was a barista and at my heaviest weight.

IMG_4879 

Instead, I opted for this Joy of Baking recipe with a few changes, of course.

  • 1 cup all purpose flour
  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/3 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 6 tablespoon cold butter, cut into pieces
  • 1/2 cup plain fat-free yogurt
  • 1/2 cup fresh or canned pure pumpkin (if using canned pumpkin make sure there are no spices or sugar added)
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

Egg Wash:
1 large egg
1 tablespoon eggnog

IMG_4890

Mix together the flours, sugar, spices, salt, baking soda and powder. Add your cold butter pieces and mix until crumbly. Some people do this with a fork, I find my hands to be a lot more effective.

Stir in yogurt and pumpkin, kneading a few times to get all the dry mix in. Shape into a circle around 7 inches by 1 1/2 inches. Cut into 8 triangles and transfer to a greased baking sheet. I stack two baking sheets to prevent burning on the bottom. Then mix up the egg wash and brush on the tops. Bake for 20 minutes at 400F.

IMG_4892

They rose up big in the oven! I probably could have cut them smaller, but it also meant more scone for me.

IMG_4897

I was barely done taking photos before my family started attacking these.

IMG_4899

Scones fresh from the oven on a winter day, aahhh. These were a brimming success. Slightly spicy, a little hearty, with that soda-scone taste I love. My 12-year-old step-bro had two. And he’s never even had scones before.

IMG_4883

Another day, another mess in my mother’s kitchen. Muhaha ;)

The scones acted as a great snack to hold us over until supper. We ended up going to the Old Triangle, an Irish pub here in Moncton.

IMG_4902

From left to right: Me, my step-dad Mark, oldest sister Sara, Mom, middle sister Jane, and her partner Renaud. Behind the camera is Heather, who had quite the time trying to capture everyone in my zoomed 50mm lens.

I remember when I posted this picture in this post, Callie called me out for having a drink in each hand.

Well, like mother like daughter. One of each colour!

IMG_4904 
I stuck to Diet Coke as I was the DD. I had to take this motley crue home in the minivan.

IMG_4905

Can’t we all just stay here together forever? I promise to bake scones!

IMG_4913

But I can’t promise I won’t make a mess ;)

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 486 other followers