I Eat Vegetables Too

According to my recent blog posts, I seem to subsist on a diet of cupcakes, waffles and marshmallows

Okay, so the last two may not be so far from the truth.

But I am here to tell you that I also eat a lot of fruits and veggies. Usually paired with a lean meat and complex carb. Y’all know how the combo goes.

But what with my increasing frugality and decreasing spare time, I seem to be branching out less and less with my veggies. I mean, I can only eat carrot sticks so many ways.

Enter Kraft, who recently approached me about trying out their new Sizzling Salads kits. My knee jerk reaction is to usually decline these things. But let’s face it, my salads could definitely use the sizzle.

First up is the Chicken Caesar kit. Each one came with a recipe, as well as a few alternatives with things like shrimp or beef. One bottle is a cooking sauce for the meat, the other a salad dressing.

IMG_4232

I haven’t had a caesar salad in so long. It’s one of those items I frequently ate before I lost weight. Now it’s always being outshone by healthier salads.

IMG_4235

I began with cooking my chicken in a frying pan. Organic free-range chicken I might add, from my awesome local butcher. Once cooked, I added one tablespoon of the cracked black pepper cooking sauce to coat.

IMG_4238

While that was going on, I made my own croutons. I will never ever understand why people buy these things. I just spritzed whole grain bread with oil and sprinkled Trader Joe’s 21 Seasoning Salute on top before crisping in the oven.

IMG_4240

No simulated bacon bits here either. I fried up a big slice to make my own bits with.

IMG_4244

Of course, I couldn’t just add romaine lettuce like the recipe suggests. I know it’s been a while, but I wanted more to my caesar salad! So I also added spinach, bell pepper, carrots and zucchini. A wonderful combo.

IMG_4247

Of course, who could forget the shaved parmesan in there as well. I tossed the salad with just one tablespoon of the Kraft caesar dressing and it was the perfect amount. No need to have it coated and dripping with sauce!

Overall, I really liked the sauces provided in this particular kit. The caesar was creamy and flavourful and I loved the black pepper cooking sauce. That may become a regular ingredient for me. The salad was absolutely delicious and the perfect way to re-introduce caesar back into my life.

Next up is the Greek Chicken sizzling salad kit. This one came with a lemon oregano cooking sauce + Mediterranean feta dressing.

IMG_4324

I went for the chicken version again, because Greek chicken salad is probably my favourite salad of all time. True story.

IMG_4326

Started by assembling the usual suspects – romaine, green pepper, cucumber, tomato, red onion.

IMG_4330

Cooked up the chicken pieces, adding a tablespoon of cooking sauce at the end. 

IMG_4335

Then all assembled with black olives and feta. I admittedly also buy Kraft feta cheese in the bag. Cheese purists will gasp, but I like it!

IMG_4337

Unfortunately, the Greek kit didn’t “wow” me quite as much as the Caesar kit. The flavour of the lemon cooking sauce didn’t pop out as much. The dressing was okay, but nothing compared to the homemade oil dressings you get at Greek restaurants.

Overall, the sizzling kits were a fun way to change up my salads. They’re not something I would see in the grocery store and feel inclined to buy. I typically make my own dressings and cook my meat plain. The bottles I received also didn’t have any nutritional info, so I’m not sure about the calories, sodium or ingredients in these. Regardless, I see many more Caesar and Greek salads creations in my future. You know, to balance out with all those cookies ;)

Even better, these count toward Kacy and Lisa’s 20 Salads in December!

 

Question of the Day: What’s your favourite kind of salad? I’m a Greek girl! Except I typically like to add a ridiculous amount of pickled beets to all salads.

 

Pssst! Head on over to Deb’s blog to see my pictures that didn’t make the Blogger Babe calendar!

Posted on December 9, 2010, in Reviews and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 20 Comments.

  1. I like any kind of salad that involves spinach and fruit. I’m not into meat in salads; I like chicken and stuff hot!

    I go to a build-your-own-salad place near my office sometimes and usually get spinach, dried cranberries, some kind of nuts, goat cheese, and their fabulous cubed sweet potatoes with balsamic. Mmmm.

    • Oooh, fruit is one of the few things I can’t do in salads! Mostly just berries. Strawberry spinach is my least favourite *shudder* Now balsamic sweet potatoes, THAT is something I can get behind ;)

  2. I like southwest salads – black beans, corn, salsa, olives, onion, cilantro, maybe some chicken, some tortilla crumbles, a bit of lime juice – HELL YES.

  3. I don’t have a specific salad I like, but I do make a salad for myself nearly everyday. It always has spinach, carrots, tomatoes, and whatever else I have on hand. Cheese and a protein is a must. As is sea salt and olive oil instead of dressing. Salads make me happy. Oh, and of course I need some type of grain or starch on the side, like some potato or bread.

  4. That Greek salad looks pretty tasty!

    I’m not really a salad girl (I usually just eat a big bowl of chopped up raw veggies with hummus as dressing…a little strange, I know) but I’ve started to enjoy Greek salad (minus the olives) and black bean and corn salad (see here: http://vegetarian.about.com/od/vegetarianandvegansalads/r/quickbeansalad.htm) with avocado.

  5. I love strawberries and pecans and lots of fruit in my salads!

  6. I’ve not tried the Kraft kits yet but they do sound really tasty. My favourite salads are
    1) anything served at Fresh
    2) the edamame caviar salad at Whole Foods
    3) my home-made salad monsters which usually include a big mix of mixed greens, raw sweet peppers and cucumbers, hard boiled eggs and tuna (or whatever protein happens to be leftover in my fridge)… as you can see, I have a little bit of an issue with making up my mind!! :)

  7. Yum, I love big hearty salads. I do love a good caesar but if I order it, it’s always as a side because it’s such a massive salad, calorie-wise! But tasty nonetheless. Greek with chicken is my alltime fave. I love the olives & feta :)

    xo

  8. Greek is my favorite too. I love cucumbers and tomatoes and feta and garlic. I mean, seriously, come on. How can you not love it?

  9. I have a few favorites….roasted butternut squash, with bacon, spinach, feta, and sunflower seeds. Pear and blue cheese on spinach with white balsamic dressing. Greek (no onions) with chicken.

    If I’m in a hurry Wendy’s salad with the chicken, apple and blue cheese is really good. It comes with glazed pecans but they aren’t gluten free so I leave those off.

  10. I was going to say Cobb Salads are my favorite, but with this post and some comments I am reminded how much I love Southwest Salads and Ceasar Salads.

  11. My favorite kind of salad has a few stipulations:

    1.) It must be bigger than my head. Yep.
    2.) It must include a huge variety of colorful veg (carrots, tomatoes, broccoli, edamame) Notice I didn’t say lettuce. My salads don’t usually have lettuce!
    3.) A protein: chickpeas, black bean burger, veggie burger…
    4.) Hummus/salsa dressing
    5.) A carb: whole wheat pita, tortilla chips

    Yum, yum! These salad rules haven’t failed me yet. ;)

  12. rader Joe’s 21 Seasoning Salute — I know you and Janetha use it (and neither of you have a local TJs!)….Mine is ACROSS The STREET! I have no excuse :)

    Fave salad = edamame, romaine, tons of tomatoes, raw brock, cucumbers, homemade vegan slaw dressing. Pennies to make, takes 5 mins. I eat it daily :)

  13. holla for 20 salads in 20! i am working on that too. i think i am at 3 or something :)

    anyways, i kinda love the looks of those kits. my tendency is to sometimes decline these too but then i think – hey, why not? sometimes exposure to these things for “normal” people (i.e. non-bloggers and non-food purists – ya git what i am saying), is a good way to transition to a real food diet!

    happy friday :)

  14. I love a salad of grated veggies like carrot, turnip and kohlrabi drizzled with olive oil yum! x x

  15. My mom makes this salad with mango and garlic balsamic that is just wicked. Homemade croutons are definitely involved.

  16. There’s something oddly pleasurable about pre-packaged sets of food :-P

    Love me a good chopped cobb! I usually get all of the high cal things on the side and add them myself- still satisfying and sooo filling!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 485 other followers

