The Bakery That Changed My Life

It’s pretty common knowledge that San Francisco is a bit of a foodie haven. When telling people I would be visiting San Francisco, even those who didn’t know I’m a tad food obsessed, immediately lushed about how much I would love the food.

In the past three days here at the Foodbuzz Festival in San Fran, I’ve eaten some of the best food my tongue and tummy have ever experienced. Two dollar dim sum, fish tacos, s’mores and escargot lollipops. To name a few.

This post however is dedicated to my favourite place thus far. A little place called Tartine Bakery.

IMG_3272

As soon as you come within range of its 18th & Guerrero location, you’re immediately hit with the scent of freshly baked bread. People are lined up on the street outside at all times of day. I got the feeling it was a place worth waiting for.

IMG_3393
Bread isn’t just bread to them, but a form of art.

IMG_3275

IMG_3281

Astrid and I found ourselves with some spare time on Friday morning. We decided it would be best spent at a local bakery. You know, as opposed to the Golden Gate Bridge or something touristy.

IMG_3282

I’d just been telling Astrid about my new found fear of croissants. I’m not sure about you, but I did not know that it’s essentially pastry dough rolled up with a stick of butter inside. I should have known better, but it was shocking information to me.

IMG_3283

I thought I could never eat a croissant again after learning this.

Then Tartine happened.

IMG_3286

I ordered a morning bun with orange cinnamon sugar. To my surprise, it was more like a croissant all rolled up with cinnamon.

IMG_3291

My oh my. Stick of butter what?? Pretty sure Tartine uses two sticks of butter and it is gooooood. Flaky on the outside, soft on the inside. Lightly sweetened with a hint of orange.

Astrid’s banana bread was thick and chock full of walnuts.

IMG_3293

Happy bellies filled with butter and coffee!

 

IMG_3294

IMG_3296

 

I spent the rest of the day talking about Tartine and the criossant-like cinnamon bun that changed my life. So not surprisingly, it became our destination for breakfast on Saturday morning.

IMG_3394

This time with my Foodbuzz roomies Holly, Janetha, Elise, Danica and “The Husband.”

IMG_3395

Our cameras were all a flutter as we fawned over the pastries.

IMG_3396 

IMG_3397

IMG_3398

It was still too early for their Croque Monsieur, so I went with the next best thing – pain au jambon.

IMG_3400

Another criossant. Tartine may have created a criossant monster out of me.

IMG_3402

This croissant was even flakier and even softer in the middle. The huge pieces of ham made for a wonderfully savoury and filling breakfast. And I swear I detected crispy melted cheese on the bottom.

IMG_3408 

A taste of Danica’s criossant with gruyere and pepper.

IMG_3415

We may have skipped the first Foodbuzz breakout session to make this trip. Once again, pastries took priority.

 IMG_3403 IMG_3404

After devouring our croissants, we watched one of the bakers slice up 20 lbs of butter and put it into a mixing bowl.

IMG_3416
My stomach no longer lurches at the thought of a buttery croissant. Thanks to Tartine it now says “more.”

Posted on November 6, 2010, in Restaurants and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 33 Comments.

  1. Didn’t read your entry yet, but you should know to BUY THIS BOOK.

    :)

  2. PS – if you’re up for it on Sunday, we should hit up BiRite Creamery down the street from Tartine. I mean, it could be an excuse to, you know, stop in at Tartine AGAIN. ;)

  3. San Fran is on my list of places to visit- I mean, of course, but then Tartine is even on that list of food to eat IN San Fran. :)

    And you’re rooming with Janetha, Holly, Elise and Danica! That is like a foodie blog elite party of a room. You guys are like all my favorite and I love it. Hope you’re having so much fun at Food Buzz! I miss you guys.

  4. Love the bakery tour…but loved meeting you more :)

    Sorry we didnt have more time…you ROCK! You are every bit as amazing, more so, IRL than on your blog…you are such an awesome person, Susan!!!!

    xoxoxo

  5. Oh heck yes! So glad you got to hit up one of the best bakeries in SF. I also have an absolute love affair with Arizmendi bakery, in the Sunset District. It’s a bit of a trek from downtown, but oh my god, the English muffins. And the cherry cornmeal scones. And the daily vegetarian pizzas and focaccia breads. I could go on . . .

  6. Wow sounds like a delightful place, looks like your having a ball x x

  7. Bakeries can be life changing. I’m so glad you got to enjoy it and ditched those sessions (i ditched them too but word around town is that they are sorta lame).
    I’m so glad I got to meet you and I really thank you for meeting me on thursday afternoon when i felt so alone in the city.

  8. Ohmigosh. Tartine is literally on my bucket list. SO jealous right now… it looks amazing!

    xo

  9. I really want that cinnamon bun right now – it looks delicious! I can definitely see how that bakery can be life-changing! ;-)

  10. Woman, this looks like one ginormous heaven. With that many sweets in one place, I’d pretty much not know where to start…maybe it’s a good thing we don’t have that many bakeries by me!

  11. I suffer from croissantophobia. One of my goals is to eat one guilt free some day (really!) Like a normal person. Guilt free. With a huge cappucino (not a dry, non fat one either, just a regular one). One day. One day.

    Love Holly’s one-finger salute! :-) hee.

    Oh and by the way, if you eat a croissant and a meringue, they cancel each other out :-)

    Glad you had so much fun! I was there in spirit for sure!!

  12. Those croissants look delicious! Looks like you are having a great time in SF!

  13. Wow, great pictures of food! Sounds like a great event with the other food bloggies!

  14. That is actually not a terrible picture of me! I have been seeing some terrible ones out there! Oh well, not everyone can be photogenic. I loved that bakery, too! I am so sad to be back home, but so glad I was there (and that I got to meet you!).

  15. Yum! I love croissants. Before going gluten free I used to request all sandwiches be made on croissants. It’s a wonder I didn’t gain 400 lbs! lol! That orange cinammon sugar concoction sounds like heaven!!!

  16. is that really a lamp made of bread? :D

  17. Ahhh we went there yesterday and I ALMOST got the cinnamon bun. Now I wish I had. SO GOOD!!! :)

  18. OMG, you totally changed my life by taking us to Tartine – seriously, I dream of those cinnamon buns now and the next time I can go get one :)

  1. Pingback: A Food Lover’s Paradise | The Great Balancing Act

  2. Pingback: The 2nd Annual Foodbuzz Festival ~ Tasting Pavilion | Danica's Daily

  3. Pingback: a run & a bun. « meals & moves

  4. Pingback: West Coast Story | The Great Balancing Act

  5. Pingback: Grateful for Cafe Gratitude | The Great Balancing Act

  6. Pingback: Reflections of a Festival Gone By | The Great Balancing Act

  7. Pingback: The Food I Brought Home | The Great Balancing Act

  8. Pingback: Bonjour Bonjour Brioche! | The Great Balancing Act

  9. Pingback: San Francisco: Saloon to Croissant | Sugar Coated Sisters

  10. Pingback: For Susan | Sugar Coated Sisters

  11. Pingback: Exploring San Francisco: Dolores Park « A Sprinkle of Adventure

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 486 other followers

