Daily Archives: November 30, 2010

Things I Learned: November Edition

A simple cone filter really does make the best coffee. Better than a French press!

IMG_3726

I need not be afraid of butter. It makes everything taste uh-mazing.

IMG_3400

Well, almost amazing. I also need to double and triple-check recipes. Adding twice the amount of butter to a bread recipe will leave you with a flat, dense, and crusty loaf.

IMG_3801

But there are always ways to redeem myself and turn a #bakingfail into a #bakingwin :)

IMG_3842

Ham & cheese can make anything taste good!

IMG_3888

Fish tacos, where have you been all my life??

Jack Russell Terriers may be small, but I think they can out-run me.

IMG_3912

Blog friends are the bestest.

IMG_1886

I agree with Janetha, we all need to move to an island together.

Do not drink a giant mug of coffee before a yoga class. And if you do, make sure you have access to a washroom close to the studio.

IMG_4064

Working at a running store has become a great way to unload unwanted sweets from my kitchen. Give a group of hungry runners 20 chocolate chip cookie dough balls, and they will have them demolished in less than two hours.

You can never have too many running shoes.

Especially when a pair of Saucony Progrid Ride 2 & Brooks Ghost 2 shoes only cost you $25 each. Did I mention I love my job?

IMG_4137

Turkey + cranberry + stuffing makes for an awesome sandwich filling…

IMG_4139

…but only when using real leftovers. Sliced turkey, mayonnaise and stuffing that isn’t my mom’s just doesn’t have the same flavour.

IMG_4135

Working 7 hours on your feet and walking a mile to work still doesn’t equal 10,000 steps.

IMG_4165

But little things, like walking to the grocery store and getting off the bus a stop early surprisingly add up!!

IMG_3302

Yoga, in my humble opinion, is one of the best ways to experience a new city. Better than a tour bus, and more relaxing too.

IMG_3216

Chinese food really is better on the West Coast.

Six months is too long to go without travelling home. I miss my hometown, no matter how small, ugly or boring it may be.

Toronto really does stink. I still haven’t adjusted to the air quality here and find running in the pollution much harder than expected. I miss the fresh air!

And I miss the snow. I wake up every morning hoping to see a white winterland outside. I had no idea I was so attached to the stuff!

IMG_3237

Finally, I learned that while I may not have left my heart in San Francisco, I definitely left it on the West Coast. This East Coast gal still has some exploring to do.

Question of the Day: What did you learn in November?

Don’t forget!!
**I’m accepting your favourite cookie recipes until Thursday for a special holiday cookie post. Leave yours here!
**I’m on Facebook! Click here to get updates on Facebook, plus access to a special upcoming giveaway!
**Deb is still taking orders for our Blogger Babe calendar. 15 bucks and all of it goes to help cancer patients. Click here to get one!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 486 other followers