Tales From My Mother’s Kitchen

When asked what I was looking forward to most about coming home for the holidays, I would respond by saying my mother’s kitchen.

IMG_4619

Well, after my family and pets of course ;)

I’ve become accustomed to cooking and baking out of cramped apartment kitchens. I kid you not, my old place had a kitchen the size of a closet.

So coming home to my mother’s bright, spotless, spacious kitchen is something I always look forward to. Plenty of room for making messes and gorgeous light to take photos with!

I decided to take full advantage of it in order to make gifts for members of my large family. Read: two parents, two step-parents, two sisters, four step-sisters and one step-brother.

All those people can be hard on the wallet come Christmastime. Thankfully, some of them have a sweet tooth ;)

IMG_4534

First up is five ingredient puppy chow

This isn’t a very popular treat ‘round these parts, so I figured it would be something new and fun to give away. Plus you know me, the fewer ingredients the better!

IMG_4536

Another great thing about my mother’s kitchen are the 1970s kitchenware. Such as the bright orange plastic measuring cups featured above.

IMG_4543

Start off by melting together:

  • 1/2 cup smooth peanut butter
  • 1 cup chocolate chips
  • 1/4 cup butter

IMG_4548

I did this in the microwave.

IMG_4545

Then put 9 cups Crispix cereal into a ginormous bowl. I never knew Rice Krispies made this cereal. I wonder if it’s different in Canada?

IMG_4549

Pour the chocolate mix over the cereal and gently stir. Some pieces will break but that’s okay. The smaller pieces will harden together into delicious clusters.

IMG_4555

Once everything is coated, start adding 1 1/2 cups powdered sugar to the mix.

IMG_4559

IMG_4562

Keep mixing! Trying not to nibble on too many!

IMG_4566

You can spread this out onto a pan to let it dry. But that sounded like unnecessary dirty dishes to me, so I just put it straight into 1970s tupperware.

IMG_4572

My first time trying puppy chow and I am hooked! My family will be lucky if any actually gets gift-wrapped.

For the full recipe and directions click here.

Next up, I had the bright idea to make some nut butter for the fam. This is not a cheap alternative, as nuts are expensive. But the end results were worth it.

 

Maple Pecan Butter

IMG_4577

What you need:

  • 3 cups pecan halves
  • 1/3 cup pure maple syrup

This makes a lot of nut butter, so feel free to cut it in half if you’re a cheapskate like me.

IMG_4584

Roast the pecans in the oven right before you plan on making the nut butter. In my opinion, roasted nut butter is better than raw. Plus, it grinds better when roasted and still warm from the oven.

IMG_4588

Throw your two ingredients into your mom’s food processor. Ignore her vocal concerns about your past nut butter experiments starting fires and killing motors.

IMG_4592

Instead, blend baby blend.

IMG_4599

Keep scraping down the sides. Just when you think you can’t blend any more, blend a little more! It will take at least ten minutes. It will be a crumbly mixture for a long while before it finally turns buttery.

IMG_4605

Pecans and maple syrup were made to blend together.

IMG_4602

Sorry. No more bad puns.

 

White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Butter

IMG_4580

What you need:

  • 3 cups macadamia nuts
  • 1 1/2 cups white chocolate chips
  • 1 tbsp canola oil (this is added so the chocolate doesn’t harden at room temp)

IMG_4595

Same deal as before, roast the nuts first.

IMG_4607

Meanwhile, melt the white chocolate in the microwave so it’s easier to blend.

IMG_4609

This will take no time to blend thanks to the addition of oil.

IMG_4611

Per usual, test the goods immediately. Bring samples to your mother to quiet her nagging protests from the living room ;)

IMG_4612

This is not what I picture a usual nut butter tasting like since macadamias aren’t quite as “nutty” tasting. It’s more of a sweet spread along the lines of a Nutella.

IMG_4618

The best part of making Christmas presents is saving a little for yourself!

The above are just my warm-up kitchen experiments. I just pulled a batch of these snickerdoodles from the oven. My first time baking and trying snickerdoodles – another sweet treat that isn’t well-known around here. Thus another unique foodie gift!

Tomorrow, my mom and I start our Christmas preparations with the turkey, meat pies, and Christmas Day breakfast. Then, on Saturday, my mother’s pristine white kitchen will turn into a firestorm of activity. Meat, gravy, sugar and wine will likely be all over the place.

And me? I can’t wait :)

 

Question of the Day: Are you giving away any foodie gifts this year?

Posted on December 23, 2010, in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. Ooh, what delicious looking sweets and treats, Susan! Cooking in your parents’ kitchen is the best, ey? P.S. In my neck of the woods, we call what you call “puppy chow” “muddy buddies.” Slightly more appetizing, no? =)

  2. Every year I like to give recent foods I’ve discovered This year I introduced everyone to naturally nutty panut butters. No complaints to far.

  3. this post has me drooling!

    first the puppy chow. i have a vegan version, which other than not using real butter is the same. I cant believe u *measure* out the powd sugar. I use the dump it in method :) I end up with more that way. Good prob to have!

    The nut butters look great but you’re right, not a cheap thing. Nuts are expensive.

    I would like to try the white choc one but i think i’d use cashews and/or peanuts. I love PB so maybe i will. I actually dont own a food proc, ONLY a vita so i need to play around w/ the ratios a bit.

    Oh and that dessert/recipe and workout of the day icons on lower left side, is that a random rotation thing? is that a WP plug-in? I LOVE THAT.

  4. 1st: Your mother’s kitchen is beautiful and so homey looking. :)
    2nd: My mom has that same tupperware!
    3rd: That mac white choc butter is making me drool.

  5. I love your mommies kitchen. My parent’s have a collection of extremely old tupperware as well. I absolutely love it.

    Puppy Chow is so delicious.

  6. PUPPY CHOW!? THat’s what it’s called? I went to a party and they had that there and I asked what it was and they said “Crack” and all night they were like “pass the crack please”. Really that’s the name they gave it and I can see why.

    Looks like you are having a blast with Mom! <3 Keep enjoying these times- I know you will :-)

  7. I’ve been making puppy chow for years and love it. Anything with macadamia nuts gets my vote. My foodie gift this year was Dutch Apple Pancake mix. I made baskets with pancake mix, apples and a bottle of real maple syrup, perfect for a Christmas morning breakfast.

  8. the macademia white chocolate spread looks yum ,i gave cookies to my friends

  9. i cant wait to see your xmas meal

  10. Wow those look like some fabulous foodie gifts! I am giving food but unfortunately its all bought I had no time to make this year but next year hopefully!

    Have an amazing Christmas x x x

  11. I love cooking in my mom’s kitchen… all the supplies I need magically appear! ;)

    I am making tons of home-made gifts this year! I love giving gifts I made myself :)

    xo

  12. i sent my secret santa a foodie gift! i made homemade bark and pumpkin muffins too!!! as you know I am not much the baker but its sort of growing on me!!!

    wow those nut butters are AMAZINGLY delicious!!!!

  13. i need both those nut butters in my life. like now.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 486 other followers

