Frankly Eatery, Frankly Delicious

Happy Waffle Wednesday!

IMG_4262

Did you know I’ve been celebrating Waffle Wednesday for almost a year and a half now? Traditions like this one are just too good to give up.

Today’s waffle isn’t your typical sweet and fruity one. These days, I wake up wanted savoury. Eggs. Cheese. Bacon.

  • 1/4 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/4 cup unflavoured soy protein powder
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 stevia packet
  • 1/4 cup egg whites
  • 1/2 cup almond milk
  • 2 slices bacon, chopped (I use chicken bacon because it’s cheaper, not necessarily because healthier)

Cook your bacon in a frying pan while whisking together the other ingredients. Add the cooked bacon bits to the batter and waffle away!

IMG_4269

I topped mine with low-fat Philadelphia spinach cream cheese. Again, not because it’s necessarily “healthier.” It was on sale. I like it!

IMG_4273

Forget cupcakes, this is one manly waffle ;)

While we’re on the the topic of brunch foods, I have something I need to say.

Listen, I know I am biased, but I truly believe I live in the best brunch neighbourhood in Toronto.

Those of you living outside the tee-dot may not understand what a bold statement this really is.

I live in a city obsessed with brunch. Every single restaurant touts a special brunch menu. Line-ups spill into the streets on weekends between 10 and 2. In Toronto, a restaurant is only has good as its brunch.

In Leslieville, my ‘hood, you can throw a rock in any direction and hit a place that specializes in this holy meal. And me? I am a girl on a mission to try brunch at every one of them.

IMG_4167

Which brings us to Frankly Eatery. A newer addition to the Queen East line-up, offering brunch classics with an Indian twist. Brunch is so overdone around here, I love the idea of fusing the traditional dishes with some cultural spice!

IMG_4179

My roommie and I popped over after a Pilates class. Our abs were in pain, but our bellies hungry.

Our Pilates instructor (hi Sandra!) recommended their rice bowls. Megan went for the one on special: chicken in a tomato coconut sauce over rice.

IMG_4170

I had a bite and it was gooooood. The sauce rich thanks to the coconut, but still light because of the tomato. Only mildly spicy so the flavours still stood out.

I however had eggs on the mind so I went with the Egg Bhuri.

IMG_4172

Spicy Indian style scramble with onions, peas and tomatoes served w/ green salad and sliced baguette.

IMG_4177

They asked me if I wanted it mild, medium or hot. After going back and forth, I opted for the mild, and happy I did! It was still spicy but without making me break into a sweat. Loved the peas and the amount of eggs I got. The greens were nicely dressed and I piled everything on top of the baguette slices.

The best part though?

IMG_4173

My roommate, who doesn’t blog, but still takes pictures of her food. Everyone’s a closet food blogger ;)

Another one to cross off the Toronto restaurant list! And unlike last time, this local spot gets two thumbs up. One thumb for the awesome food, a second thumb for our waiter, who was wearing a Vandelay Industries t-shirt ;)

 

Question of the Day: What’s your favourite brunch item? Mine is the “Peggy’s Poached” from Cora’s. One egg on toast with cottage cheese and a plethora of fresh fruit. Oh yes, and multiple coffee refills. 

Posted on December 8, 2010, in Restaurants and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 24 Comments.

  1. Ahh, what a great idea for a savory waffle! I’ve been dying to do a garlicky veggie pancake…thanks for the inspiration. Maybe I can do that tomorrow!

  2. Bacon: cupcake=no. Waffle=yes :-) yum!

  3. PS There’s a place near me that supposedly has a pancake the size of a dinner plate. I keep meaning to indulge my brunch-lust for that one :-)

  4. Favorite brunch item? Double chocolate muffins. Love them! I also love eggs and fruit. And bagels. Actually, breakfast food is my absolute favorite, so it is hard to pick one. But I am pretty sure, the muffins win out. However, it is very very easy to make a terrible muffin. But an amazing muffin…you just cannot compare.

  5. My favorite brunch dish is probably blueberry pancakes- if that qualifies!

  6. the waffle looks bangin. and i think i need to figure out how to get into canada for brunch alone!

  7. I LOVE brunching in T.O. I go every Sunday. Definitely one of the mass obsessed. And I totally can’t wait to try the best pancakes in the city with you on Sunday :D

    Favorite brunch food is hard… I love the egg’s benny with asparagus at Cora’s, but I also LOVE the ultimate hangover sandwich at Mitzi’s. Yum!

    xo

  8. you are such a waffle girl…love that about you :)

    brunch = mimosas!!!
    and if that’s not an option, coffee :)

  9. Favorite brunch? Probably a ham and cheese omelet with cheesy grits. A lot of people hate grits but I think with butter and cheese they are fabulous!

  10. That savory waffle looks great!!

    I usually get an omelet at brunch. My stomach only craves carbs right when I wake up in the morning. So, I usually have an omelet at brunch because my body has had a couple of hours to wkae-up.

  11. Savory waffles? what rock have I been living under?? I am making these soon!

    My favourite brunch foods are either French toast, beignets (sp?), or an omelette loaded with as many veggies as possible

  12. I’m actually not a huge brunch person (I can’t wait that long for first meal!!) but this looks SO delicious!!

  13. I always love omelets at brunch. Mmmm with fruit and warm bread.

    I’ve never gone for Indian inspired brunch, what a treat.

  14. Christina (aka Mom)

    I am so making my eggs tomorrow morning with Indian spices and peas….

  15. Shoot, now I’m craving veggie cream cheese! :) I think one of the best brunch items I’ve tried were the banana, bacon, praline pancakes at a place called Bongo Room in Chicago. I should’ve pointed you there during HLS- it’s close to the hotel!

  16. bacon in waffles? yes please! I wonder if it would pork with bacon bits? it could be like sprinkles?
    I love brunch because it promotes sleeping in! I always dreamed of opening a “brunch bar” where could make your own omelet, waffle, oatmeal, etc with all the fixings you want. I’ve also invented dunch, with is basically brunch food in between lunch and dinner. I need to get a life…

  17. i’ve gotta get on waffle wednesday. i just recently started celebrating “scone saturday.”

  18. if i am going out for a good brunch, i look for the best French toast ever. my favorite is the kamizake-style one at Uptown Diner in Minneapolis. hellp blueberries, walnuts and powdered sugaaaaaa!

  1. Pingback: I Eat Vegetables Too | The Great Balancing Act

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 486 other followers

