Daily Archives: December 21, 2010

The World’s Best Veggie Burger. Ever.

Hello everyone! I don’t know what it’s like where you are, but the Maritimes are getting pushed around by a nasty storm today. Rain, strong winds, overall ickyness. Fret not, I spent most of this Tuesday in my pyjamas watching Dexter. Followed by an amaaaazing hot yoga class with the bestie (more on this new hot yoga later).

But I’m not here to talk about Tuesday because you’ll probably be reading this on Wednesday, or Thursday. Or maybe next January. So let’s just get to Monday, shall we?

Monday is a day worth blogging about. On Monday, I ate the best veggie burger in the whole wide world.

Well, in my humble opinion anyways.

Remember when I rambled on about my favourite hamburgers? Well I’ve got a top veggie burger list too. And as hard as Toronto tries, it still can’t trump the ones being served up at Moncton’s own Calactus.

IMG_4511

Unlike Toronto, Vegetarian/Vegan restaurants are hard to come by in these parts. For a long time, it was the only place in Moncton that offered a wide range of veggie options. Which was important to me in my vegetarian days.

IMG_4513

Back in high school, Calactus operated out of a little colourful home on Mountain Road. Since then, it’s classed up with a larger home on the corner of Church and St. George.

IMG_4519

They were also one of the first restaurants in Moncton to serve up fresh, organic, local food. Back before hummus became a mainstay at the local pub.

IMG_4515

I’ve tried almost everything on this menu by now. The flutes are fabulous, the pizzas delicious and the burritos hit the spot. But the one item I order again and again is the Big Marc Burger. This has been the subject of dreams for over a decade now.

IMG_4516

Our famous all-dressed veggie burger with cheese. Served with oven-baked potatoes and Caesar salad.”

IMG_4523

I arrived here after a noon-hour spin class with my dad. The old man out-spun me, again ;) First things out of his mouth after class were “Chocolate soy shake.” Mine were “Big Marc Burger.”

IMG_4522

Pops, ready to dig in.

IMG_4527

Me, with an old friend.

IMG_4530

Word on the street is that Marc, the burger’s inventor, used to sell these puppies while living in Europe. He then came home to Moncton to open his own restaurant and these became the star of the menu.

As far as I can tell, it’s a patty very reminiscent of veggie pate. Topped with their signature tofu cream sauce, mustard, sprouts, lettuce, tomato, red onion, and cheese melted into crisps.

IMG_4528

I opted out of the potatoes and got all salad. I love this caesar salad. Topped with that tofu cream dressing and these little vegetarian bits that taste just like bacon bits. Textured vegetable protein or nutritional yeast perhaps?

In case you are wondering here are the runners up for “Susan’s Top Veggie Burgers”:

2. Q.M. Burger from Queen Mother Cafe

A high protein vegetarian patty of grains, nuts, herbs and mushrooms, covered in melted cheese and served in a whole wheat pita with our own special sauce, romaine lettuce and tomato.

3. Deluxe Burger from Fresh

“Our high protein almond, grain, tofu & vegetable burger is grilled and served with a side of slaw.” Toppings are tomato, lettuce, red onion, alfalfa sprouts dill pickle & vegan mayo.

So you see, yes, I will never compare a veggie burger to a real hamburger again. But that doesn’t mean I still don’t appreciate a kick ass veggie patty ;)

 

Question of the Day: What’s the best veggie burger you ever had?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 485 other followers