Daily Archives: December 6, 2010

The Manliest Cupcake

I’m not sure about you, but I am relieved to no longer be accosted by moustaches everywhere I turn.

IMG_4181

November turned Toronto into a city of scuzzy moustaches. Also known as “Movember,” men grew ‘staches over the course of the month to raise awareness and money for prostate cancer.

I was happy to see it end. There comes a time when a moustache is no longer entertaining, but, well, makes me uncomfortable.

IMG_4182

I got wind of a fundraiser last week that combines the “Manly Moustache” with one of the most girly treats there is: cupcakes. Bakers were challenged to come up with the manliest cupcake they could. They were judged on things like taste, creativity and “manliness.”

IMG_4184

The event was held at Sense Appeal Coffee Roasters on Spadina and Adelaide. Their menu looked fantastic, including things like “Richters Mocca Latte” and “Turkish Latte.” I was tempted, but knew mass quantities of cake and icing were about to be consumed.

IMG_4183

I brought my roommie Megan along. We posed for badly-aimed self-portraits in the espresso machine while gearing up for cupcakes.

Unfortunately, two of the bakers couldn’t make it, so we were left to taste-test only two kinds of manly cupcakes.

IMG_4190

Kate Robb’s “For My Mo Fo’s.” A spiced chocolate cake with buttercream frosting, white chocolate disk and moustachioed faces made with jujubes, sculpted caramels and toostie rolls.

IMG_4200

The Cupcake Place’s “Monday Night Football Baby BOOYAH!!” A chocolate stout cake with cream cheese frosting, bacon bits, caramel sauce, chocolate sauce, a pretzel and chocolate ‘stache.

IMG_4205

I had one of each. You know, for charity ;)

IMG_4202

The chocolate stout cupcake was rich. And while I love me some bacon, I wasn’t a huge fan of it on top. Too savoury. I actually couldn’t even finish this one!

IMG_4208

Now the spiced one was my kind of cake. A little more dense, mega cinnamon-y and just the right amount of spiced buttercream frosting (ie not a mountain!). Plus, it had candy on top!!!

I guess my tastes just aren’t manly enough, as the other flavour won.

IMG_4197

Moustachioed cupcakes may be kind of awesome, as is raising money for a good cause. But please… no more moustaches until next November.

IMG_4195 

Now, Decembeard? That’s something I can look forward to.

conanob

 

Question of the Day: What’s you’re favourite kind of cupcake? I’m admittedly not a huge cupcake fan. They’re too messy, too sweet, and gone too quickly. With that said, I will never turn down anything carrot cake flavoured.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 487 other followers