Daily Archives: December 20, 2010

191 Days.

For 24 years I always lived in my home province of New Brunswick. Population: 730,000.

I grew up in a town of 16,000 people.

In high school I moved to a city of 100,000.

At 18 years of age, I moved to a city of 60,000. It was a mere 160km away, or a 90 minute drive.

Six months ago I moved to Toronto, 1200km away and home to 5.5 million.

It’s been 191 days since I was last home to my small Atlantic province. The longest I’ve gone in all my 24 years.

moncton

After 6 months away in a bustling urban centre, I thought my small home city would seem too dull. Too small. Too ugly.

But you know what? It’s still home.

IMG_4394

It’s where my mom’s raunchy sense of humour is.

IMG_4397

My favourite furry poodle and wet poodle nose (who still busts through my door at 7am every morning).

IMG_4409

It’s where you fall into conversations with people walking their dogs along trails.

IMG_4418

Where you can go anywhere and see a familiar face.

IMG_4422

A place where you don’t have to fight your way through the sidewalks, but go at your own pace.

IMG_4428

Where baristas take your order without a snooty face.

IMG_4437

Where bacon is always fully stocked in my mother’s fridge. Perfect for maple bacon oatmeal with fried eggs.

IMG_4451

Along with the expensive ezekiel bread I love but can’t afford.

IMG_4443

Home is where even after torturously bathing and clipping my dog, he’s still ready to be my best friend a mere 15 minutes after being dried.

IMG_4445

It’s where the haddock is fresh and flavourful.

IMG_4491

And lobster rolls are a weeknight dinner.

IMG_4416

My friends and co-workers in Toronto keep asking me if I’m actually going back after Christmas because I miss my hometown in the Maritimes so much.

The answer is yes, I’ll reluctantly return. But I’m now officially back to plotting operation Grand Theft Poodle.

IMG_4507 IMG_4508 IMG_4510

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 485 other followers