Cookie Dough Ballin’

Happy Waffle Wednesday!!! Best day of the week. After Saturday. And Sunday. And Friday. Of course.

IMG_3971

Whatever, sometimes all it takes is a decadent breakfast to get me over the mid-week hump with a smile on my face.

IMG_3987

The usual whole wheat protein waffle recipe base made sweeter with the addition of dates!

  • 1/4 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/4 cup unflavoured soy protein powder
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 stevia packet
  • 1/2 cup egg whites
  • 1/2 cup soy milk
  • 5 small honey dates, chopped

IMG_3981

Dipped in a mix of Trader Joe’s Sunflower Seed Butter + Sugar-Free Syrup. Chased down with a giant mug of coffee!

The decadence didn’t stop there though. At 9:30am, I got started on a batch of chocolate chip cookies.

Remember this cookie from San Francisco?

That would one of Annie the Baker’s chocolate chip cookies. Anyone who was at the Tasting Pavillion at the Foodbuzz Festival raved about these cookies. They tasted just like little balls of raw cookie dough. But without the salmonella.

It’s no surprise that a mass of food bloggers left that event swearing to make their own versions. Since then, “dough balls” have been popping up all over the internets. Mama Pea created her own vegan version. While it took Diana seven batches for success.

IMG_3990

I decided on trying out Diana’s recipe since I already had the ingredients on hand:

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cups unbleached all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/8 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 3/4 stick butter, softened/room-temp
  • 1 tbsp sugar
  • 1 egg (or flaxseed-egg)
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 1/2 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

Directions:

  1. Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees F. Prepare baking sheets with parchment paper.
  2. In a large bowl, whisk together flour, salt, baking powder, baking soda.
  3. In a medium bowl, mix sugars and butter till creamy. (I used a handheld mixer, but you could probably just use a whisk). Add egg and vanilla and mix till combined.
  4. Mix wet into the dry. Note: it will appear there is not enough liquid for the amount of dry ingredients, but continue mixing. It will form into a dough, it will just be a firm dough. See tips above for combining. Careful to not overmix.
  5. Gently fold chocolate chips into the dough, without overmixing.
  6. Refrigerate dough for at least 20 minutes before using a small sorbet scoop to scoop out dough into small mounds. Roll each mound into a ball and spread evenly on a baking sheet, leaving roughly 2-3 inches between each ball.
  7. Bake balls for 10-14 minutes, depending on how set you want your centers. If you use egg, and you’re paranoid like me, you can use a meat thermometer to ensure the centers of the balls are at least 160 degrees F, which many web sites say is the safe temp to eat eggs.
  8. Let your dough balls rest on the baking sheet to cool at least 5-10 minutes.
  9. Enjoy!

IMG_3992

I messed up the recipe almost immediately by throwing in the brown sugar with the flour. This makes the sugar clump up. But I don’t see anything wrong with an extra sugary bite.

IMG_3997

Then I half melted my butter in the microwave because it wasn’t at room temperature. I didn’t bother using an electric mixer and the butter was clumpy too. But who’s against an extra buttery bite?

IMG_4003

The mix itself was very dry. A lot more dry then normal cookie batter. I assume this is so it will maintain that cute ball shape after baking.

IMG_4007

Don’t forget the chocolate!! Key ingredient. Make sure it’s of good quality.

Then, let the batter chill in your Miley Cirus decorated fridge.

IMG_4010

And make inappropriate phrases with your “Romance Novel” magnets.

IMG_4012

I let the dough chill for about 2 hours. Then rolled them into tablespoon shaped balls.

IMG_4019

This is my favourite photo. There’s a Murphy nose in there!

IMG_4020

After 12 minutes in my 350F oven, I deemed them baked!

IMG_4029

Usually, I gobble up a sample immediately out of the oven. But I wanted to see if the texture really turned out like cookie dough. So I waited impatiently while they cooled.

IMG_4063

I let the Jack Russell terrier take me out for a run. I tweeted. I baked a casserole.

IMG_4055

Finally, the cookies were cool enough. The moment of truth…

IMG_4061

Ohbaby. That’s one fiiiiiine looking chocolate chip cookie dough ball! Annie needn’t worry, us food bloggers won’t put her out of business. We just need a way to get through until next year’s Foodbuzz Festival, when I’ll be the first in line at her cookie booth. Special thanks to Diana for coming up with something to hold me over until then :)

 

Question of the Day: Okay blog friends. Give me your favourite cookie recipe. Write it out, link it up, let’s start a cookie collection for the holidays! I’ll sum them all up in a future post – including my own favourite cookie recipe!

Posted on November 24, 2010, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 28 Comments.

  1. These are my favorite non chocolate chip cookies. Vanilla Bean Sugar Cookies. Seriously amazing.

    http://twofeettentoes.blogspot.com/2010/09/vanilla-bean-sugar-cookies.html

    And these are the best chocolate chip cookies I have ever made. Love these!

    http://twofeettentoes.blogspot.com/2010/06/mmmmm-cookies.html

  2. guess what?! i hung out with danica and jay today and they brought me annie’s cookies! i am so full from our lunch so i haven’t dug in yet. i can’t wait :) she brought the rainbow sugar cookie one. be jealous. ;) i can’t wait to try diana’s recipe! looks like they really turned out for you. love the pup nose! hope you have a great rest of the week, love you!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  3. doh! forgot to leave my favorite cookies EVER. these are the best, best, BEST and every time i make them everyone agrees. yes, i am tooting my own horn. so?

    http://mealsandmoves.wordpress.com/meals/best-chocolate-chip-cookies-ever/

  4. Those dough balls look amazing! My favorite cookie recipe thus far are my coconut apricot oatmeal cookies — they’re fantastic if I do say so myself =). Here it is:

    http://operagirlcooks.com/2010/07/09/coconut-apricot-oatmeal-cookie-recipe/

  5. Nice work on the dough balls! Mistakes and all they look pretty perfect to me! Most importantly, you liked them…hooray! :)

  6. i. tried. i. failed. i didn’t have the luck of the jack russell (he wound up licking a lot of splattered butter and brown sugar off the floor though)

  7. Oh.My.Balls!
    Remember your food trigger post?! These would send me on a bender for sure!! I think I need to just look at pictures of them instead of making them and turning into a dough ball :)

    Jen

  8. Those look unbelievable!! You always remind me after Waffle Wednesdays that there are far too few waffles in my life… I have plans to make a big batch and freeze them this weekend so I can take them to work for snacks. Hope you have a great day!

  9. I’m not much of a baker but I do have a favorite cookie http://www.thekitchenwitchblog.com/?p=2804, Leah will confirm that they are divine.
    I have planned (in my head) to do some holiday cookie baking, I’ll keep you posted (haha get it, “posted”). Sorry bad food blogger humor.

  10. Christina (aka Mom)

    I read your blog while blocking Archie from looking cause I just knew there would be a picture of a cute dog in there and I don’t want him getting jealous. The next time you make these cookies cream the sugar and butter together with your wooden spoon. It warms the butter up in no time and provides the proper consistency to add the flour…

  11. I made Kalin’s Peanut butter oatmeal cookies day before yesterday: http://goo.gl/EpNiQ. They’re all gone. :(

    Happy Thanksgiving!

  12. Yum, those look so good- I especially appreciate that you didn’t hold back on the chocolate chips!

  13. Your waffles always look so good, one day we will meet have a pyjama party then get up in the morning and have your waffles! My fav cookies:

    http://www.saladandsequins.com/2009/11/biscuits-to-bake.html

    Yes they are mine but boy are they good! x x

  14. Wow wow wow. Of course, I don’t know if I would have been able to get them into the oven. I probably would have just eaten all of the dough straight from the bowl.

  15. holy waffles & chocolate dough balls. holy moly. i’m drooling!

  16. My grandma’s choc chip cookies are my fave cookies ever but she’s been gone for 10 years and so those are just a memory…

    In terms of what I Can eat NOW…vegan and GF, these are my latest creation

    http://www.loveveggiesandyoga.com/2010/11/vegan-gf-peanut-butter-caramel.html

    I have been making balls and 2-bite cookies and “raw” dough balls for the blog for a couple years now so it’s hard to narrow it down! But for true cookies, the link i dropped are dang tasty!

  17. wow thy look so good,..still to find good recipe,.:-)

  18. Sus here is the Nigerian Sesame Seed Cookie Recipe I’ve always brought home for Christmas! Called Zakin Ridi:

    Cream together:
    3/4 cup butter
    1 c. sugar
    2 eggs
    1 t. vanilla
    Add:
    2.5c. flour
    1t. baking powder
    1 t. salt
    1 c. sesame seeds
    cover and let chill, preheat oven to 400F. Roll dough 1/8 inch thick, cut into desired shapes (I cut with an old german beer testing cup to make little round shapes) I usually chop red and green marachino cherries into bits and put cherry bits on top for decoration. Bake 8-10 min.

  19. Mmmm. Thanks for the info! I didn’t know Diana made the dough balls too.
    My favorite cookies are of the Peanut Butter Oatmeal variety.

    http://www.foodbuzz.com/recipes/2913404-peanut-butter-oatmeal-cookies

  20. i don’t need to know these cookie dough ball recipes exist. i really don’t.

  21. http://www.food.com/recipe/cranberry-bliss-bars-starbucks-copycat-203229

    These aren’t really cookies but close enough! :) I modify the recipe so it’s gluten free.

  22. Here is my favourite recipe for ginger snaps, slightly adapted from the Joy of Baking website (http://www.joyofbaking.com/Gingersnaps.html):

    3/4 cup unsalted butter, room temperature
    1/2 cup dark brown sugar
    1/4 cup white granulated sugar
    1/4 cup unsulphured molasses
    1 large egg
    1/2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
    1 cup whole wheat pastry flour
    1 cup all purpose flour
    1/2 teaspoon baking soda
    1/4 teaspoon salt
    1 1/2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
    2 teaspoons ground ginger
    1/2 teaspoon ground cloves
    Pinch of black pepper

    Garnish:
    Red and green sprinkles or raw sugar

    In a large bowl, beat the butter and sugars until light and fluffy. Add the molasses, egg, and vanilla extract and beat until incorporated.

    In a separate bowl whisk together the flour, baking soda, salt, and spices. Add to the butter mixture and mix until well combined.

    Cover and chill the batter for about 30 minutes or until firm.

    Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F (180 degrees C). Line two baking sheets with parchment paper, or lightly grease them.

    Place about 1/2 cup sprinkles or raw sugar in a medium sized bowl. When the dough has chilled sufficiently, roll into 1 inch (2.5 cm) balls. Then roll the balls of dough into the sugar, coating them thoroughly.

    Place on the baking sheet, spacing about 2 inches (5 cm) apart and, with the bottom of a glass or the palm of your hand, flatten the cookies slightly.

    Bake for about 12 – 15 minutes or until the cookies feel dry and firm on top. (The longer the cookies bake, the more crisp they will be.) Cool on a wire rack.

    Makes about 3 dozen cookies.

  23. I was going to do an actual post for these but I went to Leonard Cohen instead. What’s a girl to do?

    Grandma’s Molasses Cookies*

    1 cup shortening
    1 cup sugar
    1 cup molasses
    5 1/2 cups flour
    3 tsp baking soda
    2 tsp ginger
    2 tsp cinnamon
    1/2 tsp cloves
    1/4 tsp nutmeg
    1 tsp salt
    1 cup sour milk

    Cream the shortening and sugar. Beat in the molasses. Mix in about one cup of flour and then all the spices. Alternate milk and flour ending with flour. Chill dough. Roll 1/4 inch thick. Scrap dough can be rerolled about twice before it becomes too tought. Bake at 375 F for 5 to 8 minutes. Remove and allow to cool before icing.

    Icing
    White of one egg
    2 tbsp cream
    Thicken with icing sugar

    *This recipe is over 100 years old (which is why our actual written directions read quite differently); my mom remembers calling them “Grandma’s Molasses Cookies” when she was growing up and my grandma used to have a copy written out in German which suggests it was her grandma who wrote it!

    Anyway, hands down the best molasses cookies in the world (my brothers agree), and so sorry I was so late actually geting this posted.

  1. Pingback: Winning Teams + A Winning Breakfast | The Great Balancing Act

  2. Pingback: Things I Learned: November Edition | The Great Balancing Act

  3. Pingback: Cookie Dough Balls | Healthy Living in America's Dairyland

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 486 other followers

